Vigilante

dates & times NAC Theatre

dates & times dates & times

NAC Theatre

[x] Close

Ensemble

DBPhotographics

Ensemble

DBPhotographics

Jan Alexandra Smith and David Leyshon

DBPhotographics

David Leyshon and Jan Alexandra Smith

David Cooper

Ensemble

David Cooper

Ensemble

David Cooper

Ensemble

DBPhotographics

NAC English Theatre Collaboration

  • Written, composed & directed by Jonathan Christenson

Produced by Catalyst Theatre (Edmonton) in collaboration with Canada’s National Arts Centre | Premiere commissioned by the Citadel Theatre (Edmonton)

The ghosts of the Donnellys return to tell their side of things. A raucous, wall-of-sound rock opera, Vigilante tells the explosive true tale of a ruthless Irish immigrant family and an entire town bent on revenge. Based on the unsolved 1880 massacre of Ontario’s notorious Donnelly family, Vigilante is a stomping, swaggering and compulsively watchable story about frontier justice. This outlaw offspring of Sweeney Todd and The Threepenny Opera walks the razor’s edge – aggressively inventive, visually stunning and absolutely electrifying. Vigilante marks the return of Edmonton’s astonishing Catalyst Theatre (Nevermore), following major tours to London and New York.

“I saw this piece twice: once in Fort McMurray, and again in Edmonton after Catalyst had returned from the off-Broadway run of their original production Nevermore. I loved both iterations but the steampunk style and pulsing fury of the music was deep in my bones by the second viewing. Now to see it again will satisfy a craving that I’ve had ever since.” – Jillian Keiley, Artistic director, NAC English Theatre

“History — Canadian history! — doesn’t just rock, it comes at you with an aggressive and explosive energy in the thrilling new rock ‘musical’ from Catalyst Theatre currently torching the Citadel’s stage.”
The Edmonton Journal

Videos

  • Catalyst Theatre's Vigilante

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun

27 Mar

28 Mar

29 Mar

  • 7:30 PM Preview

30 Mar

  • 7:30 PM Preview

31 Mar

  • 7:30 PM Opening Night

1 Apr

  • 2:00 PM Matinee
  • 7:30 PM

2 Apr

3 Apr

4 Apr

  • 7:30 PM

5 Apr

  • 7:30 PM Talkback

6 Apr

  • 7:30 PM Talkback

7 Apr

  • 7:30 PM

8 Apr

  • 2:00 PM Matinee
  • 7:30 PM

9 Apr

  • 2:00 PM Matinee

10 Apr

11 Apr

  • 7:30 PM

12 Apr

  • 7:30 PM Talkback

13 Apr

  • 7:30 PM Talkback

14 Apr

  • 7:30 PM

15 Apr

  • 2:00 PM Matinee
  • 7:30 PM

16 Apr

Menu

Vigilante

[x] Fermer

Kris Joseph, Scott Walters, Jan Alexandra Smith, David Leyshon

DBPhotographics

Benjamin Wardle, Lucas Meeuse, Carson Nattrass, Eric Morin

DBPhotographics

Jan Alexandra Smith et David Leyshon

DBPhotographics

David Leyshon and Jan Alexandra Smith

David Cooper

Ensemble

David Cooper

Ensemble

David Cooper

Ensemble

DBPhotographics

Collaboration du Théâtre anglais du CNA

  • Livret, paroles et musique, et mise en scène de Jonathan Christenson

Durée approximative de 2 heures et 20 minutes avec entracte.

Une production du Catalyst Theatre (Edmonton) en collaboration avec le Centre national des Arts du Canada | Création commandée par le Citadel Theatre (Edmonton)

Les fantômes des Donnellys racontent leur côté de l’histoire. Vigilante est un opéra rock retentissant et décoiffant relatant l’histoire vécue d’une famille d’immigrants irlandais bagarreurs, et d’une ville entièrement liguée contre eux. Basé sur le mystère irrésolu du massacre, en 1880, de la tristement célèbre famille Donnelly en Ontario, Vigilante est une histoire trépidante, crâneuse et totalement captivante de justice expéditive – un rejeton illégitime de Sweeney Todd et de l’Opéra de quat’sous. Sur le fil du rasoir, cette production agressivement inventive, saisissante et électrisante marque le retour au CNA de l’extraordinaire Catalyst Theatre d’Edmonton (Nevermore), après d’importantes tournées à Londres et à New York.

« J’ai vu deux fois cette pièce : la première à Fort McMurray, puis à Edmonton après que le Catalyst soit rentré de New York, où il avait présenté off-Broadway sa production originale Nevermore. Le style steampunk et les rythmes furieux de la musique se sont imprégnés dans ma chair à cette deuxième occasion. Revoir la pièce à nouveau apaisera une soif qui n’a cessé de me tourmenter depuis. » – Jillian Keiley, directrice artistique, Théâtre anglais du CNA

« Non seulement l’histoire – une histoire canadienne! – secoue, mais elle est contée avec une énergie irrésistible et explosive, dans la passionnante nouvelle ‘comédie musicale’ rock du Catalyst Theatre. » 
The Edmonton Journal

crédits

  • avec Jan Alexandra Smith
  • Kris Joseph
  • David Leyshon
  • Lucas Meeuse
  • Eric Morin
  • Carson Nattrass
  • Scott Walters
  • Benjamin Wardle
Hôtel partenaire officiel
Extended Stay Canada
Menu