NAC Indigenous Theatre

Launching in 2019

June 1, 2017

May Newsletter

National Thought Table on Truth and Reconciliation
National Thought Table on Truth and Reconciliation
Sharon Bajer, Cory Wojcik, Andrea del Campo, Myles A. Taylor and Braiden Houle in Kill Me Now
Sharon Bajer, Cory Wojcik, Andrea del Campo, Myles A. Taylor and Braiden Houle in Kill Me Now © Dylan Hewlett

May is the time of the Tulip Festival in Ottawa, they are everywhere! But it is also a major ramp up to summer and the announcement of the Artistic Director for the Indigenous Theatre at the NAC.  Here are some of things that happened with Indigenous Theatre this month.

Our Advisory Committee has been working together since last spring. Dave Jenniss, Jesse Wabegijig, Reneltta Arluk, Kenneth T. Williams and Elder Annie Smith St. Georges met this month to organize for the upcoming announcement of the new AD planned for June 15. Details are still being worked on and, at time of writing, the candidate for the position is still unknown. We are all hoping that we will be able to find out who this new leader will be on June 15. We will do our best to send more information as soon as we have it.

During the month Lindsay Lachance in collaboration with Lesley and Sarah, continued to work toward: A Gathering: Experiencing Indigenous Works - Developing Critical Voices. We hope you will join this event taking take place on unceded Algonquin territory at the NAC on Thursday, June 15th 2017  from 1pm-6pm and Friday, June 16th 2017 from 9am-noon in the Salon. If you have any questions regarding this event please contact:  lesley.parlane@nac-cna.ca 

Lesley Parlane attended  The Recognize Workshop Series. This was a  Toronto gathering organized by the Indigenous Performing Arts Alliance. The workshop was designed to: “share our findings on the process and protocols surrounding land acknowledgements. Over the past year we have been developing relationships with communities that are frequently recognized as original caretakers of what is now called Toronto. The day was devoted to exploring the complexities of land acknowledgements through conversation, art, and sharing.” The workshop was facilitated by Falen Johnson and a performances by The Six Nations Women’s Singers. Plains Cree Elder Pauline Shirt was in attendance to speak about stewardship and to give the opening and closing prayers to the day.

Sarah Garton Stanley directed Brad Fraser’s Kill Me Now. The show was an NAC English Theatre co-presentation of The Royal Manitoba Theatre Production. Braiden Houle, a First Nations actor from Winnipeg, MB, and a recent graduate of Studio 58 in Vancouver made his NAC debut. Before Vancouver, Braiden also trained at the Manitoba Theatre for Young People Aboriginal Arts Training and Mentorship Program.

On Wednesday, May 10th in the NAC’s Studio the National Thought Table on Truth and Reconciliation took place. We were in attendance.  It was moderated by Candy Palmater and with Thought Leaders: Chief Robert Joseph, O.B.C, Victoria Grant, ICD.D, Emmanuel Jal, Senator the Honourable Ratna Omidvar, C.M., O.Ont., The Honourable Perrin Beatty, Senator the Honourable Renée Dupuis, C.M., Ad. E. Post show; Lesley Parlane offered her thoughts on reconciliation for a soon to be released feature documentary about the event.

Sarah Garton Stanley attended the 20th Annual Canadian Arts Summit, CultureNEXT, May 12-14, 2017 at Confederation Centre of the Arts, Charlottetown, PEI to speak as a panelist on Exploring Wise Practices: How can institutions foster authentic relationships with Indigenous artists? The session was moderated by Brian Calliou with Reneltta Arluk, Alan Greyeyes, and Michele Stanners and Mike deGagne also spoke.  

Lesley Parlane attended the International Society for Performing Arts(ISPA) 100th Congress in Montreal, QC. Inuit artist Elisapie Issac spoke about her challenges as an Inuit artist at the Conference. Sarah Garton Stanley attended The Professional Association of Canadian Theatre (PACT) in Charlottetown, PEI and spoke during  an opening panel with Nina Lee Aquino (Factory Theatre) and Keith Barker (NEPA). Michele Decottignies and Cole Alvis continued their work (along with Donna-Michelle St Bernard) on the All IN initiative that was developed through the Equity, Diversity and Inclusion committee (EDI).

We look forward to filling you in on all that we can on our next newsletter. In the meantime... If you have any questions about anything at all please contact:  lesley.parlane@nac-cna.ca

‹ Back to timeline
Menu

Théâtre autochtone CNA

1 juin 2017

Bulletin du mois de mai

La Table de réflexion nationale sur la réconciliation
La Table de réflexion nationale sur la réconciliation
Sharon Bajer, Cory Wojcik, Andrea del Campo, Myles A. Taylor et Braiden Houle dans Kill Me Now
Sharon Bajer, Cory Wojcik, Andrea del Campo, Myles A. Taylor et Braiden Houle dans Kill Me Now © Dylan Hewlett

Le mois de mai à Ottawa est synonyme du Festival des tulipes – on en voit partout! Il s’agit également d’un tremplin vers l’été et le dévoilement du nom du directeur artistique du Théâtre autochtone du CNA. Voici un aperçu des activités liées au Théâtre autochtone qui ont eu lieu ce mois-ci.

