Croall’s Zasakwaa: There Is a Heavy Frost

2019-09-19 19:00 2019-09-19 21:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Croall’s Zasakwaa: There Is a Heavy Frost

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/21728

Ambe Ambe Anishinaabeg biindigeg Anishinaabeg Mino-bimaadiziwin omaa Ambe   Come in Come in, two-legged beings come in all people There is good life here Come in!   Celebrate the works of Canada’s Indigenous composers, with music by Andrew Balfour, Ian Cusson and Barbara Croall. Métis composer and long-time friend of the NAC Ian Cusson offers a moving new lullaby, and Odawa First Nations composer Barbara Croall greets the coming winter with Zasakwaa (There is a...

Read more

Southam Hall,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
Thursday, September 19, 2019
7 PM EST

≈ 2 hours · With intermission

Last updated: September 16, 2019

Tonight’s soloists for Peer Gynt – Carmen Harris, Lynlee Wolstencroft and Ryan Hofman – are all graduates of the Master of Music vocal performance program at the University of Ottawa.

Chorus

Choristers from:
Ewashko Singers (ES)
Ensemble Calixa-Lavallée (CL)

Rehearsal Pianist: Claire Stevens

Soprano
Michelle Bawden CL
Ashley Bedard ES
Anastasiya Gorodnicha CL
Alison Kennedy ES
Ilene McKenna ES
Rosemary Cairns Way ES

Alto
Barb Ackison ES
Donna Ager ES
Wanda Allard ES
Shelly Arturo ES
Elizabeth Burbidge ES
Rachel Hotte ES
Caroline Johnston ES
Chloe Monette CL
Rebecca Taves ES

Tenor
Johnathan Bentley ES
David Lafranchise ES
Bryan Parker ES
Robert Ryan ES
Ryan Tonelli CL

Bass
Grant Cameron ES
Alain Franchomme ES
Braeden Kloke ES
James Kubina ES
Kevin Marimbu CL
Mathieu Jean Roy CL
Kyle Simpson CL
Stephen Slessor ES
Christopher Yordy ES

Repertoire

Andrew Balfour

Ambe

Now living in Winnipeg, Manitoba

Of Cree descent, Andrew Balfour is an innovative composer/conductor/singer/sound designer with a large body of choral, instrumental, electro-acoustic and orchestral works, including Take the Indian (a vocal reflection on missing children), Empire Étrange: The Death of Louis Riel, Bawajigaywin (Vision Quest) and Manitou Sky, an orchestral tone poem. His new Indigenous opera, Mishabooz’s Realm, was commissioned by the Atelier Lyrique de l’Opéra de Montréal and Highlands Opera Workshop.

The founder and Artistic Director of the vocal group Camerata Nova, now in its 22nd year of offering a concert series in Winnipeg, Balfour specializes in creating “concept concerts,” many with Indigenous subject matter. These innovative offerings explore a theme through an eclectic array of music, including new works, arrangements and innovative inter-genre and interdisciplinary collaborations.

He has become increasingly passionate about music education and outreach, par-ticularly on northern reserves and in inner-city Winnipeg schools where he has worked on behalf of the National Arts Centre, Camerata Nova, the Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra and various Winnipeg school divisions.

In 2007, Andrew Balfour received the Mayor of Winnipeg’s “Making a Mark” Award, sponsored by the Winnipeg Arts Council to recognize the most promising midcareer artist in the city.

_______

This piece, Ambe, is based on an original song in Ojibway that was gifted by traditional drummer and singer Cory Campbell to Andrew Balfour and the University of Man-itoba Concert Choir. Campbell describes the song as “a call to the people to the ceremonial way of life or to the red road or, quite frankly, to whatever we have going on, because everything happens with spirit and in spirit.”

Inspired by Campbell’s song, Balfour created an original composition which uses the same text and echoes the steady rhythm of the drum, unifying the piece. The melodies are all original but hints of Campbell’s song remain. For Balfour, the steady beat throughout represents the heartbeat of Mother Earth, and the lyrical first soprano melody that emerges from this rhythmic texture at measure seven conveys the power-ful totem of the eagle which represents the teaching of love, wisdom and strength.

