WolfGANG Session #19

Chamber Music at Club SAW

2023-03-31 21:00 2023-03-31 22:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: WolfGANG Session #19

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/33531

In-person event

WolfGANG Sessions at Club SAW is a night of music that is sure to entertain. Grab your adventurous friends and take them out for a wild night of Chamber Music with your favourite musicians from the NAC Orchestra.

Read more

Club SAW,67 Nicholas Street,Ottawa,Canada
Friday, March 31, 2023
9 PM EDT

Program

Last updated: March 24, 2023

ESA-PEKKA SALONEN Homunculus for string quartet 

ANDREW STANILAND Flute vs Flute for two flutes 

KIMMO HAKOLA A même les échos I for solo violin 

VALENTIN SILVESTROV Postlude for solo violin 

FREYA WALEY-COHEN Snap Dragon for string quartet 

Repertoire

Esa-Pekka Salonen

Homunculus for string quartet

Esa-Pekka Salonen’s (b. 1958) restless innovation drives him constantly to reposition classical music in the 21st century. He is known as both a composer and conductor and is currently the Music Director of the San Francisco Symphony. He is Conductor Laureate for London’s Philharmonia Orchestra, where he was Principal Conductor & Artistic Advisor from 2008 until 2021; the Los Angeles Philharmonic, where he was Music Director from 1992 until 2009; and the Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra. He is currently in the midst of Multiverse Esa-Pekka Salonen, a two-season residency as both composer and conductor, at Elbphilharmonie Hamburg. Salonen co-founded—and from 2003 until 2018 served as the Artistic Director for—the annual Baltic Sea Festival. The recipient of many major awards, Esa-Pekka Salonen was most recently, in 2020, appointed an honorary Knight Commander of the Order of the British Empire (KBE). 

Homunculus is a short work for string quartet that Salonen had written during the autumn of 2007 for the Johannes Quartet. The ensemble performed the world premiere in 2008. In the composer’s words:

“I wanted to compose a piece that would be very compact in form and duration, but still contain many different characters and textures. In other words, a little piece that behaves like a big piece. 
 
“In Homunculus, the four main characters (in order of appearance) are: “Scherzo”, irregularly pulsating, jagged music; “Slow movement”, a continuous metamorphosis of an easily identifiable slow phrase; “Main movement”, an intricate mid-tempo web of four voices densely woven together; and “Chorale”, a static, somewhat melancholy progression of chords. These characters, which in a traditional string quartet form would each form their own movement, are here interrupted by each other, and interspersed throughout the single movement of Homunculus. They keep developing and changing throughout the piece however, so when a character reappears it is rarely, if ever, an exact repetition of a previous appearance. 
 
“At the end the “Scherzo” music brings the piece to a violent climax on a C major chord in an impossibly high register followed by a long glissando down. All the other characters appear one more time. Homunculus ends with a prolonged chorale which in my ears sounds somewhat sad and deeply nostalgic. 
 
“The title of the piece refers to the arcane spermists’ theory, who held the belief that the sperm was in fact a “little man” (homunculus) that was placed inside a woman for growth into a child. This seemed, to them, to neatly explain many of the mysteries of conception. 
 
“I decided to call my piece Homunculus despite the obvious weaknesses of the 17th century theory, as my goal was to write a small-scale piece that would nevertheless contain all the elements of a “fully grown” string quartet.” 

Andrew Staniland

Flute vs Flute for two flutes

Described as a “new music visionary” (National Arts Centre), composer Andrew Staniland (b. 1977) has established himself as one of Canada’s most important and innovative musical voices. His music is performed and broadcast internationally and has been described by Alex Ross in The New Yorker as “alternately beautiful and terrifying”. Important accolades include three JUNO nominations, an East Coast Music Association award, the 2016 Terra Nova Young Innovators Award, the National Grand Prize winner of EVOLUTION (presented in 2009 by CBC Radio 2 / Espace Musique and The Banff Centre), and was the recipient of the Karen Keiser Prize in Canadian Music in 2004. As a leading composer of his generation, Andrew has been recognized by election to the Inaugural Cohort of the College of New Scholars, Artists, and Scientists Royal Society of Canada. He also performs as a guitarist and with new media (computers and electronics), and is currently on faculty at Memorial University in St. John’s, Newfoundland, where he founded MEARL (Memorial ElectroAcoustic Research Lab).

