Sublime String Quartets

NACO at the Fourth
ADOLPHUS HAILSTORK

String Quartet No. 2, Variations on “Swing Low, Sweet Chariot”

A prolific composer, Adolphus Hailstork (b. 1941) has long established a reputation for works that masterfully blend eclectic elements from European, Euro-American, and African American music traditions, often emphasizing melody. He wrote his String Quartet No. 2 in 2012 for the Marian Anderson String Quartet’s Continuing the Legacy project, which commissioned American composers to create works for string quartet based on songs of the African diaspora. 

As this work’s title indicates, Hailstork took as thematic basis the tune of the classic African American spiritual “Swing Low, Sweet Chariot”, which he creatively transforms in complex ways. The variations unfold seamlessly, each one distinguished by changes in melodic material and ensemble texture—from song-like phrases expressed by one or two instruments to dense counterpoint involving the entire quartet, combining bowed and plucked strings. Certain variations feature syncopated jazz rhythms and blues riffs, while piquant dissonances add chromatic colour throughout. 

Hailstork has written that the theme is “interrupted by abrupt dissonant chords that serve as ‘fate motifs’ to remind the listener that the ‘carry me home’ in the spiritual text is an end-of-life request.” Occurring in threes, these chords are first introduced in the aggressive opening of the piece, which is then followed by an energetic set of variations. Later, there’s a slow episode of wistful character, the nostalgic reverie of which is briefly disturbed by the “fate motif”, and gradually leads into another spirited segment of propulsive energy. After a pause, the nostalgic mood returns, though now rarified as the first violin soars ethereally. Despite the twice-interjection of the “fate” chords, the music melts into peaceful tranquility, as the cello sings the original tune to draw the piece to a serene close.

Program notes by Dr. Hannah Chan-Hartley

DVOŘÁK

String Quartet in F major, Op. 96, “American”

I. Allegro ma non troppo
II. Lento
III. Molto vivace
IV. Vivace ma non troppo

The “American” String Quartet is one of Antonín Dvořák’s (1841–1904) best-known chamber works. It’s among a group of pieces (along with the “New World” Symphony and the Cello Concerto) that he wrote during the period he spent in the United States, from 1892 to 1895, as director and professor at New York’s National Conservatory of Music. As a respected composer who wrote in the nationalistic style (that is, incorporating national folk song into art music forms), he was there at the invitation of the Conservatory’s founder, Jeannette Thurber, to help guide U.S. composers in creating music of a national American style. These works integrate what Dvořák absorbed in his research of traditional American music, which included Amerindian melodies, spirituals, and popular songs like those by Stephen Foster, and thus represent a stylistic model that also sought to appeal to the tastes of American audiences.

Dvořák composed this string quartet in June 1893, during an enjoyable summer break in Spillville, Iowa, where there was a small farming community of Czech immigrants. The town’s rural setting likely inspired the work’s pastoral tone. Although it does not contain any actual American melodies, String Quartet No. 12 in many ways epitomizes what came to be regarded as the composer’s “American” style. You’ll hear in all four movements characteristic elements (as music scholars Jan Smaczny and Klaus Döge have identified) such as open-hearted, balanced melodies (often using pentatonicism), drone accompaniment, energetic or flowing rhythmic ostinatos, and strongly syncopated rhythms.

In conventional sonata form, the opening Allegro has two main themes—the first, introduced on viola, optimistic and jaunty; the second, on first violin, tender and slightly sentimental. The middle section develops the rhythmic motifs and syncopations of the first theme, and there’s a fugato on a sombre version of the second theme. The slow movement has a melancholy cast, featuring intensely lyrical exchanges and duets between the first violin and second violin or cello.

Good cheer returns with the scherzo, which has two sections in F major and F minor; the latter uses an augmented version of the main theme. At certain moments, the first violin plays a very high variant of the melody; it’s based on the song of the scarlet tanager, a bird the composer heard on his walks in the Iowan countryside. The Finale is high-spirited, with joyful melodies driven by syncopated accompaniment. Later, a chorale is introduced—another Spillville reference, this to the organ Dvořák played for services at St. Wencelas Church—after which the main melody returns, to bring the quartet to an exuberant finish.

Program notes by Dr. Hannah Chan-Hartley

PAUL WIANCKO

LIFT for String Quartet (Part III)

Paul Wiancko (b. 1983) is a highly regarded cellist and chamber musician who has performed with artists ranging from Midori, Yo-Yo Ma, and Mitsuko Uchida to Chick Corea, Norah Jones, and members of Arcade Fire. It’s not surprising then that his work as a composer reflects his multifaceted interests in different styles and genres of music, combining them in fresh ways in pieces that have been described as “dazzling” and “compelling”.