– Program note by Andrew Balfour

Ian Cusson

Dodo, mon tout petit*

Commissioned by the National Arts Centre and the Canadian Opera Company

Born in Midland, Ontario, August 24, 1981
Now living in Oakville, Ontario

Ian Cusson is a composer of art song, opera and orchestral work. Of Métis and French-Canadian descent, his work explores Canadian Indigenous experience including the history of the Métis people, the hybridity of mixed-racial identity, and the intersection of Western and Indigenous cultures. He studied composition with Jake Heggie (San Francisco) and Samuel Dolin, and piano with James Anagnoson at the Glenn Gould School. He was also mentored by Johannes Debus.

Cusson is the recipient of the Chalmers Professional Development Grant, the National Aboriginal Achievement Foundation Award, and grants through the Canada Council, Ontario Arts Council and Toronto Arts Council. He was an inaugural Carrefour Composer with the National Arts Centre Orchestra from 2017–2019 and is Composer-in-Residence with the Canadian Opera Company for 2019–2021. He is an Associate Composer of the Canadian Music Centre and a member of the Canadian League of Composers. He lives in Oakville with his wife and four children.

_______

The NAC and Canadian Opera Company commissioned this new aria to replace the Kuyas aria that opens Act III of Harry Somers and Mavor Moore’s 1967 opera Louis Riel. The music for the original scene used a song from the Nisga’a people without permission. This new aria will have a permanent place in all future productions of the opera.

Participating in the composition of new music for this opera is about more than the composition itself. It is an opportunity to be part of the righting of an historic wrong, where an appropriated song is returned to its people. It is a tangible step in the direction of reconciliation.

The task of writing new music for a work like Louis Riel, often described as Canada’s most important opera, is not as straightforward as it might seem. It requires sober awareness of the expectations and criticism surrounding such a task. How does a person go about creating new music for an opera that has a history of divided public opinion and more than half a century of scholarly commentary?

I turned to the drama itself in order to dis-cover the path forward by considering the function of the scene in which the aria is found to the opera as a whole. The goal I set for myself was to capture the tone that this moment required.

Act III opens with Marguerite, the young wife of Louis Riel, singing their child to sleep. She sings of her hopes and dreams for the child – that he would have the legs of a deer to carry him across the prairies, the wings of an eagle, the heart of a man, the wisdom of the stars… This most intimate and personal moment is the heart of the opera. Its musical setting required a degree of simplicity and musical clarity, a pause before the opera’s climax where Riel returns to Canada to lead his people in a rebellion, ending in his execution by the Canadian state.

Giving voice to an historic person from my own community is a special thing. It is a looking back across time and generations. But it is also a looking forward to future generations of Indigenous people of this land. I write this work for all my relations.

– Program note by Ian Cusson

Barbara Croall

Zasakwaa (There is a Heavy Frost)

Born in Mnidoo Mnissing, 1966, Giniw dodem (golden eagle clan)
Now living in Mnidoo Mnissing and Halton, Ontario

Active internationally since 1995, Odawa First Nation composer Barbara Croall has had commissions and performances from leading orchestras, ensembles and soloists across Canada, the U.S., the U.K., Europe, Latin America and Asia. As a musician, she plays, performs and composes on the pipigwan and for voice in the traditional Anishinaabe way. Classically-trained, she holds music degrees and diplomas from Centre Acanthes (France), the Musikhochschule in Munich (Germany), the Royal Conservatory of Music (Toronto) and the University of Toronto. The child of a residential school survivor, Croall is also a direct descendant of hereditary chiefs who signed the major treaties in Ontario and who fought in major battles of the Indian Wars and War of 1812.

Recording credits of her music and per-formances include: CBC Radio One, CBC Radio Two, Bayerische Rundfunk-Bayern 3, Deutsche Radio Swiss (DRS-II), Radio France, Italian National Television, APTN (Aboriginal Peoples Television Network, Canada) and Kennedy Center Live Broadcasts (Washington, D.C.).

Awards include the Glenn Gould Award in Composition (1989), numerous scholarships at the Royal Conservatory of Music/Glenn Gould School (1992–1996), awards from the National Aboriginal Achievement Foundation (1993–1998), three nominations for the K.M. Hunter Award (2003, 2007, 2012), a Visual and Expressive Arts Program Award (National Museum of the American Indian, 2009) and a Dora Mavor Award nomination (2012).

