October 13, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
Tara Beagan and Andy Moro, ARTICLE 11

Welcome Ceremony

With ARTICLE 11, Aanmitaagzi, and the Mazinikijik Singers

2015-04-29 15:00 2015-04-29 16:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Welcome Ceremony

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/11994

Presented as part of DECLARATION, a celebration of the creation and evolution of art by outstanding Indigenous artists. To mark the opening of both DECLARATION and Ontario Scene, you are invited to a special performance created by ARTICLE 11, AANMITAAGZI, the MAZINIKIJIK SINGERS, and artists from the Ottawa community. Algonquin Elder Annie St. Georges will convene the welcome event with a traditional blessing. DECLARATION is a celebration of Indigenous peoples’ right to engage in the...

Read more

Le Salon,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
3 PM EDT
This event has passed
Tara Beagan and Andy Moro, ARTICLE 11
Theatre Dance Canadian Visual Arts Outreach

Presented as part of DECLARATION, a celebration of the creation and evolution of art by outstanding Indigenous artists.

To mark the opening of both DECLARATION and Ontario Scene, you are invited to a special performance created by ARTICLE 11, AANMITAAGZI, the MAZINIKIJIK SINGERS, and artists from the Ottawa community. Algonquin Elder Annie St. Georges will convene the welcome event with a traditional blessing.

DECLARATION is a celebration of Indigenous peoples’ right to engage in the creation and evolution of arts and culture, as asserted in Article 11 of the 2007 United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples. Created by Toronto-based ARTICLE 11, DECLARATION is an immersive, live, sound and image installation and performance-creation lab that will feature performances by some of Ontario’s most creative Indigenous artists.

ARTICLE 11 founders/directors TARA BEAGAN (Nlaka’pamux/Irish) and ANDY MORO (Euro/Cree) have both been named among NOW Magazine’s top 10 theatre artists. Aanmitaagzi, helmed by storied artists PENNY COUCHIE and SID BOBB, is a professional interdisciplinary arts company from Nipissing First Nation that engages professional artists and community.

JUNO-nominated KEVIN CHIEF (aka Flying Down Thunder) and his daughter AMBER ASP-CHIEF will perform traditional Anishinabe round dance together as the Mazinikijik Singers.

Please note that unauthorized photographs and other recordings are not permitted.

Traditional medicines, including the burning of dried sage, will be used in the Salon throughout DECLARATION.

Tara Beagan and Andy Moro, ARTICLE 11
  • Featuring ARTICLE 11
    Mazinikijik Singers
    Aanmitaagzi
Menu

Le CNA prolonge les annulations et les reports d'événements jusqu'au 14 juin
Tara Beagan et Andy Moro, ARTICLE 11

Cérémonie d’ouverture

Avec ARTICLE 11, Aanmitaagzi, the Mazinikijik Singers

Cet événement est passé
Tara Beagan et Andy Moro, ARTICLE 11
Théâtre Danse Artistes canadiens Arts visuels Outreach

Présenté dans le cadre de DECLARATION, une célébration de la créativité et de l’évolution de la démarche créatrice d’artistes autochtones exceptionnels.

Pour marquer l’inauguration de DECLARATION et de la Scène Ontario, vous êtes invités à un spectacle hors série créé par ARTICLE 11, AANMITAAGZI, les MAZINIKIJIK SINGERS, et des artistes de la communauté d’Ottawa. Annie St. Georges, aînée algonquine, présidera la cérémonie de bienvenue avec une bénédiction traditionnelle.

DECLARATION célèbre le droit des peuples autochtones à assurer l’essor et le renouveau de leurs arts et de leur culture, ainsi que le précise l’Article 11 de la Déclaration des Nations unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones adoptée en 2007. Créée par le collectif de Toronto ARTICLE 11, DECLARATION est une installation immersive, en direct, en son et en image ainsi qu’un laboratoire de création et d’interprétation regroupant des prestations de quelques-uns des artistes autochtones les plus inventifs de l’Ontario.

Les fondateurs et directeurs d’ARTICLE 11, TARA BEAGAN (Nlaka’pamux/Irlandaise) et ANDY MORO (Euro/Cri) ont été cités tous deux dans la liste des « dix artistes de théâtre les plus influents » de NOW Magazine. Aanmitaagzi, sous la houlette de PENNY COUCHIE et SID BOBB, deux artistes chevronnés, est une compagnie artistique professionnelle pluridisciplinaire de la Nipissing First Nation qui collabore avec des artistes professionnels et des membres de la communauté.

KEVIN CHIEF (alias ‘Flying Down Thunder’), en nomination aux prix JUNO, et sa fille AMBER ASP-CHIEF exécuteront une danse ronde anishinabe traditionnelle sous le nom de Mazinikijik.

Veuillez prendre note que les photographies et autres enregistrements non autorisés sont interdits. Des pratiques médicales traditionnelles, dont la combustion de sauge séchée, seront utilisées au Salon pendant toute la durée de DECLARATION.

Tara Beagan et Andy Moro, ARTICLE 11

Artistes

  • Avec ARTICLE 11
    Mazinikijik Singers
    Aanmitaagzi
Menu