Buffy Sainte-Marie

with very special guests Randy Bachman & DJ Shub

[x] Close

Buffy Sainte-Marie

Matt Barnes

Randy Bachman

DJ Shub

Leela Gilday

Canada 150 event

NAC Presentation

For more than 50 years, legendary Canadian singer-songwriter Buffy Sainte-Marie has continually reinvented herself, creating songs that reveal new and distinctive shades of an artist already revered as a pioneer. As activist, educator, visual artist, and winner of countless awards (Oscar, JUNO, Golden Globe, and the 2015 Polaris Music Prize among them), Buffy prods and pokes at familiar stories to find the other side, producing powerful and lyrical songs that weave the human narratives left out of the history books.

In one of Canada Scene’s signature events, this musical icon and inspiration to a generation of artists and activists is joined on stage by a few musical friends to share and celebrate our Canadian – and very human – stories.

Few artists have made a bigger impact on popular music than Randy Bachman, with a long list of unforgettable anthems from his years with iconic bands Bachman-Turner Overdrive and The Guess Who. In a performance arising from their longstanding friendship, Randy joins Buffy on stage for the very first time, in an epic performance featuring new and fantastic collaborations.

DJ Shub, formerly of A Tribe Called Red, is a title-earning DJ and award-winning music producer who counts several DMC Canada DJ Championship titles, a JUNO Award, and an Aboriginal Peoples Choice Music Award as some of his most notable accomplishments.

Opening for Buffy will be the Northwest Territories’ powerhouse singer-songwriter Leela Gilday. Leela weaves her experiences as a northerner, a member of the Dene nation, and a traveller into songs with a sense of humour and social justice, and an ironic appreciation of human folly.

Canada 150 event

Videos

  • Buffy Sainte-Marie | Power In The Blood | Polaris 2015

  • Buffy Sainte-Marie - Darling, Don't Cry

  • Buffy Sainte-Marie live performance of Starwalker

Artist Links

Menu

Buffy Sainte-Marie

avec invités très spéciaux Randy Bachman et DJ Shub / Leela Gilday

Cet événement est passé
Buffy Sainte-Marie © Matt Barnes

Présentation du CNA

Depuis plus de 50 ans, la légendaire auteure-compositrice-interprète Buffy Sainte-Marie se réinvente constamment en créant des chansons à travers lesquelles s’expriment les nuances inédites et distinctives d’une artiste vénérée qui jouit déjà d’une réputation de pionnière. Militante, éducatrice, artiste visuelle et lauréate d’innombrables distinctions (Oscar, Juno, Golden Globe et un prix de musique Polaris en 2015, pour n’en nommer que quelques-uns), Buffy retourne des histoires familières pour les regarder sous un autre angle, composant des pièces qui, par leur lyrisme et leur puissance, tissent les récits humains oubliés des livres d’histoires.

Dans le cadre de l’un des événements phares de la Scène Canada, cette figure musicale emblématique, source d’inspiration d’une génération d’artistes et de militants, sera accompagnée d’amis musiciens qui partageront et célèbreront nos histoires canadiennes, profondément humaines.

Peu d’artistes ont autant marqué la musique populaire que Randy Bachman, dont les grands succès avec les légendaires groupes Bachman-Turnier-Overdrive et The Guess Who résonnent encore. Pour la toute première fois, Randy rejoindra sur scène son amie de longue date, Buffy, dans une performance offrant de nouvelles et fantastiques collaborations.

DJ Shub, anciennement de la formation A Tribe Called Red, est un DJ réputé et producteur musical primé, dont les exploits ont entre autres été couronnés de plusieurs titres de DMC Canada DJ Championship, d’un prix JUNO et d’un Aboriginal Peoples Choice Music Award.

Leela Gilday, la passionnée auteure-compositrice-interprète des Territoires-du-Nord-Ouest, assurera la première partie du concert de Buffy. Leela tire de ses expériences de femme du Nord, de membre de la nation des Dénés et de grande voyageuse des chansons empreintes d’un sens de l’humour et de la justice sociale, et d’un regard rempli d’ironie sur la bêtise humaine.

video: Buffy Sainte-Marie | Power In The Blood | Polaris 2015
Buffy Sainte-Marie | Power In The Blood | Polaris 2015
video: Buffy Sainte-Marie - Darling, Don't Cry
Buffy Sainte-Marie - Darling, Don't Cry
video: Buffy Sainte-Marie live performance of Starwalker
Buffy Sainte-Marie live performance of Starwalker
Buffy Sainte-Marie © Matt Barnes
Randy Bachman
DJ Shub
Leela Gilday
Menu