Justine A. Chambers

Family Dinner: The Lexicon

Arts Court - Theatre 2 Daly Avenue, Ottawa
Arts Court - Theatre 2 Daly Avenue, Ottawa

Family Dinner: The Lexicon

Photo: Josh Hite

Family Dinner: The Lexicon

Photo: Josh Hite

Duration

Performance is approximately 40 minutes with no intermission.

For three years during the development and performance of Family Dinner (May 2013 – February 2015), dancer and choreographer Justine A. Chambers observed her “guests” at the dinner table - archiving their gestures, social etiquette and habitual tendencies, to capture the experiential essence of an otherwise routine activity: the family dinner. The bodies of the performers, themselves seated alongside the audience at the table, became imperfect recording devices for the physical conversations and uniquely individual gestures of each “guest”.

Family Dinner: The Lexicon is the engaging culmination of Chambers’ behavioural research, tightly scored for the stage. All of the collected gestures have been distilled, re-organized and extracted from the immersive dinner performances into a presentation that is at once familiar and exceptional. The work is a re-presentation of each gesticulation, framed as a live catalogue – an archive of a shared movement vocabulary. With memories of dinners past, audiences will recognize the ritual of each raised glass and waving fork as an everyday language of human connection and conversation around a shared dining table. The ultimate dinner and a show.

Justine A. Chambers is a founding member of projet bk, and current artist and residence and associate artist to The Dance Centre in Vancouver. Her interests lie in collaborative creation and re-imagining of dance performance. She is drawn to the movement of all bodies, and is focused on the dances that are already there: the social choreographies present in the everyday.

PRESENTING SPONSOR :

Anndraya Luui

“The performers are so skilled, and Chambers’ observations so pointed, that in future it’s going to be hard for this viewer to regard dining as anything other than a performance, unconsciously choreographed by the participants.”

Alexander Varty, The Georgia Straight

“In this work the personal is depersonalized, the material for construction of identity is made open-source and the singular is made communal.”

Alexa Mardon, Issue Magazine

Credits

  • Conceived by:
  • Justine A. Chambers
  • Collaborators, performers:
  • Alison Denham
    Kate Franklin
    Lisa Gelley
    Aryo Khakpour
    Josh Martin
    Billy Marchensk

Artist Links

Menu

Justine A. Chambers

Family Dinner: The Lexicon

Cour des arts – Théâtre 2 avenue Daly Ottawa
Cet événement est passé
Family Dinner: The Lexicon © Photo : Josh Hite
Danse contemporaine Interdisciplinaire
« Les interprètes sont si habiles, et les observations de [Justine A.] Chambers si précises, qu’il sera désormais difficile à l’auteur de ces lignes d’assister à un souper sans y voir une chorégraphie réglée par les participants à leur insu. » Alexander Varty, The Georgia Straight

Pendant les trois années qu'a exigé le développement de Family Dinner (mai 2013 à février 2015), la danseuse et chorégraphe Justine A. Chambers a observé ses « convives » à la table du souper, enregistrant leurs gestes, leurs manières et leurs habitudes, afin de dégager l'essence même d'une activité banale en soi : le souper de famille. Les corps des interprètes, assis à table côte à côte avec les membres du public, se font eux-mêmes appareils d'enregistrement approximatifs pour capter les échanges physiques et les gestes caractéristiques de chaque « convive ».

Family Dinner: The Lexicon est l'aboutissement réjouissant de cette recherche comportementale, réglée au quart de tour pour la scène. Tous les gestes colligés ont été distillés, réarrangés et extraits des soupers immersifs précédents pour produire un spectacle à la fois familier et exceptionnel. L'œuvre restitue chaque gesticulation en l'encadrant, comme dans un catalogue vivant – les archives d'un langage gestuel commun. Les souvenirs de soupers antérieurs amèneront les spectateurs à prendre conscience du rôle de rituels familiers – lever son verre, agiter sa fourchette – comme expressions courantes des rapports humains et des échanges autour d'une table partagée. Le souper ultime donne ainsi lieu à un spectacle unique.

Membre fondatrice du Projet bk, Justine A. Chambers est actuellement artiste résidente et artiste associée du Dance Centre à Vancouver. Elle s'intéresse tout particulièrement aux collaborations artistiques et s'attache à réinventer le spectacle de danse. Les corps en mouvement la fascinent et elle se concentre sur les danses préexistantes : les chorégraphies sociales qui règlent nos gestes quotidiens.

COMMANDITAIRE PRÉSENTATEUR :

Anndraya Luui  

Durée

Durée approximative de 40 minutes sans entracte.

Family Dinner: The Lexicon © Photo : Josh Hite
Family Dinner: The Lexicon © Photo : Josh Hite

Artistes

  • Avec Conçu par :
  • Avec Justine A. Chambers
  • Avec Collaborateurs, interprètes :
  • Avec Alison Denham
    Kate Franklin
    Lisa Gelley
    Aryo Khakpour
    Josh Martin
    Billy Marchensk
Menu