Street closures around NAC during the Ottawa International Jazz Festival

Frequently Asked Questions

  • What kind of work will the Fund invest in?

    The National Creation Fund will invest in projects that meet the following criteria:

    • They are led by Canadian creators in theatre, dance, or music;
    • They are artistically ambitious and compelling;
    • They have a strong artistic team and a strong producing or presenting partner; and
    • They are likely to have a national or international impact.
  • How do I submit a proposal to the National Creation Fund?

    Guidelines for how to submit a proposal may be found here. The National Creation Fund will begin receiving proposals on November 1, 2017.

  • Can I submit, or be associated with, more than one project?

    Yes. While it is unlikely that we would invest in more than one project by an artist or arts organization in any given year, we know that artists may be associated with multiple projects in development, and that some organizations might partner as co-producers or presenters on multiple projects – that’s how bold, ambitious work gets made.

  • If my project is not selected for investment, will I receive feedback as to why?

    Unfortunately we won’t be able to provide detailed feedback on your project in the initial phase of consideration. If we have considered your project for our next phase of selection, we will discuss with you the reasons your project was not ultimately chosen for investment.

  • How are decisions made?

    The National Creation Fund will select projects based on a curatorial process led by the Artistic Producer and a small group at the NAC. We will evaluate projects in three phases. First, they must meet the Fund’s investment criteria. The most compelling of these projects will go through a second phase of consideration that will involve conversations with the artists as well as more detailed artistic and financial information. Finally, we will make investment decisions from among the very best of these projects.

  • What are the deadlines for submissions?

    There are currently no fixed deadlines for submissions – send us your proposal when you and your project are ready. You can submit your proposal any time after November 1, 2017.  

  • When will I know if my proposal is successful?

    We will review proposals as we receive them. You’ll hear from us in four to six weeks whether your project will move forward to the next phase of consideration.  If your project doesn’t meet our criteria, or is not as strong as other submissions, we’ll let you know then.

    If your project makes it past this initial phase, we’ll need more information and will be in touch to start a conversation.  We’re looking to build a relationship with a project and its creators, so we’ll want to get to know you and the work better.

    From there, timing will vary. If your plans are fairly advanced and your teams, partners, and funders are in place, we should be able to make a decision relatively quickly; if your plans are still evolving, so too will our conversations.  Should we decide not to invest in your project, we’ll let you know right away. 

  • Are there upper and lower limits to your investments? Will we be eliminated from consideration if we ask for the “wrong” amount?

    Our plan is to invest $3 million in 15 to 20 projects each year, and these investments will range from tens of thousands to hundreds of thousands of dollars. The National Creation Fund was created to address the funding gap that bold, ambitious projects too often face, by making select significant, game-changing investments in a small number of projects each year. Our intent is not to invest small amounts of money in many projects.

  • Can non-Canadian artists and arts organizations receive funding for projects? What if some members of the creative team, or producing partners, are non-Canadian?

    The Fund will not invest in projects from outside Canada. Our goal is to help develop great work by Canadian artists that will go on to stages at home and abroad. However, we are open to projects that include international artists as members of the creative team, and of international partnerships and co-productions.

Join our Creation Fund email list for the latest updates!

Please enter your first name
Please enter your Last name
Please enter a valid email

You can unsubscribe at any time. Learn more.

Thanks for joining!

Menu

Questions courantes

  • Dans quel genre de projets le Fonds investira-t-il?

    Le Fonds national de création investira dans des projets qui répondent aux critères suivants :

    • menés par des créateurs canadiens en théâtre, en danse ou en musique; 
    • passionnants et ambitieux sur le plan artistique;
    • dotés d’une solide équipe artistique et d’un partenaire de production/partenaire présentateur de haut calibre; 
    • ayant le potentiel de briller sur les scènes nationales ou internationales.
  • Comment peut-on proposer un projet au Fonds national de création?

    Vous trouverez les lignes directrices sur les propositions ici. Les propositions au Fonds national de création seront acceptées à compter du 1er novembre 2017.

  • Peut-on être associé à plus d’une proposition?

    Oui. Bien qu’il soit peu probable que nous investissions, au cours d’une même année, dans plus d’un projet présenté par les mêmes personnes, nous savons que les créateurs et les organisations artistiques sont parfois associés simultanément à plusieurs projets en cours d'élaboration, que ce soit comme collaborateurs, coproducteurs ou coprésentateurs. C’est ainsi qu’on crée des œuvres passionnantes et ambitieuses!

  • Si mon projet n’est pas retenu, me direz-vous pourquoi?

    Si votre projet est éliminé dès la première étape du processus de sélection, nous ne serons malheureusement pas en mesure de vous fournir des explications détaillées. S’il passe la première étape, mais pas la suivante, nous vous expliquerons pourquoi il n’a pas été retenu.

  • Comment prenez-vous les décisions?

    Les projets seront choisis au terme d’un processus de sélection en trois étapes mené par la productrice artistique du Fonds et un petit groupe du CNA. Ils seront d’abord évalués en fonction des critères du Fonds. Les plus intéressants passeront ensuite à la deuxième étape, qui comprend des discussions avec les artistes et des questions plus pointues sur les aspects artistiques et financiers. Nous ferons ensuite notre choix parmi les meilleurs projets.

  • Quelle est la date limite pour envoyer une proposition?

    Aucune date limite n’a encore été établie. Vous pouvez envoyer une proposition en tout temps à compter du 1er novembre 2017.

  • À quel moment saurai-je si ma proposition a été retenue?

    L’examen des propositions se fera en continu. Vous saurez, à l’intérieur de quatre à six semaines, si votre projet passe à la deuxième étape du processus de sélection. S’il ne répond pas à nos critères ou n’est pas assez solide, nous vous le ferons savoir à ce moment. 

    Si votre projet est retenu pour la deuxième étape, nous communiquerons avec vous pour obtenir d’autres renseignements et amorcer un dialogue. Notre but est de bâtir une relation avec le projet et ses créateurs : nous voudrons donc en savoir plus sur vous et sur votre œuvre.

    Après cette étape, les délais varient. Si votre projet est très avancé et que vous avez déjà les équipes, les partenaires et le financement dont vous avez besoin, la décision pourrait se prendre assez rapidement. Si, au contraire, il reste encore beaucoup de choses à déterminer, nos conversations se poursuivront. Toute décision de ne pas investir dans votre projet vous sera communiquée immédiatement.

  • Y a-t-il un seuil minimal/maximal pour les investissements du Fonds?

    Nous voulons investir jusqu’à 3 millions de dollars dans 15 à 20 projets par année. Chaque investissement se situera entre des dizaines et des centaines de milliers de dollars. Le Fonds national de création a été créé pour combler le manque de financement qui nuit souvent aux projets artistiques ambitieux. L’objectif est de faire des investissements déterminants dans un nombre restreint de projets triés sur le volet. Ce n’est pas d’investir de petits montants dans un grand nombre de projets.

  • Les organisations artistiques et artistes étrangers sont-ils admissibles? Que se passe-t-il si des membres de l’équipe artistique ou un partenaire de production ne sont pas d’origine canadienne?

    Le Fonds investit exclusivement dans des projets canadiens. Notre but est d’aider les artistes d’ici à créer des œuvres qui pourront briller à l’échelle du pays et du monde. Toutefois, nous sommes ouverts aux projets dont l’équipe artistique comprend des artistes étrangers ainsi qu’aux projets de coproduction ou de partenariat international.

Menu