October 13, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.

Animals of Distinction | Dana Gingras

FRONTERA

For over 20 years NAC Dance has been supporting the astonishing work of Dana Gingras, a fearless artist with a truly limitless imagination. Her newest piece Frontera, supported by the NAC Creation Fund, brings together scenography wizards United Visual Artists, post-rock mavericks Fly Pan Am, and a stunning ensemble of dancers in a raw, supercharged multi-media spectacle. Frontera explores the notion of physical and metaphorical boundaries; an apt subject for someone who has consistently pushed and redefined the boundaries of the art form. Enjoy!

FRONTERA

FRONTERA (border, frontier): a real or imaginary dividing line; the extreme limit of understanding in a particular area.

“Borders run across land but through people. On maps, they appear as fine one-dimensional lines, whereas on the ground they have many dimensions. Borderlands are boundaries in depth, space around a line, the place where state meets society, and where no one ever feels at home.”
– Zartman, I William, ed., Understanding Life in the Borderlands: Boundaries in Depth and in Motion

 

In an era of aggressive nationalism and corporate mass surveillance, the human body has never been rendered so visible, subject to increasingly invasive forms of industrial-scale oversight and processing.

Borders are boundaries, but they’re also processes, liminal spaces where despair, desire and neoliberal economic imperatives meet the obscure(d) operations of power. Surveillance technologies represent an advancing frontier of knowledge and control, monitoring movement, defining identities and gathering data. Increasingly, the border moves with the body, and seeks to organise and orchestrate its passage through the world.

In an audio-synchronised field of light and projection created by United Visual Artists (UVA) and with live music by Fly Pan Am and field recordings by Godspeed’s Dave Bryant, FRONTERA’s nine dancers navigate spaces of inclusion and exclusion; their bodies mapped in high resolution, their destinies unresolved.

As the public and private realms are consumed by monitoring technologies and tests of legitimacy, what space remains for the unruly, ungovernable body?

Acknowledgements

Thank you to the following for their openness, generosity and willingness to be interviewed:

Klavdij Sluban
Slovenian photographer/Photographe slovène

Gabriel Acuna
Activist from El Paso, Texas, U.S.

Alexis Ipatovtsev
Radio journalist from Saint Petersburg, Russia

Werner Hampl
Built one of the first tunnels between East and West Berlin from Berlin, Germany

Kate Nolan 
Photographer from Dublin, Ireland

François Le Blond 
Writer from Paris, France, active in gay liberation movement in the 70’s

Alex Piero  
Former doctor of psychoanalysis from Rome, Italy

Cande Andrade   
Video editor and media designer born and raised in México. He lives in Canada

- - -

Thank you
Justin Evans, Beryl & Lionel Gingras, Karine Denault, Claudia Fancello, Laurie-Anne Langis, Sonya Stefan, Cathy Levy, Pierre Des Marais, Caroline Ohrt, Wesley Enoch, Oliver Baurhenn, Joyce Rosario, Clothilde Cardinal, Francine Bernier, Constellation Records, Canada Council for the Arts & Conseil des Arts et des Lettres du Québec.

And a special thank you to the great team at CCOV.

Animals of Distinction

About the Company

Animals of Distinction (AOD) is the multimedia dance company of renowned choreographer and dancer Dana Gingras. Through AOD, Gingras has fostered the creation of numerous cutting-edge works that have involved innovative collaborations across diverse mediums and artistic practices, all shaped by the possibilities of new technologies and cultural shifts.

“At the centre of the work is a belief that we can obtain critical knowledge from engaging with the physical and emotional risks inherent to dance and movement. It is through the body and choreography that this element of risk can be employed to explore a vision of the world that is larger than our individual isolated experiences. The goal is to stimulate audiences to become more aware of the elements of complexity, connectivity, and complicity within our physical, social, and emotional lives.”

– Dana Gingras, Artistic Director, Animals of Distinction

Centre de Création O Vertigo (CCOV)

Note from the Executive Producer

With FRONTERA, the Centre de Création O Vertigo – CCOV officially turns to a new page in its history. In 2016, after more than 30 years of lighting up the world’s stages with highly-acclaimed performances that established O Vertigo Danse as one of Canada’s most distinguished dance companies, Ginette Laurin initiated a succession plan to establish a new company model that responds to the creative practices of today’s dance artists. As innovative as Ginette Laurin’s spirit, the Centre de Création O Vertigo – CCOV is a dynamic structure whose mission includes producing ambitious, large-scale creations by a new generation of visionary artists.

Big, bold and compelling, Dana Gingras’ FRONTERA is the first work to be born from the CCOV’s artist-in-residence program. We couldn’t be more excited to launch this new chapter with her!

– Paul Caskey, Executive Producer, Centre de Création O Vertigo 

 

About the Company

The Centre de Création O Vertigo (CCOV) is a centre for reflection, research and Creation in contemporary dance, an incubator of ideas and talent. Its mission: to offer dance artists access to its studios and support the creation of choreographic works through short-term residencies offered to about 20 choreographers per year, or through its flagship program: the two‑year long-term residency, whose first recipient was Dana Gingras (2017–2019). The CCOV also promotes artistic outreach and exchange by presenting activities that are open to the public.

