Au jardin des Potiniers

Tabletop theatre

© C_Soulanges
© C_Soulanges
© C_Soulanges
  • In-person event

  • Bilingual
  • Ages 6-12

  • Approx. 45 minutes
Performance options Start time Language Availability
Thursday, June 1, 2023 9:30 am Without words Seats available
Thursday, June 1, 2023 11:15 am Without words Seats available
Friday, June 2, 2023 9:30 am Without words Seats available
Friday, June 2, 2023 11:15 am Without words Seats available

“A world in miniature ”

If you've been wanting to visit another planet lately, if you’ve been longing for a change of scene, you absolutely have to see this slightly Martian garden/show! 

You’re invited to find a spot under a curious table/set. You put your head through a hole, and suddenly you’re a living rock in a surreal landscape that unfolds its miniature botany in front of your nose. Now you can listen to the sounds springing up all around you, and watch mechanized plants growing, balloon snails quietly gliding by, delicate foam anemones dancing in the light. However, something is wrong with this eclectic paradise: it seems to be in the grip of a drought. How can we save it? 

This super-intimate show in the form of a visual art installation suspends time to allow us to consider together, with our eyes and ears wide open, the effects of climate change. Like a love poem written with the senses, and addressed to the beauty and fragility of living things. 

Reserve now: only 30 spots available!  

Play without words • Ages 6+

  • Adults

    One free adult chaperone ticket for every 15 student admissions purchased. Special Needs Assistants are admitted free of charge. Any additional chaperones are allowed at the discretion of the National Arts Centre and are charged $9 (HST included). 

  • Payment deadlines

    Full payment is required by the payment deadline (5 weeks before the performance). The NAC reserves the right to cancel any orders submitted but not paid for by the payment deadline.  

  • Seating

    There are no reserved seats for NAC student matinee performances. Instead of tickets you will receive a letter of admission and groups will be seated on a first-come, first-served basis at the performance.  The letter of admission will be issued upon receipt of full payment. 

If you have any questions, please contact us at education@nac-cna.ca

  • Création Dans la Chambre Odile Gamache, Félix-Antoine Boutin, Gabriel Plante, Julie Basse and Émilie Martel 
  • Ersatz Camille Panza, Léonard Cornevin, Noam Rzewski, and Pierre Mercier
  • Production Director (creation) Catherine Comeau
  • Technical Director (creation) David Poisson 
  • Motors built by Linsday Morneau
  • Co-producer Théâtre Nouvelle-Génération (Lyon, France)
  • Partners Commission Internationale du Théâtre Francophone, Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, Conseil des arts du Canada, Conseil des arts de Montréal, Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles, Wallonie-Bruxelles Internationale, Région Grand Est, Institut Français, Bureau International de la Jeunesse  
  • Support Théâtre aux Ecuries – Montréal – Canada, LA SERRE – arts vivants – Montréal – Canada, Montévidéo – Marseille, France, Centre Wallonie-Bruxelles – Paris, France, Le Carreau – Scène nationale de Forbach et de l’Est mosellan, France

Join our email list to stay up-to-date on our Schools and Home Learning programming

Don't forget this field
Don't forget this field
Please include a valid email address

Learning and engagement at Canada’s National Arts Centre is made possible through the support of many generous individuals and organizations from across the country. The Music Alive Program is made possible thanks to the leadership support of National Partner, The Azrieli Foundation, and Major Supporters, The Slaight Family Foundation and TD Bank Group. Thank you also to Grant and Alice Burton, Canada Life, A Donor-Advised Fund at the Community Foundation of Ottawa, Friends of the NAC Orchestra, Donors to the NAC Foundation's Future Fund, The Janice and Earle O’Born Fund for Artistic Excellence, and the donors and sponsors of the NAC’s National Youth and Education Trust, the primary resource for youth and education funding at the National Arts Centre.

