November 2020 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
Conducting 101

Preparing a Score

Video 6 / 6

Welcome back to these videos on conducting technique and preparing for working with orchestras.

I've moved away from conducting technique per se, and we're going to talk a little bit about preparing scores.

Now if you have to hand a score of Eine Kleine Nachtmusik by Mozart, one of his most famous pieces, please do get it out so you have it in front of you while I talk a little bit about preparing for a rehearsal. And how as a conductor you need to think about preparing a score.

Within just this first page you have a structural happening; the move from the home key of G major to the second subject key of D major. You have a whole lot of decisions to make about the articulation and the shaping of the phrasing. 

Do you want a little bit softer edged? Or more marcato? Is this a piano with vibrato is it a piano without vibrato? Or, is there nuance within there? Are the elements that you would like to have vibrated more or less? Are there particular fingerings that you would like to have included?

These are all elements that you can think of and prepare. And finally, once you have all those ideas clear in your mind, think about ways that you can indicate them without having to talk about them. Find gestures to indicate the kind of forté that you want, the kind of articulation you want, the kind sostenuto you want. Even the kind of sound you want. Whether you want vibrato or non-vibrato. You can indicate all of these things.

I hope this was a useful introduction to how to break down and analyze, even just one page, of a score and that you can put that into practice with the ensembles that you're working with.

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 13 octobre 2021.

Rebienvenue à ces vidéos portant sur la technique de direction d’orchestre et comment se préparer à travailler avec des orchestres.

Je me suis éloigné de la direction d’orchestre comme tel, et nous allons parler un peu de préparer des partitions.  

Si vous avez une partition de Eine Kleine Nachtmusik de Mozart, l’un de ses morceaux les plus célèbres, assurez-vous de l’avoir à portée de main pendant que j’explique un peu comment se préparer pour une répétition. Et comment, en tant que chef d’orchestre, vous devez penser à préparer une partition.

Uniquement dans cette première page nous avons un glissement structurel; le déplacement de la tonalité initiale de sol majeur au deuxième sujet du ré majeur. Vous avez toute une série de décisions à prendre au sujet de l’articulation et de la forme du phrasé.

Voulez-vous un peu plus doux? Ou plus marcato? Est-ce un piano avec vibrato? Est-ce un piano sans vibrato? Ou y a-t-il des nuances là? Y a-t-il des éléments que vous aimeriez voir vibrer plus, ou moins? Y a-t-il des doigtés particuliers que vous souhaitez voir inclus?

Ce sont tous des éléments auxquels vous pouvez songer et vous préparer. Et enfin, une fois que toutes ces idées seront claires dans votre esprit, pensez à des façons dont vous pouvez les indiquer sans en parler directement. Trouvez des gestes pour indiquer le type de forte souhaité, le type d’articulation souhaité, le type de sostenuto souhaité. Même le type de son souhaité. Si vous voulez vibrato ou non-vibrato. Vous pouvez indiquer toutes ces choses.

J’espère que ceci aura été une introduction utile à comment déconstruire et analyser, ne serait-ce qu’une page, d’une partition et que vous pourrez le mettre en pratique auprès des ensembles avec lesquels vous travaillez.

Menu