Rufus Wainwright with the NAC Orchestra

This event has passed
Rufus Wainwright © Matthew Welch
A singer and composer who's always toyed with ways to pair pop showmanship with a classical musician's finely honed chops. NPR Music

NAC Presentation

He’s Canada’s answer to Elton John: a piano-playing singer-songwriter with a Baroque-pop style that draws equal inspiration from classical opera and Broadway show tunes. The bohemian son of folk singer Kate McGarrigle, Rufus Wainwright gained international fame with his Grammy-nominated tribute to Judy Garland, performed in glittering ruby slippers at New York’s Carnegie Hall and Toronto’s Luminato Festival. Let down your hair for an evening of vamp and camp as this born showman regales the audience with a set-list of his best and most provocative music.

He has collaborated with the likes of Elton John, David Byrne, Boy George, and Joni Mitchell, all the while nimbly blurring the lines between pop, folk, camp, and opera, with a journey into the sonnets of Shakespeare thrown in for good measure.

In this extraordinary performance for Canada Scene, Rufus is joined by the National Arts Centre Orchestra and conductor Jayce Ogren for an evening of his best and most provocative music that will, as always, leave us wanting much more.

video: Rufus Wainwright - Hallelujah (Live At The Fillmore)
Rufus Wainwright - Hallelujah (Live At The Fillmore)
video: Rufus Wainwright - A Woman's Face - Reprise (Sonnet 20)
Rufus Wainwright - A Woman's Face - Reprise (Sonnet 20)
video: Rufus Wainwright, Helena Bonham Carter - Out Of The Game
Rufus Wainwright, Helena Bonham Carter - Out Of The Game
Rufus Wainwright © Matthew Welch

Artists

  • conductor Jayce Ogren
Menu

Rues fermées à la circulation autour du CNA pendant le Ottawa International Jazz Festival

Rufus Wainwright avec l'Orchestre du CNA

[x] Fermer

Rufus Wainwright

Matthew Welch

Événement Canada 150

Présentation du CNA

C’est un peu notre Elton John canadien : un pianiste et auteur-compositeur-interprète au style pop-baroque qui s’inspire autant de l’opéra que de Broadway. Rejeton bohème de la chanteuse folk Kate McGarrigle, Rufus Wainwright s’est fait connaître partout dans le monde grâce à l’hommage à Judy Garland – nommé aux GRAMMY – qu’il a interprété, chaussures rouges aux pieds, au Carnegie Hall de New York et au Festival Luminato de Toronto. Venez lâcher votre fou avec cette bête de scène qui régalera son public de ses plus grands succès et chansons les plus provocatrices. Flamboyance et excentricité seront au rendez-vous!

Il a collaboré avec divers artistes, notamment Elton John, David Byrne, Boy George et Joni Mitchel, transgressant les limites de la pop, du folk, du camp et de l’opéra, en plus de se permettre une incursion dans les sonnets de Shakespeare.

Dans le spectacle extraordinaire qu’il prépare pour la Scène Canada, Rufus se joint à l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts et au chef d'orchestre Jayce Ogren pour une soirée ponctuée de ses plus grandes et plus provocatrices compositions, qui ébahiront et raviront son public qui, comme toujours, en redemandera.

Un chanteur et compositeur qui joue toujours avec des façons de combiner le sens du spectacle de la culture pop et les techniques finement élaborées de la musique classique.
NPR Music
Événement Canada 150

Vidéos

  • Rufus Wainwright - Hallelujah (Live At The Fillmore)

  • Rufus Wainwright - A Woman's Face - Reprise (Sonnet 20)

  • Rufus Wainwright, Helena Bonham Carter - Out Of The Game

crédits

  • chef d'orchetre Jayce Ogren

Liens artiste

Menu