Wiancko composed LIFT in 2016; it was premiered that year by the Aizuri Quartet, who subsequently performed it widely and recorded it. From their “insider’s” perspective, they’ve described the piece as “a virtuosic tour-de-force for the string quartet” in which Wiancko “channels his love of jazz, improvisation, hip-hop, and folk music to create a rich sonic palette.” In the composer’s words, “LIFT is an investigation of elation in its musical form… I joyously explored the capacity for harmony, colour, and rhythm itself to evoke and inspire. [The] piece ultimately represents the journey of a soul—laid out in fervent, celebratory detail.”

You’ll hear tonight the work’s third and final movement, which consists of three wildly contrasting sections. The first, marked “Glacial”, consists of sustained notes that shift as in layers, the mood becoming increasingly intense. After reaching an impassioned climax, the tension gradually dissipates via expressive glissandos, subsiding into the “icy” sound of bows playing sul ponticello (near the bridge of the instrument). “Maniacal”, the second section, is a wittily surreal mash-up of jazzy melodies and syncopations. The final section “Lift” is an ecstatic celebration, blending minimalist and folk-fiddling elements that revel in vibrant sonorities and richly varied sonic textures.

Program notes by Dr. Hannah Chan-Hartley

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 13 octobre 2021.

Sublimes quatuors à cordes

L'OCNA à la Quatrième
ADOLPHUS HAILSTORK

Quatuor à cordes no 2, variations sur Swing Low, Sweet Chariot

Compositeur prolifique, Adolphus Hailstork (né en 1941) est reconnu depuis longtemps pour ses œuvres qui marient de main de maître des éléments tirés des traditions musicales européennes, euro-américaines et afro-américaines, en mettant souvent l’accent sur la mélodie. Il a composé son Quatuor à cordes no 2 en 2012 dans le cadre du projet Continuing the Legacy du Marian Anderson String Quartet, qui invitait des compositeurs américains à créer des pièces pour quatuor à cordes en s’inspirant de chansons de la diaspora africaine.

Comme l’indique le titre de l’œuvre, Hailstork a pris pour thème la mélodie du spiritual afro-américain bien connu Swing Low, Sweet Chariot, qu’il a transformé de manière créative et complexe. Les variations se déploient harmonieusement et se démarquent les unes des autres par des changements dans la trame mélodique et dans la texture de l’ensemble – allant de phrases évoquant des chansons entonnées par un ou deux instruments à un contrepoint dense faisant appel au quatuor tout entier et combinant des cordes frottées et pincées. Certaines variations mettent en vedette des rythmes jazz syncopés et des riffs de blues, alors que des dissonances perçantes ajoutent une touche chromatique à l’ensemble de l’œuvre.

Adolphus Hailstork a écrit que le thème était « interrompu par des accords dissonants qui jouent le rôle de “motifs du destin” et rappellent à l’auditeur que la ligne “carry me home” dans le texte original est une demande de fin de vie. » Venant en triades, ces accords sont d’abord introduits dans l’ouverture dynamique de la pièce, qui est suivie par un ensemble énergique de variations. S’en suit un lent épisode de nature mélancolique, dont la rêverie nostalgique est brièvement perturbée par le « motif du destin », qui mène graduellement à un autre segment fougueux rempli d’une énergie stimulante. Après une pause, l’ambiance nostalgique revient, quoiqu’affaiblie, alors que seul le premier violon s’élève de manière éthérée. Malgré la double interjection des accords « du destin », la musique vogue vers une paisible tranquillité, et le violoncelle entonne la mélodie originale pour amener la pièce vers sa conclusion sereine.

Notes de programme rédigées par Hannah Chan-Hartley, Ph. D.

DVOŘÁK

Quatuor à cordes no 12 en fa majeur, op. 96, « Américain »

I. Allegro ma non troppo
II. Lento
III. Molto vivace
IV. Vivace ma non troppo

Le quatuor à cordes « Américain » est l’une des œuvres de musique de chambre les plus connues d’Antonín Dvořák (1841–1904). La composition fait partie d’un groupe de pièces (comprenant la Symphonie no 9, « Du Nouveau Monde », et le Concerto pour violoncelle) composées durant le séjour de Dvořák aux États-Unis. En effet, le musicien occupe le poste de directeur et de professeur au Conservatoire national de New York de 1892 à 1895. Compositeur respecté ayant adopté un style nationaliste (c’est-à-dire qu’il incorpore des chansons folkloriques dans des formes musicales savantes), il est là à l’invitation de Jeannette Thurber, la fondatrice du Conservatoire, qui souhaite aider les compositeurs américains à créer de la musique dotée d’un style national. Ces œuvres intègrent des éléments issus des recherches de Dvořák sur la musique traditionnelle américaine, dont des mélodies amérindiennes, des spirituals et des chansons populaires comme celles de Stephen Foster. Les pièces représentent ainsi un modèle stylistique qui cherche aussi à répondre aux goûts des auditoires américains.

