Classical Marsalis

Casual Fridays with the NAC Orchestra

Branford Marsalis

Approximately 90 minutes with no intermission.

  • GLAZUNOV Saxophone Concerto
  • Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 1, “Winter Dreams”

When a Russian conductor teams up with an American jazzman to perform classical music, the result is saxophone as you’ve never heard it before. Composed in 1934 when Alexander Glazunov was living in self-imposed exile in Paris, the Saxophone Concerto brims with homesickness, yet flows with a musical freedom impermissable in Soviet-era Russia. After performing to rave reviews with the New York Philharmonic and Toronto Symphony Orchestra, three-time Grammy award winner Branford Marsalis pairs up once again with internationally-renowned conductor Andrey Boreyko for a concert hailed by critics as an “unmitigated delight.”

Friday Bravo Series subscribers attend this concert. 
The Bravo Series version of this performance will take place on March 1, 2018 at 8 pm.


  • Andrey Boreyko Conductor
  • Branford Marsalis Saxaphone
  • NAC Orchestra