Croall is also the Founder and Director of Women of the Four Directions (WFD), promoting Indigenous women’s artistic and cultural activities. She has also served as an Advisory Board Member of the First Nations Composers’ Initiative (FNCI). She is currently Artist-in-Residence and Cultural Consultant with the Kitchener-Waterloo Symphony Orchestra.

_______

This work for chamber string orchestra and mezzo-soprano, with flute soloist, greets the coming of winter from a female earth spirit perspective. In Nishnaabe (Odawa) cosmology we have Mindemoyenh (Old Woman) who is featured in our oral stories as an earth-rooted figure representing ancient feminine knowledge and guidance. On Mnidoo Mnissing (Manitoulin Island) as a child I swam so many countless times in the beautiful Lake Mindemoya, which is noted for its extended shallows and rippled sands on the eastern side and which has a large island that the Nishnaabeg have called Mindemoyenh – appearing like an old woman lying on her back surrounded by calm water. (Settlers renamed this island Treasure Island.) Many feel that she was the first ancient woman emerging out of the earth and rock as a guardian spirit when Mnidoo Mnissing was first formed. In fall, as the first heavy frosts arrive just before winter, a tranquil sense of calm is felt when this female island becomes immobilized by the ice and blanketed by snow drifts as many earth creatures enter their deep sleep for biboon (winter).

The mezzo-soprano soloist is this ancient female island spirit, also recalling her own grandmother, Nookomis, the moon, who watches over all girls and women who celebrate and honour her in our Full Moon ceremonies. The flute soloist is a transformational figure – often depicting the cold winds and elemental spirit breath of life, as well as Bineshiinh (Small bird) who stays to keep Mindemoyenh company through the fall and winter – singing to her cheerfully to provide comfort and hope during her times of winter loneliness. The calls of Gookooko’oo (Owl) heard as Mindemoyenh finally slips into winter slumber are also a reminder of another protective guardian spirit, the owl, who watches over those who sleep and hunts with silent wings under the cloak of night and illumination of moonlight.

– Program note by Barbara Croall

Edvard Grieg

Peer Gynt

Born in Bergen, June 15, 1843
Died in Bergen, September 4, 1907

The sights, sounds and folklore of Norway are deeply embedded in Grieg’s music, nowhere more so than in the incidental music he wrote for Henrik Ibsen’s poetic drama Peer Gynt (1867). Ibsen (1828–1906),  Norway’s most famous playwright, initially had no intention of producing his huge play, more suitable for reading than for acting, with its elements of Norwegian fairy-tale, fantasy, satire and allegory. Eventually he changed his mind and asked Grieg to provide music for the production, which was first given on February 24, 1876 in Christiania (present-day Oslo). For revivals in Copenhagen (1885, 1892) and Christiania (1902), Grieg composed additional numbers.

What we hear tonight constitutes a generous, one-hour sequence of about two-thirds of the complete incidental music to Peer Gynt, including all eight numbers of the two popular suites plus assorted other material that involves chorus, narration and vocal soloists. Listeners familiar with the two suites will note that some of these numbers too involve vocal elements in their original form. Ibsen’s play relates the adventures of an egotist and all-around irresponsible, unpleasant character who leaves his home-land to roam the world in a restless search for happiness, his churlish behaviour earning him the contempt of everyone he encounters.

The story begins at a wedding party. Peer shows his true colours almost from the start, as he abducts the bride but soon abandons her. Soon afterwards we meet the herd girls, an unruly lot clamouring for their lost lovers (trolls), whereupon Peer offers his services as a lover to all of them. Peer next appears in the hall of the Mountain King, where hideous little trolls, representing man’s more undesirable qualities, chase and torment Peer. The Mountain King’s daughter is no beauty, and her ungainly dance drives Peer to mirth. In anger, the Mountain King sets his army of trolls upon Peer, a truly frightening scene.

After years of wandering, Peer returns home for the death of his loving mother Åse, who dies in his arms. This sorrowful scene, scored for strings alone, is built on the barest of musical materials, a rising three-note motif. Further travels take Peer to North Africa. “Morning Mood” depicts the idyllic beauty and stillness of sunrise over the desert. Peer is entertained by a bevy of beauties in the “Arabian Dance,” and later by Anitra alone, the chieftain's daughter. Peer woos Anitra in his serenade, the sole occasion in the play where the actor taking this role must sing. Solveig, Peer’s only true love, sings of her confidence that Peer will one day return to her waiting arms.

