Full Eight

Robert Lepage, 887

© Érick Labbé

For theatre omnivores! Experience all the exceptional stories this season with 5 plays in the theatre and 3 plays in the Studio.

As a subscriber, you save 15% or more off the regular price when you order tickets to our Special Presentations, A Christmas Carol and Betroffenheit. These orders are given seating priority before the box office opens to the general public.

  1. Play

    Based on a true story that rocked the diplomatic world, this elegant musical drama chronicles the story of a respected diplomat and a Chinese opera star – lovers who find themselves caught in a web of deceit. When the opera star is revealed as a spy – and a man – the two must face the prospect of their mutual downfall.

    Performed in Mandarin with English surtitles.

    • Music by

      Njo Kong Kie

    • Text by

      Wong Teng Chi

    • Directed by

      Tam Chi Chun

  2. Play

    Celebrated theatre-maker Robert Lepage returns to the NAC with an autobiographical journey through his childhood in a Quebec just beginning to awaken to its own promise. Unable to memorize a poem he must recite, Lepage uses the “memory palace” technique, assigning stanzas to the familiar rooms of his childhood home. With stagecraft that will take your breath away, 887 recreates the world of a young boy growing up in 1960s Quebec.

    • Ex Machina / Robert Lepage

    • Written, designed, directed and performed by

      Robert Lepage

    • English Translation

      Louisa Blair

  3. One afternoon, seven countries, nine stories. Directed by Siminovitch Prize laureate Kim Collier, carried away on the crest of a wave was the 2015 winner of the Governor General’s Award for Drama. David Yee’s stunning play explores the far-reaching impact of the massive 2004 tsunami, in which millions of lives were changed forever in a fury of water and debris, but kept afloat by the serendipity and hope that connects us all.

    • By

      David Yee

    • Directed by

      Kim Collier

    • Costume Designer

      Camellia Koo

  4. After the police shooting of Sammy the DJ, a close-knit music crew struggles to come to terms with the tragedy – personally and professionally. Does the show go on or do they seek revenge? Sal Capone’s seismic hip-hop beats and powerhouse performances use grace and wit to raise a mighty fist to prejudice, homophobia and injustice.

    • By

      Omari Newton

    • Directed by

      Diane Roberts

  5. Based on the novel by Ottawa’s beloved Brian Doyle, Up to Low is the magical and mystical tale of a young boy’s journey to manhood. Twelve-year-old Tommy is on the road with his father and boozy Uncle Frank, heading back to the cabin they haven’t visited since Tommy’s mother died. Filled with deserted farms, smoky taverns and midnight rows upriver, Up to Low captures 1950s Ottawa Valley in a way that is both familiar and brand new.

    • By

      Brian Doyle

    • Adapted for the stage and directed by

      Janet Irwin

    • Featuring

      Pierre Brault, Megan Carty, Attila...

Menu

Les huit pièces

Robert Lepage, 887

© Érick Labbé

Pour les vrais amateurs de théâtre! Découvrez toutes les histoires fascinantes qui composent la nouvelle saison. 5 pièces au Théâtre, 3 au Studio.

En tant qu'abonné, vous économisez 15% ou plus sur le prix régulier des billets des présentations spéciales; A Christmas Carol et Betroffenheit. Ces commandes ont priorité sur le choix des sièges avant que la billetterie rende les billets disponibles au grand public.

  1. Play

    Cet élégant drame musical raconte l’histoire d’un éminent diplomate et d’une star d’opéra chinois qui tombent éperdument amoureux l’un de l’autre, mais s’engluent dans une toile de mensonges et de trahisons. Quand il appert que la star d’opéra se livre à l’espionnage et qu’elle est en fait un homme, tous deux sont confrontés à la perspective de leur chute. 

    Interprété en mandarin avec surtitres anglais.

    • Musique de

      Njo Kong Kie

    • Texte de

      Wong Teng Chi

    • Mise en scène de

      Tam Chi Chun

  2. Play

    L’illustre créateur de théâtre Robert Lepage est de retour au CNA avec un survol autobiographique de son enfance, dans un Québec qui commençait tout juste à prendre conscience de ses possibilités. Ne parvenant pas à mémoriser un poème qu’il doit réciter, Lepage a recours à la technique du « palais de la mémoire », attribuant les différentes strophes du texte aux pièces familières de la maison de son enfance. Avec un art éblouissant, 887 fait renaître l’univers d’un jeune garçon qui grandit dans le Québec des années 1960.

    • Ex Machina / Robert Lepage

    • Texte, conception, mise en scène et interprétation

      Robert Lepage

    • Traduction anglaise

      Louisa Blair

  3. Née d’un après-midi cataclysmique, cette pièce saisissante de David Yee happe des existences et les rejette aussitôt : une métaphore bien trouvée pour évoquer le gigantesque tsunami qui a traversé l’océan Indien en 2004. Des millions de vies ont été changées à jamais, dans une furie aquatique dont l’effet de vague a fait monter à la surface ces récits de vaste portée qui nous entraînent d’un studio de radio de Toronto aux plages de la Thaïlande. carried away on the crest of a wave démontre qu’en dépit de nos différences, nous sommes tous reliés par le hasard, le deuil et l’amour. 

    • De

      David Yee

    • Mise en scène de

      Kim Collier

    • costumes

      Camellia Koo

  4. Cette histoire crue et passionnée du sensationnel dramaturge Omari Newton nous plonge au cœur de l’existence d’un collectif de hip-hop qui tente de se remettre, sur le plan personnel et professionnel, de la mort de son DJ, Sammy, abattu par la police. Avec ses rythmes hip-hop telluriques et ses prestations renversantes, Sal Capone lève un poing majestueux contre les préjugés, l’homophobie et l’injustice, avec beaucoup de grâce et d’esprit.

    • De

      Omari Newton

    • Mise en scène de

      Diane Roberts

  5. Adapté du roman du même titre de Brian Doyle, enfant chéri d’Ottawa, Up to Low est le récit magique et mystique du passage d’un jeune garçon à l’adolescence. Tommy, douze ans, voyage avec son père et Frank, l’ami lunatique de la famille. Ils sont en route vers le chalet où ils ne sont pas retournés depuis que la mère de Tommy est morte. Jalonné de fermes désertées, de tavernes enfumées et d’équipées nocturnes, Up to Low capte l’esprit des années 1950 dans la vallée de l’Outaouais et sur les rives de la Gatineau, dans une perspective à la fois familière et inédite.

    • De

      Brian Doyle

    • Adaptation scénique et mise en scène de

      Janet Irwin

    • avec

      Pierre Brault, Megan Carty, Attila...

Menu