Notre comité consultatif est en place depuis le printemps dernier. Dave Jenniss, Jesse Wabegijig, Reneltta Arluk, Kenneth T. Williams et l’aînée Annie Smith St. Georges se sont réunis afin d’organiser l’annonce du nouveau DA, prévue le 15 juin. Les détails doivent être finalisés et, au moment d’écrire ce bulletin, le titulaire du poste était encore inconnu. Nous espérons tous pouvoir apprendre qui sera ce nouveau dirigeant le 15 juin. Nous déploierons tous les efforts possibles pour diffuser de plus amples renseignements dès que nous en aurons.

Lindsay Lachance a collaboré avec Lesley et Sarah dans le cadre du projet Rassemblement : L’expérience des œuvres autochtones – Développer un discours critique. Nous espérons que vous prendrez part à cet événement qui aura lieu sur un territoire algonquin qui n’a pas été cédé, soit au Salon du CNA, le jeudi 15 juin de 13 h à 18 h, et le vendredi 16 juin de 9 h à 12 h. Si vous avez des questions sur cet événement, envoyez-les par courriel à lesley.parlane@nac-cna.ca.

Lesley Parlane a participé à la série d’ateliers The Recognize Workshop Series, un rassemblement organisé par l’Indigenous Performing Arts Alliance à Toronto. L’atelier a été conçu pour « partager les connaissances sur les processus et les protocoles entourant la reconnaissance des territoires. Au cours de la dernière année, des liens ont été établis avec des communautés qui sont souvent considérées comme étant les premières protectrices de ce qui est maintenant appelé Toronto. La journée a été consacrée à l’exploration des complexités de la reconnaissance des territoires par la voie de la conversation, de l’art et du partage. » L’atelier a été animé par Falen Johnson et les Six Nations Women’s Singers y ont fait une prestation. Pauline Shirt, une aînée crie des plaines, était également présente pour discuter d’intendance et pour offrir les prières de début et de fin de la journée.

Sarah Garton Stanley a mis en scène la pièce Kill Me Now de Brad Fraser, une production du Royal Manitoba Theatre, en coprésentation avec le Théâtre anglais du CNA. Braiden Houle, un acteur autochtone de Winnipeg (Manitoba) récemment diplômé du Studio 58 de Vancouver, y a fait ses débuts au CNA. Avant Vancouver, Braiden a suivi le programme de formation et de mentorat en arts de la scène autochtones du Manitoba Theatre for Young People.

La Table de réflexion nationale sur la réconciliation a eu lieu le mercredi 10 mai dans le Studio du CNA. Nous étions présents. Elle était animée par Candy Palmater et les leaders visionnaires présents étaient les suivants : Chef Robert Joseph, O.B.C.; Victoria Grant, IAS.A; Emmanuel Jal; l’honorable Ratna Omidvar, C.M., O.Ont; l’honorable Perrin Beatty; et l’honorable Renée Dupuis, C.M., Ad. E. Par la suite, Lesley Parlane a partagé ses pensées sur la réconciliation; elles seront ajoutées à un documentaire portant sur l’événement, qui sera disponible sous peu.

Sarah Garton Stanley a participé au 20e Sommet canadien des arts, CultureNEXT, qui a eu lieu du 12 au 14 mai 2017 au Centre des arts de la Confédération, à Charlottetown (Î.-P.-É.). Elle était l’une des participantes à la discussion intitulée « Analyser les bonnes pratiques : Comment les institutions peuvent‑elles encourager des relations authentiques avec les artistes autochtones? » La discussion était animée par Brian Calliou et y ont contribué Reneltta Arluk, Alan Greyeyes, Michele Stanners et Mike DeGagné.  

Lesley Parlane a assisté au 100e congrès de l’International Society for Performing Arts (ISPA) qui a eu lieu à Montréal (Québec), au cours duquel l’artiste inuite Elisapie Issac a partagé les défis auxquels elle fait face en tant qu’artiste inuite. Sarah Garton Stanley a quant à elle participé à la conférence de la Professional Association of Canadian Theatre (PACT) à Charlottetown (Î.-P.-É.) et a présenté une allocution dans le cadre d’un panel d’ouverture en collaboration avec Nina Lee Aquino (Factory Theatre) et Keith Barker (NEPA). Michele Decottignies et Cole Alvis continuent de faire progresser (en collaboration avec Donna-Michelle St Bernard) l’initiative All IN, conçue par le Comité sur l’équité, la diversité et l’inclusion (EDI).

Nous avons hâte de vous transmettre autant d’information que nous le pourrons dans notre prochain bulletin.

D’ici là, si vous avez des questions sur quoi que ce soit, communiquez avec Lesley Parlane par courriel à lesley.parlane@nac-cna.ca

‹ Retour aux mises à jour
Menu