Eventually he returns to Norway for the last time, amidst stormy weather that is surely a metaphor for his troubled soul. He finds solace and forgiveness in Solveig’s arms as she sings the last music in the score, the infinitely tender and consoling “Cradle Song.”

– Program notes by Robert Markow

Menu

Zasakwaa (Présence d’une forte gelée) de Croall

2019-09-19 19:00 2019-09-19 21:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Zasakwaa (Présence d’une forte gelée) de Croall

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/21728

Ambe Ambe Anishinaabeg biindigeg Anishinaabeg Mino-bimaadiziwin omaa Ambe     Entrez Entrez, êtres à deux pattes Entrez, tous autant que vous êtes La vie est bonne ici Entrez!   La musique des compositeurs autochtones du Canada est à l’honneur dans ce programme proposant des œuvres d’Andrew Balfour et de Barbara Croall ainsi qu’une nouvelle pièce courte d’Ian Cusson, compositeur métis ami du CNA....

Read more

Salle Southam ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
jeudi 19 septembre 2019
19 h HNE

≈ 2 heures · Avec entracte

Dernière mise à jour: 16 septembre 2019

Les solistes qui se produisent ce soir dans Peer Gynt – Carmen Harris, Lynlee Wolstencroft et Ryan Hofman –
sont titulaires d’une maîtrise en musique (chant) de l’Université d’Ottawa.

Chœur

Choristes des chœurs :
Ewashko Singers (ES)
Ensemble Calixa-Lavallée (CL)

Pianiste de répétition : Claire Stevens

Soprano
Michelle Bawden CL
Ashley Bedard ES
Anastasiya Gorodnicha CL
Alison Kennedy ES
Ilene McKenna ES
Rosemary Cairns Way ES

Alto
Barb Ackison ES
Donna Ager ES
Wanda Allard ES
Shelly Arturo ES
Elizabeth Burbidge ES
Rachel Hotte ES
Caroline Johnston ES
Chloe Monette CL
Rebecca Taves ES

Ténor
Johnathan Bentley ES
David Lafranchise ES
Bryan Parker ES
Robert Ryan ES
Ryan Tonelli CL

Basse
Grant Cameron ES
Alain Franchomme ES
Braeden Kloke ES
James Kubina ES
Kevin Marimbu CL
Mathieu Jean Roy CL
Kyle Simpson CL
Stephen Slessor ES
Christopher Yordy ES

Répertoire

Ambe

Vit maintenant à Winnipeg (Man.)

D’ascendance crie, Andrew Balfour est un compositeur, chef d’orchestre, chanteur et concepteur sonore novateur, fort d’un imposant catalogue d’œuvres chorales, instrumentales, électroacoustiques et orchestrales, telles Take the Indian (méditation chantée sur les enfants disparus); Empire Étrange: The Death of Louis Riel; Bawajigaywin (« quête de vision »); et Manitou Sky, un poème symphonique pour orchestre. Son nouvel opéra autochtone, Mishabooz’s Realm, lui a été commandé par l’Atelier lyrique de l’Opéra de Montréal et le Highlands Opera Workshop.

Balfour est fondateur et directeur artistique de l’ensemble vocal Camerata Nova, qui présente, pour une 22e année consécutive, une série de concerts à Winnipeg. Il se spécialise dans la création de concerts thématiques, dont beaucoup abordent des questions autochtones. Ces programmes novateurs explorent un thème au moyen d’un large éventail de musiques comprenant des créations, des arrangements inédits et des collaborations originales à la croisée des genres et des disciplines.

Passionné d’éducation musicale et actif dans sa communauté, le compositeur œuvre auprès des écoles des réserves du nord et du centre-ville de Winnipeg, au nom du Centre national des Arts, de Camerata Nova, de l’Orchestre symphonique de Winnipeg et de différents districts scolaires.

Balfour a reçu en 2007 un prix du maire de Winnipeg, parrainé par le Conseil des arts de la ville, à titre d’artiste à mi-carrière le plus prometteur.

