Socalled with guest Yves Lambert / Le Vent du Nord

[x] Close

Yves Lambert & Socalled

Photo: Alain Lefort

Le Vent du Nord

Photo: Stephane Najman

Come swing to the boisterous rhythms of the grand masters of Quebec trad music!

In this impressive double-bill performance, multi–award‑winning Quebec prog folk group Le Vent du Nord will take the stage in the first half of the show. Nicolas Boulerice on hurdy-gurdy, Olivier Demers on fiddle, Réjean Brunet on accordion, and Simon Beaudry on guitar – has galvanized audiences on 5 continents.

Then it’s over to the inimitable Yves Lambert and his unlikely sidekick, Socalled. Taking a contemporary approach to tradition, Yves and Socalled revisit the music of many an old-fashioned Quebec kitchen party and reinvent it for a modern audience.

A key figure on the Quebec traditional music scene for over 40 years, Yves Lambert has brought traditional folk back into the spotlight, first as a founding member of La Bottine Souriante, then, since 2003, through his work with various trad musicians. In his recent collaboration with Socalled (hailed as the creator of klezmer hip hop), Yves revisits some of his career hits, interweaving a big‑band sound with electro, Motown, and rap.

This concert will have you dancing with delight!

Menu

Socalled avec invité Yves Lambert / Le Vent du Nord

[x] Fermer

Yves Lambert et Socalled

Photo: Alain Lefort

Le Vent du Nord

Photo: Stephane Najman

Venez swinger sur les rythmes endiablés des meilleurs représentants de la musique trad québécoise.

Le Vent du Nord, groupe mainte fois primé et formé de Nicolas Boulerice à la vielle à roue, Olivier Demers au violon, Réjean Brunet à l’accordéon et Simon Beaudry à la guitare, décoiffe avec son folk progressif québécois qu’il a transporté sur 5 continents.

 Yves Lambert et et son improbable acolyte Socalled prendront ensuite la scène pour revisiter la musique qui a longtemps fait danser dans les cuisines du Québec pour en proposer des versions métissées actualisées.

Grand ambassadeur du trad québécois depuis plus de 40 ans, Yves Lambert a ramené à l’avant-plan un folklore délaissé, d’abord avec La Bottine souriante, puis, depuis 2003, en collaboration avec différents musiciens du milieu. Son association récente avec celui que l’on qualifie de créateur du klezmer-hip-hop, Socalled, permet une relecture des classiques de Lambert où se mêle à l’esprit big band traditionnel de l’électro, du Motown et du rap.

Une soirée à danser de plaisir !

Menu