Staniland wrote Flute vs Flute in 2012. He describes it as a “capricious flute duet, or perhaps even a flute contest” and that it’s written to be “virtuosic, light, capricious, competitive, and fun, and meant to stand in contrast with the reams upon reams of contemporary art music that is perhaps too often devoid of these traits.” The flutes duel playfully with a range of traditional and extended playing techniques, the latter including key slaps and clicks, jet whistles, breathy sounds, and lip pops with key noises. It opens with a “theatrically competitive” section, after which there’s a “haunting and expressive” central episode, then closes with an “increasingly frantic” drive to the finish. 

Kimmo Hakola

A même les échos I for solo violin

Finnish composer Kimmo Hakola (b. 1958) studied at the Sibelius Academy under Einojuhani Rautavaara and Eero Hämeenniemi. He entered the limelight at the end of the 1980s after winning the international Rostrum Prize in 1987 with his String Quartet, and again in 1991 for his Capriole for bass clarinet and cello. His music, so far, encompasses six operas, a wide range of orchestral works including several concertos for various solo instruments (clarinet, oboe, flute, electric kantele, guitar, violin), two oratorios, vocal and choral music, and chamber works (four string quartets, a clarinet quintet, a wind quintet, among others). Hakola’s music has been performed at several major music events and festivals, such as the Stockholm International Composer’s Festival in 2008, and portrait concerts of his works have been held in Los Angeles (Monday Evening Concerts) and in New York (Miller Theatre, Broadway).

Hakola has said his music is “pluralistic”, encompassing the “totality” of the tradition he grew up in, which “contains everything from Renaissance music to more recent music.” As Finnish music publisher Fennica Gehrman describes further, Hakola’s music “is known for its exciting dramaturgy and imagination since he views the world with an endlessly curious attitude. There are sudden and unexpected shifts in his musical landscapes as well as occasional surprises that act as additional dimensions for raising the music as an experience to a new and unpredictable level.” Notably, “Connections to musicians whose art has deeply spoken to Hakola have resulted in several works which are examples of his communicative style.”

Violinist John Storgårds is one of those musicians for whom Hakola has created works, such as this A même les echos I, which Storgårds originally premiered in April 1988. The piece unfolds with ferocity and blistering intensity, as the violinist performs virtuosic musical feats of Paganini-esque daring, playing traditional and extended techniques (including noises beyond the instrument, such as foot stamping) to create, says the composer, a “very wild and complex” musical experience.

VALENTIN SILVESTROV

Postlude for solo violin

Ukraine-born Valentin Silvestrov (b. 1937) is among today’s distinguished composers. During the 1960s, he was one of the leading representatives of the “Kiev avant-garde”, whose music had been ferociously criticized by the conservative Soviet establishment. His works were then rarely played in his native city but a small and dedicated group of proponents insured they were performed, when possible, in Russia or in the West. Circumstances eventually shifted and the composer and his music became an established presence in his home country as well as at numerous international festivals. In 2017, Silvestrov celebrated his 80th birthday with many concerts across the world featuring his works spanning a broad range of genres, including nine symphonies (to date), and many concertos, chamber works, and choral pieces. In March 2022, he fled to Germany, where he currently lives, due to the (still on-going) Russian war on Ukraine. 

Silvestrov has come to call his compositional style “meta-music”, declaring that, “I do not write new music. My music is a response to and an echo of what already exists.” This perspective applies to his thinking about the coda—the closing section of a musical work—as an echo or allusion to what has already been said before. Thus, more than just being the end, Silvestrov considers the coda to be “one of the most important parts of a composition, or at least just as important as the other sections,” as music critic and Silvestrov specialist Tatjana Frumkis has explained. She further notes, “His cantatas and symphonies all have lengthy codas, and so do his songs, in which postludes sometimes seem to take on a life of their own. These lingering ‘postludes’ subsequently evolved to form a new genre.” 