_______

Ambe est basée sur une chanson originale en ojibwé offerte à Andrew Balfour et au Chœur de concert de l’Université du Manitoba par le chanteur et joueur de tambour traditionnel Cory Campbell. Celui-ci décrit ainsi sa chanson : « C’est un appel à suivre la voie sacrée de l’existence ou “sentier rouge,” voire, en toute franchise, à nous laisser guider par ce qui nous interpelle, parce que tout arrive pour une raison et à raison. »

Balfour a créé une composition originale inspirée de la chanson de Campbell, qui en reprend les paroles et fait écho au rythme régulier du tambour qui unifie la pièce. Les mélodies de Balfour sont originales, mais reflètent par moments la chanson de Campbell. Pour Balfour, le rythme régulier qui parcourt tout le morceau représente les battements du cœur de la Terre-Mère, et la première mélodie lyrique de la soprano, qui émerge de cette trame rythmique à la septième mesure, évoque le puissant totem de l’Aigle, lequel représente l’amour, la sagesse et la force.

– Traduit d’après Andrew Balfour

Ian Cusson

Dodo, mon tout petit*

Commande du Centre national des Arts et de la Compagnie d’opéra canadienne

Midland, Ontario, 24 août 1981;
vit actuellement à Oakville

D’origine métisse et canadienne-française, le compositeur Ian Cusson se spécialise dans la mélodie, l’opéra et les pièces orchestrales. Il s’intéresse, dans son œuvre, à l’expérience autochtone canadienne, en particulier à l’histoire du peuple métis, à l’union des identités raciales mixtes et à la rencontre des cultures occidentales et autochtones. Il a étudié la composition auprès de Jake Heggie (San Francisco) et Samuel Dolin, et le piano sous la houlette de James Anagnoson à l’École Glenn Gould. Il a aussi eu pour mentor Johannes Debus.

Lauréat d’un Prix national d’excellence décerné aux Autochtones, d’une bourse des Projets Chalmers de perfectionnement professionnel et de plusieurs bourses des conseils des arts du Canada, de l’Ontario et de Toronto, Cusson a été l’un des tout premiers compositeurs en résidence à l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts dans le cadre du programme Carrefour (2017–2019). Il est actuellement compositeur en résidence à la Compagnie d’opéra canadienne (2019–2021). Compositeur agréé du Centre de musique canadienne, il est aussi membre de la Ligue canadienne des compositeurs. Ian Cusson réside à Oakville avec sa femme et leurs quatre enfants.

_______

Le CNA et la Compagnie d’opéra canadienne ont commandé ce nouvel air pour remplacer l’aria « Kuyas » qui ouvrait l’Acte III de l’opéra Louis Riel d’Harry Somers et Mavor Moore (1967). La partition originale utilisait sans autorisation un chant appartenant au peuple Nisga’a. Cette nouvelle aria sera désormais intégrée à toutes les productions futures de l’opéra.

Participer à la création d’une nouvelle pièce pour l’opéra Louis Riel est bien plus qu’une simple affaire de composition. C’est une occasion de contribuer à redresser un tort historique, en rendant au peuple auquel il appartient un chant qu’on s’était illégitimement approprié. C’est un pas important vers la réconciliation.

La tâche de composer une nouvelle musique pour Louis Riel, souvent considéré comme l’opéra canadien le plus important, n’est pas aussi simple qu’il n’y paraît. Il faut être humblement conscient des attentes et des critiques qui en découleront inévitablement. Comment écrire de la musique devant être intégrée à un opéra qui divise l’opinion publique et fait l’objet de commentaires érudits depuis plus d’un demi-siècle?

Je me suis tourné vers l’intrigue elle-même pour déterminer la voie à suivre, en prenant en compte la fonction de la scène où se trouve cette aria dans le déroulement de l’opéra. L’objectif que je me suis fixé était de saisir le ton que ce passage exigeait.

L’Acte III débute au moment où Marguerite, jeune épouse de Louis Riel, chante une berceuse à leur enfant pour l’endormir. Elle chante les espoirs et les rêves qu’elle caresse pour son tout-petit – qu’il ait les pattes du cerf pour le porter à travers les prairies, les ailes de l’aigle, le cœur de l’homme, la sagesse des étoiles… Cet instant des plus intimes est au cœur de l’opéra. Sa musique nécessite un degré élevé de simplicité et de limpidité, elle constitue une pause avant le point culminant de l’opéra, soit le moment où Riel rentre au Canada pour mener son peuple à la rébellion, ce qui entraînera son exécution par l’État canadien.

