[…] a genius at fusing forms like hip-hop, martial arts, swing, and contemporary, [Kuebler] has reached an extremely high level of play […] never losing the raw, loose feel that his street-smart style demands. Janet Smith, The Georgia Straight

NAC Presentation

Singing the body electric! The human body as antenna, a satellite for sound, energy and memory, translating and transmitting information into a purely kinetic vocabulary – this is the starting point for an explosive new dance creation from Vancouver’s high octane wunderkind Shay Kuebler.

A convulsive synchronicity of bebop, swing, and contemporary dance—and featuring Canadian tap virtuoso Danny Nielsen—Telemetry  tunes in to radio sciences and systems to generate a magnetically charged performance from its seemingly indefatigable, hugely versatile company of seven dancers.   

Co-producers: Vernon and District Performing Arts Centre; ArtSpring (Salt Spring Island); Chutzpah! Festival (Vancouver); The Dance Centre (Vancouver); American Dance Festival (Durham).

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun

23 Apr

24 Apr

25 Apr

26 Apr

  • 8:00 PM

27 Apr

  • 8:00 PM

28 Apr

  • 8:00 PM

29 Apr

Duration

Performance is approximately 60 minutes with no intermission.

video: Telemetry
Telemetry
© David Cooper
© Cara Trench
© David Cooper
© Cara Trench
© Cara Trench

Artists

Menu

[…] fusionnant avec génie hip-hop, arts martiaux, swing et danse contemporaine, [Kuebler] atteint un niveau d’exécution extrêmement élevé […] sans jamais perdre de vue le côté brut, instinctif inhérent à un style hérité des arts de la rue. Janet Smith, The Georgia Straight

Présentation du CNA

Chantons le corps électrique! Le corps humain comme antenne, satellite de relais sonore, énergie et mémoire, traduisant et transmettant de l’information dans un vocabulaire purement cinétique : tel est le point de départ de cette nouvelle création explosive du dynamique Shay Kuebler, enfant chéri de Vancouver.

Fusion convulsive de bebop, de swing et de danse contemporaine mettant en valeur les talents exceptionnels du danseur à claquettes canadien Danny Nielsen, Telemetry  se branche sur les sciences de la radio et les systèmes de transmission pour générer une prestation magnétique de ses sept interprètes, aussi infatigables que polyvalents.   

Coproduction : Vernon and District Performing Arts Centre; ArtSpring (île Saltspring); Chutzpah! Festival (Vancouver); The Dance Centre (Vancouver); American Dance Festival (Durham).

video: Telemetry
Telemetry
© David Cooper
© Cara Trench
© David Cooper
© Cara Trench
© Cara Trench

Artistes

Menu