September 2020 Update on Live Performances and Events at the NAC.

Finding Wolastoq Voice

Message from the Artistic Director

This play is such a gem. For our first ever season of Indigenous Theatre, it was important for me to try to bring shows from coast to coast to coast to the NAC. Having the opportunity to catch this show in Toronto at Native Earth Performing Arts introduced me to two amazing East Coast artists, Aria Evans and Natalie Sappier. For Natalie, a visual artist, this play marks her theatre debut. Natalie’s narration leads us through her journey of resilience, discovery and empowerment as Aria’s movement and interaction with the ever evolving set reveal the transformative power of finding one’s voice in a broken world. Having toured New Brunswick and parts of Ontario, we are so excited to be presenting this work here as part of our Mòshkamo festival and our inaugural season of Indigenous Theatre. I hope you enjoy this debut work from an exciting up-and-coming playwright.

Playwright's Message

Woliwon/Thank you, to the inspiring Theatre New Brunswick team, a special thank you to Thomas Morgan Jones for his amazing mentorship and friendship. Woliwon, ArtsNB and the Canada Council for the Arts for their support in the development of Finding Wolastoq Voice, to my Momo, Meme, Sagatay, Imelda and Dave Perley, my community of negotuk, Maggie Paul, Judie Acquin, Angee Acquin, Kim and Wayne Brooks, Nate Miller and his beautiful parents. Woliwon, to my phenomenal artistic team Andy Moro, Aria Evans, and Mike Doherty. Woliwon, to my family and friends for their constant inspiration, motivation, love and support. To my mother, my teacher – you are one of the strongest and most beautiful spirits in my life. Woliwon and Koselmul always.


Finding Wolastoq Voice

Yut keti nomihtuweq amalhapomkahtimok sakihtaksik kisihtahatok Wolastoqi amalhocossawet naka tokec nutatkuhket Samaqani Cocahq (Natalie Sappier), Neqotkukew. ‘Takonutomon weckuwikitpon ‘cimaciw amsqahs pilsqehsisuwit naka letisuwit tokiw tuhkimit nikanapasihticik ‘kansuhs.
Wolastoqey translation by Opolahsomuwehs, 2019
 

Finding Wolastoq Voice is a powerful debut work from Indigenous artist-turned-playwright Samaqani Cocahq (Natalie Sappier) of Tobique First Nation, a leading voice in New Brunswick’s thriving Indigenous art scene.

Featuring the evocative choreography of dancer Aria Evans, this beautiful dance-theatre hybrid is the deeply personal coming-of-age story of a young Wolastoqiyik woman who is awakened by the voices of her ancestors. Evans draws on her experiences as a woman of mixed race (Mi’kmaq/Black/British) to beautifully convey feelings of sorrow, grace, and hope.

Andy Moro has created an organic, natural world that shifts and moves seamlessly, providing the foundation for this inspiring work.

Music Credits

All music (except Wolastoq Song) composed and arranged by Samaqani Cocahq.

Wolastoq Song written by Sagatay (Gwen Bear).

Wolastoq Song performed by Samaqani Cocahq, Judie and Angee Acquin.

Mother Earth Song performed by Maggie Paul.

Ancestor Voice performed by Imelda Perley.

Finding Wolastoq Voice was developed in part through support received from Arts NB.


Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour d'octobre 2020.

Finding Wolastoq Voice

Mot du directeur artistique

Cette pièce est un petit bijou. Je tenais à ce que la première saison du Théâtre autochtone du CNA réunisse des œuvres d’un océan à l’autre. Ce spectacle, que j’ai eu la chance de voir au Native Earth Performing Arts de Toronto, m’a fait découvrir deux brillantes artistes de la côte est, Aria Evans et Natalie Sappier. Natalie est une artiste visuelle qui fait ici ses débuts au théâtre. Sa narration nous entraîne dans un parcours marqué par la résilience, la découverte et l’émancipation, tandis que les mouvements d’Aria et ses interactions avec le décor fluide mettent en valeur le côté transformateur de la prise de parole dans un monde brisé. Ce spectacle a tourné au Nouveau-Brunswick et en Ontario, et nous sommes très heureux de le présenter au festival Mòshkamo dans le cadre de la saison inaugurale du Théâtre autochtone. J’espère que cette première œuvre d’un talent émergent des plus prometteurs vous plaira.

Mot de l’auteure

Woliwon, merci à l’inspirante équipe de Theatre New Brunswick, et particulièrement à Thomas Morgan Jones pour son formidable mentorat et son amitié. Woliwon à ArtsNB et au Conseil des arts du Canada pour leur soutien au développement de Finding Wolastoq Voice, à mes proches Momo, Meme, Sagatay, Imelda et Dave Perley, à ma communauté de Negotuk, à Maggie Paul, Judie Acquin, Angee Acquin, Kim et Wayne Brooks, à Nate Miller et ses merveilleux parents. Woliwon à ma sensationnelle équipe artistique, Andy Moro, Aria Evans et Mike Doherty. Woliwon à ma famille et mes amis pour l’inspiration, la motivation, l’amour et l’appui indéfectibles qu’ils m’apportent. À ma mère, qui m’a tout appris – tu es l’un des esprits les plus puissants et les plus beaux qui vivent en moi. Woliwon et Koselmul pour toujours.


Finding Wolastoq Voice

Yut keti nomihtuweq amalhapomkahtimok sakihtaksik kisihtahatok Wolastoqi amalhocossawet naka tokec nutatkuhket Samaqani Cocahq (Natalie Sappier), Neqotkukew. ‘Takonutomon weckuwikitpon ‘cimaciw amsqahs pilsqehsisuwit naka letisuwit tokiw tuhkimit nikanapasihticik ‘kansuhs.
Traduction en wolastoq d’Opolahsomuwehs, 2019
 

Finding Wolastoq Voice est une première pièce forte de l’artiste visuelle autochtone et maintenant dramaturge Samaqani Cocahq (Natalie Sappier). Originaire de la Première Nation de Tobique, Cocahq est une figure marquante de la florissante scène artistique autochtone du Nouveau-Brunswick.

Avec l’expressive chorégraphie de la danseuse Aria Evans, cette magnifique fusion de danse-théâtre est le récit éminemment personnel du passage à l’âge adulte d’une jeune femme wolastoq réveillée par les voix de ses ancêtres. Evans puise dans ses expériences de femme métisse (Mi’kmaq/noire/Britannique) pour transmettre élégamment les sensations de chagrin, de grâce et d’espoir.

Andy Moro a créé un univers organique, naturel, qui se déplace et se transforme de façon fluide, et qui sert de fondement à cette œuvre inspirante.

Musique

Musique entièrement composée et arrangée (à l’exception de « Wolastoq Song ») par Samaqani Cocahq.

La chanson « Wolastoq Song » a été écrite par Sagatay (Gwen Bear).

La chanson « Wolastoq Song » est interprétée par Samaqani Cocahq, ainsi que Judie et Angee Acquin.

La chanson « Mother Earth Song » est interprétée par Maggie Paul.

Voix ancestrale assurée par Imelda Perley.

Finding Wolastoq Voice a été conçu en partie grâce au soutien d’ArtsNB.


Menu