Donner une voix à un personnage historique de ma propre communauté est une expérience hors du commun. C’est un regard vers le passé, au-delà du temps et des générations. Mais c’est aussi une projection dans l’avenir, vers les futures générations des peuples autochtones de ce pays. J’ai écrit cette pièce au nom de toutes mes relations.

– Traduit d’après Ian Cusson

Zasakwaa (Présence d’une forte gelée)

Née à Mnidoo Mnissing en 1966, Giniw dodem (clan de l’aigle royal)
Vit maintenant à Mnidoo Mnissing et Halton (Ontario)

Active sur le plan international depuis 1995, la compositrice de la Première nation Odawa Barbara Croall a vu ses œuvres commandées et interprétées par certains des plus grands orchestres, ensembles et solistes du Canada, des États-Unis, du Royaume‑Uni, de l’Europe, de l’Amérique latine et de l’Asie. Comme musicienne, elle joue, interprète et compose de la musique pour le pipigwan et la voix à la façon traditionnelle anishinaabe. Compositrice de formation classique, elle détient des diplômes et certificats en musique du Centre Acanthes (France), de Musikhochschule à Munich (Allemagne), du Conservatoire royal de musique (Toronto) et de l’Université de Toronto.

Fille d’une survivante des pensionnats autochtones, Croall est aussi la descendante directe de chefs héréditaires qui ont signé d’importants traités en Ontario et combattu lors de la guerre de 1812.

Parmi ses enregistrements de concerts et de musique, on retrouve : CBC Radio One, CBC Radio Two, Bayerische Rundfunk-Bayern 3, Deutsche Radio Swiss (DRS-II), Radio France, Italian National Television, APTN (Aboriginal Peoples Television Network, Canada) et Kennedy Center Live Broadcasts (Washington, É-U ).

Elle a reçu de nombreux prix, dont le prix Glenn Gould en composition (1989), plusieurs bourses du Conservatoire royal de musique et de l’École Glenn Gould (1992–1996) ainsi que des prix de la National Aboriginal Achievement Foundation (1993–1998), trois citations pour le prix K.M. Hunter (2003, 2007, 2012), un prix du Visual and Expressive Arts Program (National Museum of the American Indian, 2009) et une citation aux prix Dora Mavor (2012).

Barbara est également la fondatrice et directrice de Women of the Four Directions (WFD), organisme qui fait la promotion des activités artistiques et culturelles des femmes autochtones. Elle a également siégé au comité consultatif de First Nations Composers’ Initiative (FNCI).

_______

Œuvre pour cordes, mezzo-soprano et flûte, Zasakwaa (Présence d’une forte gelée) accueille la venue de l’hiver à travers le prisme d’une femme, esprit de la terre. Dans la cosmologie anishinaabe (Odawa), la tradition orale nous a transmis l’histoire de Mindemoyenh (la vieille femme), esprit de la terre et symbole de la sagesse et du savoir ancestral de la femme. Enfant, très souvent je me suis baignée dans le magnifique lac Mindemoya de Manidoo Mnissing (l’île Manitoulin), reconnu pour ses eaux peu profondes et ses sables ondulés, côté est; mais aussi pour la grande île qui s’y élève, surnommée Mindemoyenh par les Anishinaabeg, et dont la forme rappelle celle d’une vieille femme, couchée sur le dos, entourée d’eaux tranquilles. (Les peuples colonisateurs l’ont depuis renommée île Treasure.) Plusieurs croient qu’elle était la première femme ancestrale à émerger de la terre et de la pierre au moment de la création de Manidoo Mnissing, tel un esprit protecteur. À l’automne, lorsque surviennent les premières gelées qui précèdent biboon (l’hiver) et que nombre des créatures terrestres sombrent dans un profond sommeil, l’île-femme s’immobilise sous le poids de la glace et de la neige. Et le calme s’installe.