This Postlude for solo violin (1981) is the second of a triptych of postludes for various instruments that Silvestrov composed in 1981 and 1982. Muted throughout, the violin plays a lyrical Baroque-style improvisation, cycling twice through a theme that proceeds in fragments, like an eroded echo of the original melody. The theme becomes its own postlude after which the violin bursts into a virtuosic toccata, featuring quicksilver runs and arpeggios and its own insistent melodic motif. Later, the lyrical music returns, but this time, its progress is intermittently interrupted by the dazzling elements of the toccata.

FREYA WALEY-COHEN

Snap Dragon for string quartet

Described as “at once intimate and visionary,” British-American composer Freya Waley-Cohen’s music is characterized by contrasts between earthy rhythmic play and fragility, luminous spaces, and a sense of the otherworldly. Many of her recent works play with myths, magic, and the occult as lenses through which to look at the contemporary world. Waley-Cohen’s music has been commissioned by institutions and ensembles including the Los Angeles Philharmonic, BBC Proms, Wigmore Hall, Philharmonia Orchestra, London Chamber Orchestra, Britten Sinfonia, The King’s Singers, The Hermes Experiment, and the Royal Academy of Music, as well as the Aldeburgh, Presteigne, Santa Fe, and Cheltenham festivals, and has been released on the Signum, Nimbus, Nonclassical, Delphian, and NMC recording labels. 

Commissioned by the Santa Fe Chamber Music Festival, Waley-Cohen (b. 1989) composed Snap Dragon for string quartet in 2017 and the Flux Quartet performed the world premiere in August of that year at the New Mexico Museum of Art. As she explains, the name of the work comes from the “vibrantly coloured and somewhat toxic flower named for looking a little like a dragon’s face.” Musically, the piece “plays with the idea of lively conversations between close friends as a starting point for musical structure; often playful, sometimes switching between topics unexpectedly in the excitement of shared ideas, sometimes heating up in debate, and easily diffused by a friendly joke. This string quartet brings out the interplay between the individual performers as soloists and as an ensemble in this piece, allowing moments where the individuals can pull apart from each other before coming back together.”

Program notes compiled and written by Hannah Chan-Hartley, PhD 

Artists

  • violin Jessica Linnebach
  • emily-kruspeportait
    violin Emily Kruspe
  • carissa-klopoushak
    violin & viola Carissa Klopoushak
  • rachel-mercer
    cello Rachel Mercer
  • flute Stephanie Morin
  • flute Lara Deutsch
  • Special guest - violin John Storgårds

Session WolfGANG #19

Musique de chambre au Club SAW

2023-03-31 21:00 2023-03-31 22:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Session WolfGANG #19

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/33531

Événement en personne

Les Sessions WolfGANG au Club SAW sont des concerts qui ne manquent pas de mordant. Invitez vos amis les plus aventureux et embarquez-les dans une soirée de Musique de Chambre surprenante avec vos musiciens préférés de l'Orchestre du CNA.

Read more

Club SAW ,67 rue Nicholas,Ottawa
vendredi 31 mars 2023
21 h HAE

Programme

Dernière mise à jour: 24 mars 2023

ESA-PEKKA SALONEN Homunculus pour quatuor à cordes 

ANDREW STANILAND Flute vs Flute pour deux flûtes 

KIMMO HAKOLA A même les échos I pour violon seul

VALENTIN SILVESTROV Postlude pour violon seul 

FREYA WALEY-COHEN Snap Dragon pour quatuor à cordes 

Répertoire

Esa-Pekka Salonen

Homunculus pour quatuor à cordes

Esa-Pekka Salonen (né en 1958) ne cesse d’innover et de repositionner la musique classique au XXIe siècle. Réputé à la fois comme compositeur et en tant que chef d’orchestre, il occupe actuellement le poste de directeur musical de l’Orchestre symphonique de San Francisco. Il est chef d’orchestre lauréat du Philharmonia Orchestra de Londres, dont il a été chef principal et conseiller artistique de 2008 à 2021, de l’Orchestre philharmonique de Los Angeles, dont il a été le directeur musical de 1992 à 2009, et de l’Orchestre symphonique de la radio suédoise. Il est présentement à mi-parcours du Multiverse Esa-Pekka Salonen, une résidence de deux saisons à titre de compositeur et chef d’orchestre à l’Elbphilharmonie de Hambourg. Il a cofondé le Festival annuel de la mer Baltique, dont il a assuré la direction artistique de 2003 à 2018. Lauréat de nombreux prix prestigieux, il a été nommé récemment, en 2020, Chevalier Commandeur honoraire de l’Ordre de l’Empire britannique (KBE). 

