Children of God

dates & times NAC Theatre

dates & times dates & times

NAC Theatre

Michelle Bardach

Matt Barnes

NAC Co-production

NAC English Theatre Collaboration

  • A musical by Corey Payette

An Urban Ink (Vancouver) Production in collaboration with NAC English Theatre, in association with Raven Theatre (Vancouver) / The Cultch (Vancouver) 

Children of God is a gorgeous, powerful musical about an Oji-Cree family whose children were taken away to a residential school in Northern Ontario. The story of Rita, a mother who was never let past the school’s gate, and her kids, Tom and Julia, who never knew she came, pushes toward redemption. Children of God offers a thrilling blend of ancient traditions and contemporary realities, celebrating resilience and the power of the Indigenous cultural spirit. Inspired by First Nations music, Payette’s profoundly moving score also includes echoes of provocative Broadway masterpieces such as Fun Home and Next to Normal

“I saw this production in Kamloops on the third night of a small festival season presented by the Western Canadian Theatre Company. I’m sure they could have sold out three times for the number of people clamouring to get in, all after word of mouth had spread from the first two nights about this powerful musical by Oji-Cree writer Corey Payette. I knew after the first scene that it was destined for Canada’s stage.” – Jillian Keiley, Artistic director, NAC English Theatre

“Every once in a while someone as special as Corey Payette comes along with a project as special as this. Children of God was developed as part of The Collaborations because it was so extraordinary, passionate and beautiful.”
Sarah Garton Stanley
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun

5 Jun

6 Jun

7 Jun

  • 7:30 PM Preview

8 Jun

  • 7:30 PM Preview

9 Jun

  • 7:30 PM Opening Night

10 Jun

  • 2:00 PM Matinee
  • 7:30 PM

11 Jun

12 Jun

13 Jun

  • 7:30 PM

14 Jun

  • 7:30 PM Talkback

15 Jun

  • 7:30 PM Talkback

16 Jun

  • 7:30 PM

17 Jun

  • 2:00 PM Matinee
  • 7:30 PM

18 Jun

  • 2:00 PM Matinee

Official Hotel Partner
Extended Stay Canada

Children of God

Dates et heures Théâtre du CNA

Dates et heures Dates et heures

Théâtre du CNA

Michelle Bardach

Matt Barnes

Événement Canada 150

Coproduction du CNA

Collaboration du Théâtre anglais du CNA

  • Texte, musique et mise en scène de Corey Payette

Une production de la compagnie Urban Ink (Vancouver) en collaboration avec le Théâtre anglais du CNA, en association avec le Raven Theatre (Vancouver)/ le Cultch (Vancouver) / et la Scène Canada du CNA.

Children of God est une superbe et puissante pièce musicale centrée sur une famille oji-crie dont les enfants ont été placés de force dans un pensionnat autochtone du nord de l’Ontario. Le drame de Rita, une mère qu’on n’a jamais autorisée à franchir la porte du pensionnat, et de ses enfants, Tom et Julia, qui n’ont jamais su qu’elle était venue leur rendre visite, se déploie jusqu’à la rédemption finale. Children of God offre un fascinant mélange de traditions anciennes et de réalités actuelles, célébrant la résilience et la force spirituelle des cultures autochtones. Inspirée de la musique des Premières Nations, la poignante trame musicale de Corey Payette fait aussi écho à d’inspirants chefs-d’œuvre de Broadway comme Fun Home et Next to Normal.
 

« J’ai vu cette production à Kamloops le troisième soir d’un petit festival présenté par le Western Canada Theatre. Je suis sûre qu’elle aurait pu faire salle comble les trois soirs, à en juger par la clameur de la foule qu’on a dû refuser à l’entrée, faute de place, après que le bouche-à-oreille ait fait son œuvre à la suite des deux premières représentations. J’ai su dès le premier tableau que ce puissant drame musical de l’auteur oji-cri Corey Payette était destiné à notre scène nationale. » – Jillian Keiley, directrice artistique, Théâtre anglais du CNA

« De temps à autre, quelqu’un d’aussi exceptionnel que Corey Payette survient avec un projet aussi extraordinaire que celui-ci. Children of God a été développé dans le cadre du programme The Collaborations parce que c’était une œuvre remarquable, passionnée et d’une grande beauté. » 
Sarah Garton Stanley
Lun Mar Mer Jeu Ven Sam Dim

5 juin

6 juin

7 juin

  • 19 h 30 Avant-première

8 juin

  • 19 h 30 Avant-première

9 juin

  • 19 h 30 Première

10 juin

  • 14 h 00 Matinée
  • 19 h 30

11 juin

12 juin

13 juin

  • 19 h 30

14 juin

  • 19 h 30 Rencontre d'après-spectacle

15 juin

  • 19 h 30 Rencontre d'après-spectacle

16 juin

  • 19 h 30

17 juin

  • 14 h 00 Matinée
  • 19 h 30

18 juin

  • 14 h 00 Matinée

Hôtel partenaire officiel
Extended Stay Canada
Menu