Freya Björg Olafson

HYPER_

La Nouvelle Scène Gilles Desjardins 333 King Edward Ave., Ottawa
La Nouvelle Scène Gilles Desjardins 333 King Edward Ave., Ottawa
[x] Close

HYPER_

Photo: Kevin Yi Ming Chen

HYPER_

Photo: Kevin Yi Ming Chen

Infusing the human form with layers of technology, HYPER_ brings together two distinctly different worlds: 2D video projected through and onto a live performer’s 3D corporeality. Exploring our limits of perception by shifting the dimensionality of the body in relationship to the immersive screen, HYPER_ challenges our perception of reality. The performer’s physique is dissected and transformed, disappearing and merging with the stage and screen.

In HYPER_ the body is reduced, layer by layer, to its very root and structure – a dehumanizing process that creates a deep, surreal and supernatural effect. Animated by a series of transformations, layered and colourful, the body becomes our dreamscape.

Performer and creator Freya Björg Olafson is an intermedia artist who blends her formal training from the Royal Winnipeg Ballet, Winnipeg’s School of Contemporary Dancers, the University of Manitoba School of Art (performance art, video and theory studies), and a Master of Fine Arts Degree in New Media from the Transart Institute in Krems, Austria.

This is Freya's Canada Dance Festival debut. 

NOTE: The audience wears 3D Chromadepth glasses for sections of HYPER_. These Chromadepth glasses create a false sense of depth by isolating colour – red comes to the foreground and blue falls the furthest into the background; all other colours follow in order of the rainbow.

Development of HYPER_ was supported by the Canada Council for the Arts, Manitoba Arts Council, Winnipeg Arts Council and the Video Pool Media Arts Centre, with production residencies at Studio 303 – Danse & Arts Indisciplinés (Montréal), Experimental Media and Performing Art Center (Troy, New York), Latitude 53 – Center for Visual Culture (Edmonton), Medea Electronique (Athens, Greece), and Atlantic Center for the Arts (New Smyrna Beach, Florida).

“… Olafson is a pioneer in our country’s dance community.”

Philip Szporer, The Dance Current Magazine

“Olafson is one of Winnipeg’s most boldly interdisciplinary artists.”

Alison Mayes, Winnipeg Free Press

“Olafson possesses ingenuity in spades.”

Sarah Swan, Winnipeg Free Press

“One of the most high-tech and visually stunning shows at [Summerworks] fest, this solo multimedia dance piece explores how new biomedical visualization techniques affect our understanding of human bodies.”

Jordan Bimm, Now Magazine

Credits

  • Freya Björg Olafson Choreographer
  • Hugh Conacher Lighting Design, Technical Director

Artist Links

Learn More:
Presenting Partner
Saw Video - Media Art Centre
Menu

Rues fermées à la circulation autour du CNA - fin de semaine de la fête du Canada

Freya Björg Olafson

HYPER_

  La Nouvelle Scène Gilles Desjardins 333, av. King-Edward, Ottawa
  La Nouvelle Scène Gilles Desjardins 333, av. King-Edward, Ottawa
[x] Fermer

HYPER_

Photo : Kevin Yi Ming Chen

HYPER_

Photo : Kevin Yi Ming Chen

Infusant la forme humaine de plusieurs couches de technologie, HYPER_ réunit deux univers bien distincts : de la vidéo en 2D projetée sur et à travers l'enveloppe corporelle tridimensionnelle de l'artiste sur scène. HYPER_ déjoue nos perceptions du réel en les poussant à l'extrême limite, ramenant le corps de l'artiste à une silhouette bidimensionnelle dans son rapport à l'écran immersif. Le physique de l'artiste est disséqué et métamorphosé, se fondant à la fois dans l'espace scénique et dans l'écran.

Dans HYPER_, le corps est réduit, couche après couche, à sa charpente seule – un processus déshumanisant qui produit un effet troublant, à la fois surréaliste et surnaturel. Animé par une série de transformations, stratifié et coloré, le corps se fait espace onirique à explorer.

L'interprète et chorégraphe Freya Björg Olafson est une artiste intermédia qui s'appuie sur une solide formation éclectique acquise au Royal Winnipeg Ballet, à la School of Contemporary Dancers de Winnipeg, à la faculté des Arts de l'Université du Manitoba (performance, vidéo et études théoriques), et à l'Institut Transart de Krems, en Autriche (maîtrise en beaux-arts spécialisée en nouveaux médias).

Cette prestation marque ses débuts au Festival Danse Canada. 

NOTA : L'auditoire est muni de lunettes Chromadepth 3D pour certaines sections de HYPER_. Ces lunettes créent une illusion de profondeur en isolant les couleurs – le rouge est ramené à l'avant-plan et le bleu est repoussé à l'arrière-plan, et toutes les couleurs intermédiaires se suivent dans l'ordre de l'arc-en-ciel.

HYPER_ a été développé avec l'appui du Conseil des Arts du Canada, du Conseil des arts du Manitoba, du Conseil des arts de Winnipeg et du Video Pool Media Arts Centre, à la faveur de résidences de production au Studio 303 – Danse et arts indisciplinés (Montréal), à l'Experimental Media and Performing Art Center (Troy, New York), à Latitude 53 – Center for Visual Culture (Edmonton), à Medea Electronique (Athènes, Grèce), et à l'Atlantic Center for the Arts (New Smyrna Beach, Floride).

« (…) [Freya Björg] Olafson est une pionnière dans le milieu de la danse au pays. »

Philip Szporer, The Dance Current Magazine

« [Freya Björg] Olafson compte parmi les artistes les plus audacieusement interdisciplinaires de Winnipeg. »

Alison Mayes, Winnipeg Free Press

« [Freya Björg] Olafson a de l’ingéniosité à revendre. »

Sarah Swan, Winnipeg Free Press

« Au nombre des spectacles les plus high-tech et fascinants du festival [Summerworks], ce solo de danse multimédia s’intéresse à l’influence des techniques d’imagerie biomédicale sur notre perception du corps humain. »

Jordan Bimm, Now Magazine

crédits

  • Freya Björg Olafson Choreographe
  • Hugh Conacher

Liens artiste

En savoir plus :
Partenaire diffuseur
Saw Video - Media Art Centre
Menu