 Homunculus est une courte pièce pour quatuor à cordes qu’Esa-Pekka Salonen a écrite à l’automne 2007 pour le Quatuor Johannes. L’ensemble en a donné la création mondiale en 2008. Le compositeur l’évoque en ces termes :

« Je voulais composer une pièce très compacte dans sa forme et sa durée, mais qui n’en contiendrait pas moins plusieurs textures et ‘personnages’ distincts. Autrement dit, une petite pièce qui se comporte comme une grande. 
 
« Dans Homunculus, les quatre principaux ‘personnages’ (par ordre d’apparition) sont le Scherzo, une musique irrégulière et déchiquetée; le Mouvement lent, métamorphose continue d’une phrase lente aisément identifiable; le Mouvement principal, réseau complexe densément tissé de quatre voix sur un tempo moyen; et le Choral, une progression statique et quelque peu mélancolique d’accords. Ces ‘personnages’ qui, dans un quatuor à cordes traditionnel, formeraient chacun leur propre mouvement, sont ici interrompus les uns par les autres et intercalés dans l’unique mouvement d’Homunculus. Cependant, ils ne cessent de se développer et de changer tout au long de la pièce, de sorte que lorsqu’un personnage réapparaît, il s’agit rarement, voire jamais, d’une répétition exacte de son apparition précédente. 
 
« À la fin, la musique du Scherzo amène la pièce à un point culminant explosif sur un accord de do majeur, dans un registre incroyablement aigu, suivi d’un long glissando descendant. Tous les autres personnages réapparaissent une fois de plus. Homunculus se termine par un choral prolongé qui, à mes oreilles, rend un son un peu triste et profondément nostalgique. 
 
« Le titre de la pièce fait référence à la théorie obscure des spermatistes, qui croyaient que le sperme était en fait un ‘petit homme’ (homoncule) placé à l’intérieur d’une femme pour qu’il grandisse et devienne un enfant. À leurs yeux, cette théorie expliquait parfaitement les nombreux mystères de la conception. 
 
« J’ai décidé d’intituler ma pièce Homunculus, malgré les faiblesses évidentes de la théorie du XVIIe siècle, car mon but était d’écrire une composition de taille modeste qui contiendrait néanmoins tous les éléments d’un quatuor à cordes ‘à part entière’. » 

Andrew Staniland

Flute vs Flute pour deux flûtes

Dépeint comme un « visionnaire de la musique nouvelle » (Centre national des Arts), le compositeur Andrew Staniland (né en 1977) s’est imposé comme l’une des voix musicales les plus importantes et les plus novatrices du Canada. Sa musique est jouée et diffusée dans le monde entier, et elle a été décrite par Alex Ross dans The New Yorker comme « tour à tour belle et terrifiante ». Il a reçu d’importantes récompenses, notamment trois nominations aux prix JUNO, un prix de l’Association de la musique de la Côte est (AMCE), le prix Terra Nova 2016 des jeunes innovateurs, le grand prix national d’EVOLUTION (présenté en 2009 par CBC Radio 2/Espace Musique et le Centre Banff), et le prix Karen Keiser de musique canadienne en 2004. Au nombre des compositeurs les plus en vue de sa génération, il a été élu au sein de la cohorte inaugurale du Collège de nouveaux chercheurs et créateurs en art et en science de la Société royale du Canada. Il se produit également en tant que guitariste et avec les nouveaux médias (ordinateurs et lutherie électronique), et fait actuellement partie du corps professoral de l’Université Memorial à St. John’s, Terre-Neuve, où il a fondé le MEARL (Memorial ElectroAcoustic Research Lab).