Menu

Au jardin des Potiniers

Théâtre maquette

Au jardin des Potiniers © Illustration Pony
© C_Soulanges
© C_Soulanges
© C_Soulanges
  • Événement en personne

  • Bilingue
  • 6 à 12 ans

  • Durée 45 minutes.
Performances Heure de début Langue Disponibilité
jeudi 1 juin 2023 09 h 30 Sans paroles Sièges disponibles
jeudi 1 juin 2023 11 h 15 Sans paroles Sièges disponibles
vendredi 2 juin 2023 09 h 30 Sans paroles Sièges disponibles
vendredi 2 juin 2023 11 h 15 Sans paroles Sièges disponibles

“Minimonde ”

Si tu avais envie de visiter une autre planète ces derniers temps, de vivre un grand dépaysement, il faut absolument oser ce spectacle-jardin un peu martien!  

On t’invite à t’aventurer sous un curieux décor-table, tu passes la tête par un trou, et hop, tu deviens une roche vivante, dans un paysage surréel qui déploie sa botanique miniature à la hauteur de ton nez. Il n’y a plus qu’à écouter les sons qui jaillissent de partout, qu’à observer des végétaux mécanisés qui poussent, des escargots-ballons qui passent tranquillement, de délicates anémones en mousse à tapis qui dansent dans la lumière. Toutefois, quelque chose cloche dans ce paradis éclectique, il semble en proie à la sécheresse. Comment le sauver? 

Ce spectacle extra-intime, en forme d’installation d’art visuel, suspend le temps pour contempler ensemble, avec nos oreilles et nos yeux grand ouverts, les effets des changements climatiques. Comme un poème d’amour écrit avec les sens, et adressé à la beauté et à la fragilité du Vivant.

Faites vite : 30 places seulement!

Sans parole • 6 ans et +

  • Avec Odile Gamache, Gabriel Plante, Camille Panza, Noam Rzewski, Pierre Mercier et Félix-Antoine Boutin
  • Création Dans la Chambre Odile Gamache, Félix-Antoine Boutin, Gabriel Plante, Julie Basse et Émilie Martel
  • Ersatz Camille Panza, Léonard Cornevin, Noam Rzewski et Pierre Mercier
  • Direction de production (création) Catherine Comeau
  • Direction technique (création) David Poisson 
  • Confection des moteurs Linsday Morneau
  • Coproduction Théâtre Nouvelle-Génération (Lyon, France)
  • Partenaires Commission Internationale du Théâtre Francophone, Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, Conseil des arts du Canada, Conseil des arts de Montréal, Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles, Wallonie-Bruxelles Internationale, Région Grand Est, Institut Français, Bureau International de la Jeunesse  
  • Soutien Théâtre aux Ecuries – Montréal – Canada, LA SERRE – arts vivants – Montréal – Canada, Montévidéo – Marseille, France, Centre Wallonie-Bruxelles – Paris, France, Le Carreau – Scène nationale de Forbach et de l’Est mosellan, France

Inscrivez-vous à l’infolettre pour recevoir les nouvelles de nos programmes pour la classe et la maison

N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
Veuillez indiquer une adresse courriel valide

La Médiation culturelle est rendue possible grâce aux généreuses contributions de particuliers et d’organisations de partout au pays. Le programme Vive la musique est rendu possible grâce au soutien de la Fondation Azrieli, partenaire national, ainsi que de la Fondation de la famille Slaight et du Groupe Banque TD, souscripteurs majeurs. Merci également à Grant et Alice Burton, à Canada Vie, à un fonds orienté par le donateur à la Fondation communautaire d’Ottawa, aux Amis de l’Orchestre du CNA, aux donatrices et donateurs du Fonds de l’Avenir de la Fondation du CNA, au Fonds Janice et Earle O’Born pour l’excellence artistique, ainsi qu’aux donatrices, donateurs et commanditaires de la Fiducie nationale pour la jeunesse et l’éducation du CNA, principale source de financement des programmes jeunesse et activités éducatives du Centre national des Arts.

Menu