This event has passed
Seong-Jin Cho © Harald Hoffmann
"Cho has long had the ability to critically capture the hidden, implicit melodies of the most experimental of pieces, that is, to “read between the notes", making them accessible and emotionally immediate." Vanderbilt Hustler
  • Beethoven Sonata in C Minor "Pathétique"
  • Beethoven Sonata in E Major
  • Debussy Images (Book 2)
  • Chopin Sonata No. 3 in B Minor

With an overwhelming talent and innate musicality, Seong-Jin Cho is rapidly embarking on a world-class career and considered one of the most distinctive artists of his generation. His thoughtful and poetic, assertive and tender, virtuosic and colorful playing can combine panache with purity and is driven by an impressive natural sense of balance.

Cho was brought to the world’s attention in Fall 2015 when he won the coveted Gold Medal at the Chopin International Competition in Warsaw. Within one month, a recording of Cho’s live competition highlights was rush-released by Deutsche Grammophon, propelling the pianist to pop-star status in South Korea. The album achieved multi-platinum sales within a week of its release and triggered a sales frenzy at stores across the country. It reached No. 1 in the nation’s pop album chart and has sold well over 150,000 copies to date worldwide.

We are thrilled to welcome Seong-Jin to the NAC stage to perform beloved piano works by Beethoven, Debussy and Chopin.

After the concert Cho will be available to sign CDs and programs following the performance. 

Lang Lang very much regrets that he is forced to withdraw from his recital appearance in Ottawa. He needs to allow additional time to recover fully from tendinitis in his left arm. We hope Lang Lang gets better soon and look forward to his appearing at the National Arts Centre in the future.

Duration

Performance is approximately 2 hours including intermission.

video: Seong-Jin Cho plays Beethoven
Seong-Jin Cho plays Beethoven
video: Seong-Jin Cho:Chopin Piano Cpmpetetion-Nov 2017
Seong-Jin Cho:Chopin Piano Cpmpetetion-Nov 2017
Seong-Jin Cho © Harald Hoffmann

Artists

  • Piano Seong-Jin Cho
Menu

Seong-Jin CHo © Harald Hoffmann
  • Beethoven Sonate pour piano no 8 en do mineur, « Pathétique »
  • Beethoven Sonate en mi majeur
  • Debussy Images (2e série)
  • Chopin Sonate no en si mineur

Fort d’un talent exceptionnel et d’un sens inné de la musicalité, Seong-Jin Cho entreprend rapidement une carrière internationale. Il est considéré comme l’un des artistes les plus remarquables de sa génération. Son jeu réfléchi et poétique, affirmé et tendre, virtuose et coloré marie flamboyance et pureté, et repose sur un sens naturel et impressionnant de l’équilibre.

Seong-Jin Cho a été révélé au public du monde entier à l’automne 2015, lorsqu’il a remporté la très convoitée médaille d’or au Concours international Chopin à Varsovie. Le mois suivant, la Deutsche Grammophon lançait un enregistrement des faits saillants du concours, ce qui permit au pianiste de devenir une vedette populaire en Corée du Sud. Cet album, plusieurs fois platine en une semaine à peine, a fracassé des records de ventes au pays. Il s’est hissé au numéro 1 du palmarès populaire national et s’est vendu à ce jour à plus de 150 000 exemplaires dans le monde.

C’est avec beaucoup d’enthousiasme que nous accueillerons Seong-Jin, qui interprétera des œuvres célèbres pour piano de Beethoven, Debussy et Chopin.

 

Le pianiste Lang Lang regrette de devoir annuler son récital à Ottawa en raison d’une tendinite au bras gauche. Nous espérons qu’il se rétablira bientôt et que nous aurons l’occasion de l’accueillir au Centre national des Arts dans un avenir rapproché.

Durée

Durée approximative de 2 heures avec entracte.

video: Seong-Jin Cho joue Beethoven
Seong-Jin Cho joue Beethoven
video: Seong-Jin Cho :   Compétition Piano Chopin-Nov 2017
Seong-Jin Cho : Compétition Piano Chopin-Nov 2017
Seong-Jin CHo © Harald Hoffmann

Artistes

  • Piano Seong-Jin Cho
Menu