Street closures around the NAC during Ottawa Race Weekend

8

[x] Close

Credit : Jérémie Battaglia & Vincent Poirier

Credit : Jérémie Battaglia & Vincent Poirier

Credit : Jérémie Battaglia & Vincent Poirier

Credit : Jérémie Battaglia & Vincent Poirier

Credit : Jérémie Battaglia & Vincent Poirier

Credit : Jérémie Battaglia & Vincent Poirier

Credit : Jérémie Battaglia & Vincent Poirier

Credit : Jérémie Battaglia & Vincent Poirier

NAC Co-production

Eight actor friends wind up at a party. Stripped of their masks and stage characters, oblivious to the audience, they engage in a frank and uninhibited conversation during an evening that will change them forever.

8 is the story of a party. The party where eight friends hope they can forget their doubts and everyday cares by throwing themselves, for the space of an evening, into something bigger than themselves. But how can you get away from what you are? Surely any attempt to escape is futile … No, that’s not it. That makes it sound too corny.

8 is the story of a performance. A performance where eight actors deliberately reveal their true selves to the audience—no stage characters, no holds barred. But without their theatrical masks, they struggle for cohesion. Their points of view are so different that they can’t agree on the story they want to tell … No, that’s not quite it either.

8 is the story of a gang. A company of artists whose members look for ways to link their personal story to the bigger Story unfolding that night. A gang that, to construct a show that blurs the line between truth and fiction, will go so far as to rewrite the sequence of events of an evening that will change them forever … Yeah, that’s more like it.

 

Additional  show February 4, 3 PM

 

Talkback on Thursday
Right after the performance, the artists come back on stage for a 30-minutes discussion about the show with host Catherine Voyer-Léger and answer questions from the public.

Credits

  • With Éric Bruneau, Guillaume Cyr, Kathleen Fortin, Julie Le Breton, Jean-Moïse Martin, Geneviève Schmidt, Emmanuel Schwartz and Mani Soleymanlou
Learn More:

Assistant director: Jean Gaudreau
Scenography advices: Max-Otto Fauteux
Technical director and lighting: Erwann Bernard
Music: Philippe Brault
Production director: Catherine La Frenière
General secretary: Xavier Inchauspé

Produced by Orange Noyée
Coproduced by Place des Arts and NAC French Theatre

Media partner
Logo ici ottawa-gatineau rgb tele couleur (2)
Menu

8

[x] Fermer

Crédit : Jérémie Battaglia & Vincent Poirier

Crédit : Jérémie Battaglia & Vincent Poirier

Crédit : Jérémie Battaglia & Vincent Poirier

Crédit : Jérémie Battaglia & Vincent Poirier

Crédit : Jérémie Battaglia & Vincent Poirier

Crédit : Jérémie Battaglia & Vincent Poirier

Crédit : Jérémie Battaglia & Vincent Poirier

Crédit : Jérémie Battaglia & Vincent Poirier

Coproduction du CNA

Huit amis comédiens se retrouvent dans un party. Pas de masques, pas de personnages, ils se livreront sans retenue face au public dans cette soirée qui les changera à jamais.

8 est l’histoire d’une fête. Le party où se retrouvent huit amis qui pensent dépasser leurs doutes et leurs petites angoisses quotidiennes en se projetant, pour un soir, dans quelque chose de plus grand qu’eux. Mais comment échappe-t-on à ce que l’on est ? La fuite en avant n’est-elle pas toujours vaine ?… Non, ce n’est pas vraiment ça. Dit comme ça, c’est trop kétaine.

8 est l’histoire d’un spectacle. Un spectacle où huit interprètes font le choix de se livrer au public sans retenue et sans personnage. Mais sans leurs masques de théâtre, ils peinent à créer à l’unisson. Leurs points de vue divergent tant et si bien que plus personne ne s’entend sur l’histoire qu’ils veulent raconter… Non, ce n’est pas tout à fait ça non plus.

8 est l’histoire d’une gang. Une troupe d’artistes où chacun cherche à lier son histoire personnelle à la plus grande Histoire qui est en train de se jouer ce soir-là. Une gang qui, pour bâtir un spectacle où la frontière entre la réalité et la fiction est trouble, va aller jusqu’à réécrire le cours des événements de cette soirée qui les changera à jamais… Ouais, c’est à peu près ça.

 

Supplémentaire le 4 février à 15 h

 

Rencontre d’après-spectacle
La représentation du jeudi soir vient tout juste de se terminer, les émotions flottent encore dans l’air, et voilà que reviennent sur scène les artistes pour échanger avec vous. Cette discussion de trente minutes sera animée par Catherine Voyer-Léger.

crédits

  • Avec Éric Bruneau, Guillaume Cyr, Kathleen Fortin, Julie Le Breton, Jean-Moïse Martin, Geneviève Schmidt, Emmanuel Schwartz et Mani Soleymanlou
En savoir plus :

Assistance à la mise en scène : Jean Gaudreau
Conseils à la scénographie : Max-Otto Fauteux
Direction technique et lumière : Erwann Bernard
Musique : Philippe Brault
Direction de production : Catherine La Frenière
Secrétariat général : Xavier Inchauspé

Production : Orange Noyée
Coproduction : Place des Arts et Théâtre français du CNA

Partenaire média
Logo ici ottawa-gatineau rgb tele couleur (2)
Menu