This event has passed
Alexander Shelley © Dwayne Brown
“…Giltburg has the capacity to identify with and encapsulate the moods of each piece while artlessly crafting them into a shapely span.” Daily Telegraph
  • Brahms Symphony No. 2
  • Vivian Fung Earworms*
  • Shostakovich Piano Concerto No. 2

Shake off the end-of-winter doldrums with this evening of sunny melodies and toe-tapping mischief. Hold on to your hats as the nimble fingers of soloist Boris Giltburg dance their way through Shostakovich’s cheeky Piano Concerto No. 2. Giltburg’s 2017 recording of the concerto won rave reviews for its “dashing virtuosity” and “reckless, to-hell-with-it abandon.” End the evening on a bucolic note with Brahms’s Pastoral Symphony, a piece once described as “all rippling streams, blue sky, sunshine, and cool green shadows.”

This concert opens with the world premiere performance of Vivian Fung’s Earworms.

Earworms features snippets of some of the best, most insistent, and most annoying of these tunes and combines them into a playful and quirky arrangement. These include phrases from Ravel’s La Valse and my son’s favourite, Wheels on the Bus, to which he has listened every day ad nauseam for the past six months.”

-Vivian Fung

*World premiere; NAC Orchestra commission. 

The Friends of the NAC Orchestra are pleased to hold a spectacular silent auction on March 22 and 23 in the Southam Hall Foyer in conjunction with this NAC Orchestra concert. Bid on outstanding and unique donated items from across Canada and from around the world. Proceeds benefit the Friends of the NAC Orchestra’s commitment to music education programs for young people. Help us build a fantastic future for music in Canada!

Duration

Performance is approximately 2 hours including intermission.

video: Vivian Fung - Composer
Vivian Fung - Composer
video: Shelley and Brahms
Shelley and Brahms
video: 'Suggestion Diabolique (Prokofiev)' by Boris Giltburg
'Suggestion Diabolique (Prokofiev)' by Boris Giltburg
Alexander Shelley © Dwayne Brown
Boris Giltburg © Sasha Gusov

Menu

Shelley et la Deuxième de Brahms

Cet événement est passé
Alexander Shelley © Dwayne Brown
Musique Musique classique Piano Création
« Giltburg a le don de synthétiser le climat de chaque pièce, et l’art de donner toute son ampleur à la musique. »  Daily Telegraph

Secouez-vous du marasme de fin d’hiver avec une soirée de mélodies ensoleillées et d’espiègleries enjouées. Tenez-vous bien alors que les doigts agiles du soliste Boris Giltburg dansent avec insolence au rythme du Concerto pour piano no 2 de Shostakovich. L’enregistrement de 2017 de Giltbirg lui a valu des éloges dithyrambiques, qui saluaient son élégante virtuosité et son abandon dissolu et sans réserve. Terminez la soirée sur une note bucolique avec la Symphonie pastorale de Brahms, une œuvre jadis décrite comme « un ruisseau ondoyant, un ciel bleu, des rayons de soleil et de fraîches ombres d’arbres ».

Le concert comprend aussi Earworms, création de Vivian Fung présentée en première mondiale.

« Earworms intègre des bribes de quelques-unes des meilleures, des plus obsédantes et des plus irritantes de ces mélodies, et les associe dans le cadre d’un arrangement ludique et décalé. On y retrouve des phrases tirées de La Valse de Ravel ainsi que la comptine préférée de mon fils, “Wheels on the Bus”, qu’il écoute chaque jour ad nauseam depuis six mois. »

-Vivian Fung

* Création mondiale d’une pièce commandée par l’Orchestre du CNA.

À l’occasion de ce concert de l’Orchestre du CNA, les Amis de l’Orchestre du CNA ont le plaisir d’organiser un encan silencieux spectaculaire dans le Foyer de la salle Southam, les 22 et 23 mars. Faites vos offres pour des articles hors pairs et uniques provenant de dons originaires du Canada et du monde entier. Les recettes serviront à financer les engagements que les Amis de l’Orchestre du CNA ont contractés envers les programmes d’éducation musicale pour les jeunes. Aidez-nous à bâtir un avenir rayonnant pour la musique au Canada.

Durée approximative de 2 heures avec entracte

video: Vivian Fung - compositeur
Vivian Fung - compositeur
video: Shelley et Brahms
Shelley et Brahms
video: 'Suggestion Diabolique (Prokofiev)' par Boris Giltburg
'Suggestion Diabolique (Prokofiev)' par Boris Giltburg
Alexander Shelley © Dwayne Brown
Boris Giltburg
Menu