La soliste mezzo-soprano donne ici voix à l’esprit de l’île, et évoque sa grand-mère, la lune, Nookomis, veillant sur toutes celles qui la célèbrent et lui rendent hommage durant les cérémonies de la pleine lune. La flûtiste soliste incarne quant à elle une figure en transformation : vents froids par moments, puis esprit de l’air, souffle de vie, et Bineshiinh (petit oiseau), qui demeure auprès de Mindemoyenh tout au long de l’automne et de l’hiver, lui chantant de joyeuses et réconfortantes mélodies pour briser sa solitude hivernale. L’appel du Gookooko’oo (hibou), alors que Mindemoyenh tombe enfin dans un sommeil hibernal, nous rappelle la présence d’un autre esprit protecteur, le hibou, gardien des dormeurs et chasseur silencieux qui plane sous le couvert de la nuit et les rayons du clair de lune.

– Traduit d’après Barbara Croall

Edvard Grieg

Peer Gynt

Bergen (Norvège), 15 juin 1843;
Bergen, 4 septembre 1907

Paysages, sons et folklore norvégiens sont au cœur de l’œuvre de Grieg, surtout dans la musique de scène qu’il a composée pour le drame poétique Peer Gynt (1867) d’Henrik Ibsen. Dramaturge le plus célèbre de Norvège, Ibsen (1828–1906) n’envisageait pas, au départ, de faire représenter sa pièce monumentale qui, dans son esprit, se prêtait davantage à la lecture qu’à la scène, avec ses éléments empruntés aux contes de fées norvégiens et ses aspects fantastiques, satiriques et allégoriques. Il finit par changer d’avis et pria Grieg de lui écrire la musique d’accompagnement de la production, qui fut créée le 24 février 1876 à Christiania (auj. Oslo). Grieg composa ensuite des numéros supplémentaires pour les reprises à Copenhague (1885, 1892) et Christiania (1902).

Nous entendons ce soir une séquence d’une heure regroupant près des deux tiers de la musique de scène composée pour Peer Gynt : aux huit numéros des deux populaires suites pour orchestre qui en ont été tirées s’ajoute du matériau supplémentaire comprenant chœurs, narration et voix solistes. Les mélomanes familiers des deux suites remarqueront que certains de leurs numéros intègrent aussi, sous leur forme initiale, des éléments vocaux. La pièce d’Ibsen relate les aventures d’un personnage plutôt antipathique, égocentrique et complètement irresponsable, qui quitte sa ville natale pour parcourir le monde dans une quête incessante de gratification, ses manières grossières lui attirant l’animosité de tous ceux qu’il rencontre.

La pièce s’ouvre sur des noces. Peer montre d’emblée son vrai visage, alors qu’il enlève la mariée et l’abandonne aussitôt. Il fait ensuite la connaissance de turbulentes bergères qui appellent en vain leurs amants perdus (trolls); il leur propose de remplacer ces messieurs. Plus tard, Peer apparaît dans l’antre du roi de la montagne, où de hideux petits trolls, symbolisant les traits les plus détestables de l’esprit humain, le pourchassent et le tourmentent. Il éclate de rire en voyant danser de façon disgracieuse la fille du roi, qui n’est pas jolie. En colère, le roi de la montagne lance son armée de trolls aux trousses de Peer dans une scène tout à fait effrayante.

Au terme de longues années d’errance, Peer rentre à la maison à temps pour assister aux derniers instants de sa mère bien-aimée, Åse, qui meurt dans ses bras. Cette scène empreinte de tristesse, orchestrée pour les cordes seules, s’appuie sur un matériau musical ténu, un motif ascendant de trois notes. Les pérégrinations de Peer reprennent et l’entraînent en Afrique du Nord. Au matin évoque la beauté idyllique et la quiétude d’un lever du soleil dans le désert. De belles danseuses divertissent Peer en exécutant la Danse arabe, puis Anitra, fille d’un chef de tribu, fait de même seule. Peer la courtise alors avec une sérénade – seul moment de la pièce où l’acteur qui interprète ce rôle est appelé à chanter. Unique véritable amour de Peer, Solveig chante son espoir qu’il reviendra un jour se blottir dans ses bras.

Peer rentre finalement en Norvège pour une dernière fois, en pleine tempête, métaphore, sans doute, de son esprit troublé. Il trouve réconfort et pardon dans les bras de Solveig, qui lui chante le dernier numéro de la partition musicale, une réconfortante berceuse d’une infinie tendresse.

– Traduit d’après Robert Markow

Menu