Areli Moran and Paige Culley in Unrelated. © Daina Ashbee

Daina Ashbee

Unrelated

2017-10-27 19:00 2017-10-28 21:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Daina Ashbee

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/16004

Co-Presented with La Nouvelle Scène Montreal-based choreographer Daina Ashbee is quickly becoming an important voice on national and international stages. Of Cree and Dutch descent, Ashbee’s unflinching use of the nude or nearly nude body as a tool to sound the depths of the subconscious, results in movement that is disconcertingly lucid. In Unrelated, Ashbee boldly confronts issues of violence and vulnerability faced by Indigenous women in Canada, while exploring identity,...

Read more

La Nouvelle Scène Gilles Desjardins, Studio B,333 King Edward Ave.,Ottawa,Canada
October 27 - 28, 2017
This event has passed
Areli Moran and Paige Culley in Unrelated. © Daina Ashbee
Dance Contemporary
  • Bilingual
  • ≈ 1 hour · No intermission

Co-Presented with La Nouvelle Scène

Montreal-based choreographer Daina Ashbee is quickly becoming an important voice on national and international stages. Of Cree and Dutch descent, Ashbee’s unflinching use of the nude or nearly nude body as a tool to sound the depths of the subconscious, results in movement that is disconcertingly lucid.

In Unrelated, Ashbee boldly confronts issues of violence and vulnerability faced by Indigenous women in Canada, while exploring identity, destruction, and the potential for transformation. Brutal and sensually charged, this disquieting duet is fearlessly interpreted by Areli Moran and Paige Culley.   

Note: Nudity

Areli Moran and Paige Culley in Unrelated. © Daina Ashbee
  • Choreography Daina Ashbee
Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 21 septembre 2021.
Areli Moran et Paige Culley dans Unrelated. © Daina Ashbee

Daina Ashbee

Unrelated

2017-10-27 19:00 2017-10-28 21:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Daina Ashbee

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/16004

Une coprésentation de La Nouvelle Scène La chorégraphe Daina Ashbee se forge une brillante renommée sur la scène nationale et internationale. Établie à Montréal, cette artiste d’ascendance crie et néerlandaise utilise sans détour le corps nu, ou partiellement dénudé, comme outil pour sonder les profondeurs du subconscient, produisant un mouvement d’une déconcertante lucidité. Dans...

Read more

La Nouvelle Scène Gilles Desjardins, Studio B,333, av. King-Edward,Ottawa,Canada
27 - 28 octobre 2017
Cet événement est passé
Areli Moran et Paige Culley dans Unrelated. © Daina Ashbee
Danse contemporaine

Présentation du CNA

Une coprésentation de La Nouvelle Scène

La chorégraphe Daina Ashbee se forge une brillante renommée sur la scène nationale et internationale. Établie à Montréal, cette artiste d’ascendance crie et néerlandaise utilise sans détour le corps nu, ou partiellement dénudé, comme outil pour sonder les profondeurs du subconscient, produisant un mouvement d’une déconcertante lucidité.

Dans Unrelated, Ashbee explore sans retenue la violence et la vulnérabilité auxquelles sont confrontées les femmes autochtones au Canada, tout en se penchant sur l’identité, la destruction et les possibilités de transformation. Brutal et charnel, cet angoissant duo est interprété avec brio par les intrépides Areli Moran et Paige Culley.

NB: Nudité 

Durée approximative de 1 heure sans entracte.

Areli Moran et Paige Culley dans Unrelated. © Daina Ashbee
  • Chorégraphie Daina Ashbee
Menu