Andrew Staniland a écrit l’œuvre Flute vs Flute en 2012. Il la décrit comme un « capricieux duo de flûtes, ou peut-être même un concours de flûtes » et la qualifie de « virtuose, légère, capricieuse, compétitive et amusante, et destinée à contraster avec la pléthore de musique sérieuse contemporaine qui est, trop souvent peut-être, dépourvue de ces caractéristiques. » Les flûtes s’affrontent de manière ludique avec une gamme de techniques de jeu traditionnelles et étendues, ces dernières comprenant des percussions de clés, des sifflets à jet (jet-whistles), des sons éoliens, et des slaps avec des bruits de clés. Elle s’ouvre sur une section « dramatiquement compétitive », suivie d’un épisode central « obsédant et expressif », avant de s’achever dans un élan « de plus en plus frénétique ». 

Kimmo Hakola

A même les échos I pour violon seul 

Le compositeur finlandais Kimmo Hakola (né en 1958) a étudié à l’Académie Sibelius auprès d’Einojuhani Rautavaara et d’Eero Hämeenniemi. Il s’est fait connaître à la fin des années 1980 après avoir remporté le prix international Rostrum, en 1987 avec son Quatuor à cordes, puis en 1991 avec sa Capriole pour clarinette basse et violoncelle. À ce jour, son catalogue comprend six opéras, un large éventail d’œuvres orchestrales, dont plusieurs concertos pour divers instruments solistes (clarinette, hautbois, flûte, kantele électrique, guitare, violon), deux oratorios, de la musique vocale et chorale, ainsi que des œuvres de chambre (quatre quatuors à cordes, un quintette de clarinettes, un quintette à vent, entre autres). Sa musique a été jouée dans le cadre de plusieurs événements et festivals musicaux majeurs, dont le festival international des compositeurs de Stockholm en 2008, et des « concerts-portraits » de ses œuvres ont été organisés à Los Angeles (Monday Evening Concerts) et à New York (Miller Theatre, Broadway).

Le compositeur présente sa musique comme étant « pluraliste », englobant la « totalité » de la tradition dans laquelle il a grandi, laquelle « contient tout, de la musique de la Renaissance à la musique plus récente ». Comme le souligne l’éditeur de musique finlandais Fennica Gehrman, la musique de Kimmo Hakola « est connue pour son caractère théâtral et sa fascinante inventivité, car il pose sur le monde un regard d’une insatiable curiosité. Ses paysages musicaux présentent des changements soudains et inattendus ainsi que des surprises occasionnelles qui ajoutent des dimensions supplémentaires pour élever la musique à des hauteurs inouïes et déroutantes. » Notamment, « les contacts avec des musiciens dont l’art a profondément interpellé [Kimmo] Hakola ont abouti à plusieurs œuvres qui sont autant d’exemples de son style communicatif. »

John Storgårds est l’un des musiciens pour lesquels M. Hakola a composé des œuvres, comme À même les échos  I, que le violoniste a créée en avril 1988. La pièce se déploie avec férocité et une intensité foudroyante, le violon réalisant des prouesses musicales virtuoses d’une audace digne de Paganini, jouant de techniques traditionnelles et étendues (y compris des sons produits sans l’instrument, comme la podorythmie) pour créer, dans les mots du compositeur, une expérience musicale à la fois « déchaînée et subtile ».

VALENTIN SILVESTROV

Postlude pour violon seul

Né en Ukraine en 1937, Valentin Silvestrov est l’un des plus éminents compositeurs de notre temps. Dans les années 1960, il comptait parmi les principaux représentants de l’« avant-garde de Kiev », dont la musique avait été férocement critiquée par l’establishment soviétique conservateur. Ses œuvres étaient alors rarement interprétées dans sa ville natale, mais un petit groupe de partisans dévoués veillait à ce qu’elles soient jouées, dans la mesure du possible, en Russie ou à l’Ouest. Les circonstances ont fini par changer, et le compositeur et sa musique se sont imposés dans son pays d’origine ainsi que dans de nombreux festivals internationaux. En 2017, M. Silvestrov a célébré son 80e anniversaire en donnant de nombreux concerts à travers le monde pour présenter ses œuvres, lesquelles couvrent un large éventail de genres dont neuf symphonies (à ce jour) et de nombreux concertos, œuvres de chambre et pièces chorales. En mars 2022, il s’est réfugié en Allemagne, où il vit actuellement, en raison de la guerre (toujours en cours) que la Russie livre à l’Ukraine. 

