Conducting 101

The Right Hand

Part 2 / 6

The right hand as the foundation of conducting. Tempo, entries, phrasing and dynamic are covered as well proper posture and how to use the baton. 

The technique of this hand gives the tempo, it gives entries, it gives phrasing, it gives dynamic and we're going to start off looking at how it all breaks down. The very foundations of right hand stick technique.

There are many many fine conductors who work without a baton using solely their hands. And there are many techniques that can be developed that make the hands a very useful tool. And indeed, many of the most fundamental parts of conducting technique can work either with a hand or with a baton.

When we use the baton however, which is what I'll be doing throughout all of these videos. We need to understand on the one hand it's an extension of the gestures that we make with our arm. And is also a tool in itself, that we can use from the fingers to be expressive. But first and foremost, it's a focal point for musicians right here at the tip of the baton; to understand the color, the dynamic, the tempo, the expression of what it is that you're trying to indicate.

And if we use it correctly the baton offers us an almost unending palette of different ways to express ourselves as conductors.

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour de novembre 2020.
Direction d’orchestre 101

La main droite

Vidéo 2 / 6

La main droite comme fondation de la direction. Le tempo, les entrées, le phrasé et la dynamique sont abordés, ainsi que la bonne posture et l’utilisation de la baguette.

C’est la technique de cette main qui donne le tempo, les entrées, la formulation et la dynamique. Nous allons commencer par décortiquer le tout pour explorer les fondements mêmes de la technique de la main droite.

Il existe plusieurs grands chefs d’orchestre qui travaillent sans baguette, en utilisant uniquement leurs mains. Et plusieurs techniques peuvent être développées pour faire des mains un outil indispensable. En effet, plusieurs des composantes fondamentales de la technique de direction d’orchestre peuvent être exécutées avec la main ou avec la baguette.   

Lorsqu’on utilise la baguette, toutefois, comme je le ferai tout au long de ces vidéos, on doit garder certains éléments en tête. D’abord, c’est un prolongement des gestes que l’on fait avec le bras. C’est également un outil en soi qui peut être manipulé du bout des doigts pour être plus expressif. Mais d’abord et avant tout, c’est un point focal pour les musiciens, ici au bout de la baguette. Pour comprendre la couleur, la dynamique, le tempo, l’expression de ce qu’on cherche à communiquer.

Utilisée correctement, la baguette offre une palette presque infinie de façons de s’exprimer comme chef d’orchestre.

Menu