October 13, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
Jussi Nousiainen (left), Jarkko Lehmus and Ima Iduozee in Morphed. © Heikki Tuuli

Tero Saarinen Company

Morphed

2017-10-04 19:30 2017-10-05 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Tero Saarinen Company

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/15919

What makes a man, a man? That is the question Finnish dance prodigy Tero Saarinen investigates in a muscular new work with seven male dancers. A reflective, unfettered enquiry into the essence of maleness, Morphed embraces the kinetic volatility of Esa-Pekka Salonen’s music as a soundscape for movement that is raw, multi-layered and expressive, seeming to rise from primal wellsprings. Bearded and belligerent, or tender and vulnerable, the dancers skillfully embody the shifting, mutating...

Read more

Babs Asper Theatre,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
October 4 - 5, 2017
This event has passed
Jussi Nousiainen (left), Jarkko Lehmus and Ima Iduozee in Morphed. © Heikki Tuuli
Dance Contemporary
Morphed is a complete work of art, and irresistible. Salonen’s powerfully emotionally music, the skilful dancers, and Mikki Kunttu’s understated visual elements create a sense of richness and fullness that surges vibrantly, like poetry flowing out of the unconscious. Raisa Rauhamaa, Teatteri & Tanssi (Finland / Finlande)

NAC Presentation

What makes a man, a man? That is the question Finnish dance prodigy Tero Saarinen investigates in a muscular new work with seven male dancers. A reflective, unfettered enquiry into the essence of maleness, Morphed embraces the kinetic volatility of Esa-Pekka Salonen’s music as a soundscape for movement that is raw, multi-layered and expressive, seeming to rise from primal wellsprings. Bearded and belligerent, or tender and vulnerable, the dancers skillfully embody the shifting, mutating feelings that a man experiences, yet never succumb to cliché.

Co-producers: Helsinki Festival (Finland) and Opéra Théâtre de Saint-Étienne (France)

Performance is approximately 60 minutes with no intermission.

video: Morphed
Morphed
Jussi Nousiainen (left), Jarkko Lehmus and Ima Iduozee in Morphed. © Heikki Tuuli
David Scarantino, Jussi Nousiainen and Mikko Lampinen. © Heikki Tuuli
Ima Iduozee and Pekka Louhio. © Heikki Tuuli
Jarkko Lehmus, Ima Iduozee and Jussi Nousiainen. © Heikki Tuuli
© Heikki Tuuli
Pekka Louhio, David Scarantino and Ima Iduozee. © Anton Sucksdorff
Menu

Jussi Nousiainen (gauche), Jarkko Lehmus et Ima Iduozee dans Morphed. © Heikki Tuuli

Tero Saarinen Company

Morphed

2017-10-04 19:30 2017-10-05 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Tero Saarinen Company

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/15919

Qu’est-ce qui fait qu’un homme est un homme? Le prodige finlandais de la danse Tero Saarinen se penche sur cette question dans une nouvelle œuvre athlétique pour sept danseurs masculins. Investigation réfléchie et sans tabous au cœur même de la masculinité, Morphed épouse la volatilité cinétique de la musique d’Esa-Pekka Salonen comme trame sonore d’un mouvement naturel, multiple et évocateur,...

Read more

Théâtre Babs Asper,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
4 - 5 octobre 2017
Cet événement est passé
Jussi Nousiainen (gauche), Jarkko Lehmus et Ima Iduozee dans Morphed. © Heikki Tuuli
David Scarantino, Jussi Nousiainen et Mikko Lampinen. © Heikki Tuuli
Ima Iduozee et Pekka Louhio. © Heikki Tuuli
Jarkko Lehmus, Ima Iduozee et Jussi Nousiainen. © Heikki Tuuli
© Heikki Tuuli
Pekka Louhio, David Scarantino et Ima Iduozee. © Anton Sucksdorff
Danse Contemporaine
«Morphed est une œuvre d’art à part entière (…) La musique chargée d’émotions de Salonen, l’habileté des danseurs et les subtiles touches visuelles de Mikki Kunttu produisent une impression de richesse et de plénitude, émergeant comme une vibrante poésie de l’inconscient.» Raisa Rauhamaa, Teatteri & Tanssi (Finland / Finlande)
  • Bilingue
  • ≈ 60 minutes · Sans entracte

Qu’est-ce qui fait qu’un homme est un homme? Le prodige finlandais de la danse Tero Saarinen se penche sur cette question dans une nouvelle œuvre athlétique pour sept danseurs masculins. Investigation réfléchie et sans tabous au cœur même de la masculinité, Morphed épouse la volatilité cinétique de la musique d’Esa-Pekka Salonen comme trame sonore d’un mouvement naturel, multiple et évocateur, semblant jaillir de sources primitives. Barbus et agressifs ou tendres et vulnérables, les danseurs personnifient habilement les sentiments changeants, en mutation que peut éprouver un homme, sans jamais tomber dans le cliché.

Coproduction : Helsinki Festival (Finlande) et Opéra Théâtre de Saint-Étienne (France)

video: Morphed
Morphed
Jussi Nousiainen (gauche), Jarkko Lehmus et Ima Iduozee dans Morphed. © Heikki Tuuli
David Scarantino, Jussi Nousiainen et Mikko Lampinen. © Heikki Tuuli
Ima Iduozee et Pekka Louhio. © Heikki Tuuli
Jarkko Lehmus, Ima Iduozee et Jussi Nousiainen. © Heikki Tuuli
© Heikki Tuuli
Pekka Louhio, David Scarantino et Ima Iduozee. © Anton Sucksdorff
Menu