Le compositeur en est venu à qualifier son style d’écriture de « méta-musique », déclarant : « Je n’écris pas de nouvelle musique. Ma musique est une réponse et un écho à ce qui existe déjà. » Cette perspective s’applique à sa conception de la coda – la section finale d’une œuvre musicale – comme un écho ou une allusion à ce qui a déjà été dit auparavant. Ainsi, plus qu’une simple fin, il considère la coda comme « l’une des parties les plus importantes d’une composition, ou du moins tout aussi importante que les autres sections », comme l’explique Tatjana Frumkis, critique musicale et spécialiste de Valentin Silvestrov. Elle ajoute : « Ses cantates et ses symphonies comportent toutes de longues codas, tout comme ses mélodies, dans lesquelles les postludes semblent parfois prendre une vie propre. Ces ‘postludes’ prolongés ont par la suite évolué vers un nouveau genre musical. » 

Ce Postlude pour violon seul (1981) est le deuxième d’un triptyque de postludes pour divers instruments que M. Silvestrov a composé en 1981 et 1982. Joué en sourdine du début à la fin, le violon exécute une improvisation lyrique de style baroque, parcourant deux fois un thème qui se poursuit par fragments, comme un écho érodé de la mélodie originale. Le thème devient son propre postlude, après quoi le violon se lance dans une toccate virtuose, avec des traits et des arpèges vif-argent et son propre motif mélodique entêtant. Plus tard, la musique lyrique revient, mais cette fois, sa progression est interrompue par intermittence par les éléments étincelants de la toccate.

FREYA WALEY-COHEN

Snap Dragon pour quatuor à cordes

Décrite comme « à la fois intime et visionnaire », la musique de la compositrice britannico-américaine Freya Waley-Cohen (née en 1989) se caractérise par des contrastes entre jeux rythmiques telluriques et fragilité, espaces lumineux et atmosphère surnaturelle. Bon nombre de ses œuvres récentes ont recours aux mythes, à la magie et à l’occultisme comme autant de perspectives sur le monde actuel. Des institutions et des ensembles comme l’Orchestre philharmonique de Los Angeles, les BBC Proms, Wigmore Hall, le Philharmonia Orchestra, l’Orchestre de chambre de Londres, le Britten Sinfonia, The King’s Singers, The Hermes Experiment et la Royal Academy of Music, sans oublier les festivals d’Aldeburgh, Presteigne, Santa Fe et Cheltenham, lui ont commandé des œuvres musicales, et sa musique a été enregistrée par les marques Signum, Nimbus, Nonclassical, Delphian et NMC. 

Écrit en 2017, Snap Dragon pour quatuor à cordes lui a été commandé par le Festival de musique de chambre de Santa Fe, et le Flux Quartet l’a créé en première mondiale en août de la même année au New Mexico Museum of Art. Ainsi qu’elle l’explique elle-même, le titre de l’œuvre provient de la « fleur aux couleurs vibrantes et plutôt toxique ainsi nommée parce qu’elle ressemble un peu à la face d’un dragon » (en français, cette fleur se nomme muflier ou gueule-de-loup). Musicalement, la pièce « joue sur l’idée de conversations animées entre proches comme point de départ de la structure musicale; souvent enjouées, elles peuvent passer d’un sujet à l’autre de manière inattendue dans l’excitation des idées échangées, s’échauffent parfois dans le débat, et s’apaisent facilement par une plaisanterie amicale. Ce quatuor à cordes fait ressortir l’interaction entre les interprètes comme solistes et en tant qu’ensemble dans cette pièce, permettant des moments où des personnes peuvent s’éloigner les unes des autres avant de se retrouver. » 

Notes de programme compilées et rédigées par Hannah Chan-Hartley (traduit de l’anglais) 

Artistes

  • violon Jessica Linnebach
  • violon Emily Kruspe
  • violon & alto Carissa Klopoushak
  • violoncelle Rachel Mercer
  • flute Stephanie Morin
  • flute Lara Deutsch
  • Invité spécial - violon John Storgårds