Classical Marsalis

Casual Fridays with the NAC Orchestra

Branford Marsalis

Approximately 90 minutes with no intermission.

  • GLAZUNOV Saxophone Concerto
  • Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 1, “Winter Dreams”

When a Russian conductor teams up with an American jazzman to perform classical music, the result is saxophone as you’ve never heard it before. Composed in 1934 when Alexander Glazunov was living in self-imposed exile in Paris, the Saxophone Concerto brims with homesickness, yet flows with a musical freedom impermissable in Soviet-era Russia. After performing to rave reviews with the New York Philharmonic and Toronto Symphony Orchestra, three-time Grammy award winner Branford Marsalis pairs up once again with internationally-renowned conductor Andrey Boreyko for a concert hailed by critics as an “unmitigated delight.”

Music. Food. Wine. Friends. 
A Perfect Way to Enjoy it All.

Unwind at the end of your week with our wildly popular Casual Fridays!

5:30 PM    Pre-concert 5 à 7 with music from the Brian Asselin Quartet in the Southam Hall Lobby, OPEN TO ALL whether or not you attend the concert. Enjoy cocktails and tapas, available for purchase. All tapas are prepared by the NAC culinary team drawing inspiration from individual Casual Fridays concerts for an original and authentic flair. You can purchase tapas tickets onsite the night of the concert at a price of $8 per tapa. Tickets are valid for any Casual Fridays performance during the 2017/18 season.

7 PM    90-minute NAC Orchestra concert without intermission. Each invited, guest concert host connects with musicians to provide a deeper understanding of the music and lets you experience the orchestra in a directly personal way.   

8:30 PM    Post-concert party in the Main Foyer, OPEN TO ALL whether or not you attended the concert. Mix and mingle with fellow music lovers and NAC Orchestra musicians!
__________

Friday Bravo Series subscribers attend this concert. 
The Bravo Series version of this performance will take place on March 1, 2018 at 8 p.m.

Credits

  • Andrey Boreyko Conductor
  • Branford Marsalis Saxophone
  • NAC Orchestra
Menu

Marsalis classique

Vendredis décontractés avec l’Orchestre du CNA

Cet événement est passé
Branford Marsalis
Branford Marsalis, l’un des saxophonistes les plus réputés au monde, navigue entre le jazz et le classique avec style et en toute aisance. Lawrence A. Johnson, Chicago Classical Review, June 16, 2017
  • GLAZOUNOV Concerto pour saxophone
  • Tchaïkovsky Symphonie no 1, « Rêves d’hiver »

Lorsqu’un chef d’orchestre fait équipe avec un musicien de jazz américain pour interpréter de la musique classique, le résultat est du saxophone comme vous n’en avez jamais entendu. Composé en 1934 alors qu’Alexander Glazunov vivait dans un exil qu’il s’était imposé à Paris, le Concerto pour saxophone fleure la nostalgie tout en dégageant une liberté musicale inadmissible dans la Russie de l’époque soviétique. Après s’être attiré des éloges en se produisant avec l’Orchestre philharmonique de New York et l’Orchestre symphonique de Toronto, Brandford Marsalis, lauréat de trois prix Grammy, s’associe à nouveau au chef d’orchestre de renommée internationale Andrey Boreyko pour un concert que les critiques qualifient de délice absolu.

Musique. Bouchées. Vin. Amis. 
Tout est là pour une soirée réussie.

Finissez la semaine sur une belle note avec notre sensationnelle série de trois concerts!

17 h 30   Le Prélude culinaire est OUVERT À TOUS, aucun billet de concert requis. Des tapas préparées par l’équipe culinaire du CNA seront en vente dans le Foyer de la salle Southam. Le menu original et authentique, inspiré des œuvres au programme, vous sera servi au son du Petr Cancura Quartet. Vous pouvez vous procurer des billets tapas sur place le soir du concert à 8 $ l’unité. Les billets sont valables pour toutes les représentations des Vendredis décontractés de la saison 2017/18.

19 h    Concert de l’Orchestre du CNA, 90 minutes sans entracte. Chaque animateur invité sonde la musique avec les interprètes pour permettre au public de mieux comprendre les œuvres au programme et de s’immerger dans l’expérience.   

20 h 30    Réception d’après-concert dans le Foyer principal - OUVERT À TOUS, aucun billet de concert requis. Restez bavarder avec d’autres mélomanes et avec les musiciens de l’Orchestre du CNA!
__________

Les abonnés du vendredi (série Bravo) assistent à ce concert.
La représentation de ce programme donnée dans le cadre de la Série Bravo aura lieu le 1er mars 2018 à 20 h.

Durée

Durée approximative de 90 minutes sans entracte.

video: Branford joue le concerto pour saxophone de Glazunov
Branford joue le concerto pour saxophone de Glazunov
video: Maestra
Maestra
Branford Marsalis
Branford Marsalis
Andrey Boreyko

Artistes

Menu