Antonín Dvořák compose son quatuor à cordes en juin 1893, durant d’agréables vacances d’été passées à Spillville, en Iowa, où l’on trouve une petite communauté agricole d’immigrants tchèques. Le cadre rural a probablement inspiré le caractère pastoral de l’œuvre. Bien qu’il ne présente pas de véritables mélodies américaines, le Quatuor à cordes no 12 représente à bien des égards la quintessence de ce qu’on est venu à considérer comme le « style américain » du compositeur. Les quatre mouvements possèdent des éléments caractéristiques de ce style (comme l’ont relevé les musicologues Jan Smaczny et Klaus Döge) : mélodies sensibles et équilibrées (qui font souvent appel au pentatonisme), accompagnements bourdonnants, ostinatos rythmiques énergiques ou fluides, et rythmes fortement syncopés.

Suivant la forme sonate traditionnelle, l’allegro d’ouverture possède deux thèmes principaux : le premier est introduit par l’alto, optimiste et dynamique, tandis que le second est introduit par le premier violon, tendre et légèrement sentimental. La section intermédiaire développe les motifs rythmiques et les syncopes du premier thème, et on entend un fugato, une version sombre du second thème. Le lent mouvement suit un modèle mélancolique et présente des échanges intensément lyriques et des duos entre le premier violon et le deuxième violon ou le violoncelle.

La bonne humeur revient avec le scherzo, qui possède deux sections en fa majeur et en fa mineur : cette dernière section fait appel à une version amplifiée du thème principal. À certains moments, le premier violon joue une variation très aiguë de la mélodie, inspirée du chant du tangara écarlate, un oiseau que le compositeur entend au cours de ses promenades dans la campagne de l’Iowa. La finale exaltante présente des mélodies joyeuses amenées par des accompagnements syncopés. Un choral est ensuite introduit – une autre référence à Spillville, en l’occurrence à l’orgue dont Dvořák joue parfois durant la messe à l’église St. Wenceslaus – après quoi la mélodie principale revient pour mener le quatuor à sa finale exubérante.

Notes de programme rédigées par Hannah Chan-Hartley, Ph. D.

PAUL WIANCKO

LIFT pour quatuor à cordes (troisième partie)

Paul Wiancko (né en 1983) est un violoncelliste et un musicien de chambre acclamé qui s’est produit avec des artistes allant de Midori, Yo‑Yo Ma et Mitsuko Uchida à Chick Corea, Norah Jones et des membres d’Arcade Fire. Ce n’est donc pas surprenant que son travail de compositeur reflète ses intérêts diversifiés pour différents styles et genres musicaux, en les combinant de manière originale dans des pièces que l’on a qualifiées « d’éblouissantes » et de « captivantes ».

Paul Wiancko a composé LIFT en 2016. L’œuvre a été jouée pour la première fois la même année par l’Aizuri Quartet, qui l’a ensuite interprétée à de multiples reprises et enregistrée. De leur point de vue de « privilégiées », les musiciennes du quatuor décrivent la pièce comme « un tour de force de virtuosité pour le quatuor à cordes » dans lequel Paul Wiancko « exprime son amour pour le jazz, l’improvisation, le hip-hop et la musique folk, créant ainsi une riche palette sonore. » Pour citer les mots du compositeur, « LIFT explore l’euphorie sous sa forme musicale… J’ai pris plaisir à examiner la capacité de l’harmonie, de la couleur et du rythme à provoquer et à inspirer. Ultimement, la pièce représente le parcours d’une âme – présentée sous toutes ses coutures de manière fervente et festive. »

Ce soir, vous entendez le troisième et dernier mouvement de la pièce, constitué de trois sections hautement contrastantes. La première, intitulée Glacial, est composée de notes soutenues qui évoluent comme par couches, à mesure que le ton devient de plus en plus intense. Après avoir atteint son paroxysme, la tension redescend graduellement grâce à des glissandos expressifs, qui s’estompent à l’arrivée du son « glaçant » des archets jouant sul ponticello (près du chevalet de l’instrument). La deuxième section, Maniacal, est un mariage brillant et surréaliste de mélodies jazzy et de syncopes. La dernière section, Lift, est une célébration extatique alliant des éléments minimalistes et vaguement folk qui révèlent des sonorités vibrantes et des textures sonores richement variées.

Notes de programme rédigées par Hannah Chan-Hartley, Ph. D.

Menu