Credits

Premiere: November 20, 2019
Grand Théâtre de Québec, Québec, Canada (A copresentation from La Rotonde and Le Grand Théâtre de Québec)

Choreography and direction: Dana Gingras
Executive Producer: Centre de Création O Vertigo (CCOV)
Coproduction: Animals of Distinction

Created with and performed by: 
Robert Abubo
Léna Demnati
Stacey Désilier
Caroline Gravel
Louise Michel Jackson
Justin de Luna
Mark Medrano
Sovann Rochon-Prom Tep
Koliane Rochon-Prom Tep
Lexi Vajda

A special thank you to dancers Ellen Furey, Esther Rousseau Morin and Paige Culley who were an integral part of the creation process.

Artistic Team
Visual concept & Scenography: United Visual Artists
Live music: Fly Pan Am
Field recordings & interviews: Dave Bryant
Assistant to the Choreographer & Rehearsal director: Sarah Williams
Costumes: Sandra Richefort
Producer & Agent: Sarah Rogers

Creation residencies:
Centre de Création O Vertigo (Montréal), Théâtre Maisonneuve, Place des Arts (Montréal), Salle Pierre-Mercure, Centre Pierre-Péladeau (Montréal)

Touring crew
Stage manager: Mylène Caya
Tour manager: Dominique Sarrazin
Technical director: Jean-François Piché
Sound technician: Radwan Ghazi Moumneh

- - -

Coproducers
Danse Danse (Montréal), Sydney Festival, CTM Festival (Berlin) & PuSh International Performing Arts Festival (Vancouver)

Developed with the support of the National Arts Centre’s National Creation Fund.

Animals of Distinction Team

Artistic Direction: Dana Gingras
Producer: Sarah Rogers
Administration: Stephanie Murphy

Board of Directors: 
Suzanne Hawkes, Patty Jones, Dianne Kennedy, Patricia Kim, Mike Magee, Marie Brassard, Daniel Canty, Karine Denault, Line Nault & Sonya Stefan

Centre de Création O Vertigo (CCOV) Team

Executive Director: Paul Caskey
Production Director: André Houle
Administrative Director: Valerie Buddle
Artistic Curator: Andrew Tay
Communications: Christel Durand & Jeanne Robichaud
Coordination: Gaétan Paré

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 22 octobre 2021.

Animals of Distinction | Dana Gingras

FRONTERA

Danse CNA appuie l’œuvre remarquable de Dana Gingras depuis plus de vingt ans. Pour Frontera, sa dernière création, l’artiste audacieuse à l’imagination sans bornes rassemble les génies de la scénographie United Visual Artists, les anticonformistes du post-rock Fly Pan Am et un superbe ensemble de danseurs sur fond de multimédia cru et surchargé tout à la fois. Avec le soutien du Fonds national de création du CNA, Frontera raconte une histoire de frontières – physiques et métaphoriques – digne d’une artiste qui repousse et redéfinit systématiquement les limites de son art. Bon spectacle!

FRONTERA

FRONTERA (frontière, lisière) : démarcation réelle ou imaginaire; limite du savoir dans un domaine spécifique.

« Les frontières séparent les territoires, mais non les gens. Sur les cartes, ce sont de fines lignes unidimensionnelles, alors que sur le terrain, elles ont plusieurs dimensions. Les zones frontalières sont des frontières de profondeur, espaces autour des lignes où États et sociétés se rencontrent et où personne n’est chez lui. »
– Zartman, I William, éd., Understanding Life in the Borderlands: Boundaries in Depth and in Motion

 

À une époque où règnent le nationalisme agressif et la surveillance organisationnelle à grande échelle, jamais le corps humain n’aura été aussi visible, soumis à des formes de surveillance et de traitements toujours plus invasives.

Les frontières sont des limites, mais aussi des processus, des espaces liminaux où le désespoir, le désir et les impératifs économiques néolibéraux se mêlent aux obscures manœuvres du pouvoir. Les technologies de surveillance repoussent les frontières du savoir et du contrôle, suivent les mouvements, définissent l’identité et collectent des données. Les frontières accompagnent de plus en plus les corps, organisant et dirigeant leur passage dans le monde.

Dans un univers où son et lumière sont synchronisés (éclairages et projections de United Visual Artists; musique en direct de Fly Pan Am; enregistrements de Dave Bryant de Godspeed), les neuf interprètes de FRONTERA traversent des espaces d’inclusion et d’exclusion, leurs corps modélisés en haute définition, leurs destins en suspens.

Alors que les technologies de surveillance brouillent les frontières entre univers privés et publics et remettent leur légitimité en question, quel espace reste-t-il pour le corps rebelle et ingouvernable?

Remerciements

Merci aux personnes suivantes pour leur ouverture d’esprit, leur générosité et leur bonne volonté en entrevue :

Klavdij Sluban
Photographe slovène

Gabriel Acuna
Activiste d’El Paso, Texas, États-Unis

Alexis Ipatovtsev
Journaliste radio de Saint-Pétersbourg, Russie

Werner Hampl
Personne qui a construit l’un des premiers tunnels entre Berlin-Est et Berlin-Ouest, Allemagne

Kate Nolan 
Photographe de Dublin, Irlande

François Le Blond 
Écrivain et activiste du mouvement de libération homosexuelle dans les années 1970, Paris, France

Alex Piero  
Ancien psychanalyste, Rome, Italie

Cande Andrade   
Monteur vidéo et concepteur multimédia né au Mexique et vivant actuellement au Canada

- - -

Merci aussi à
Justin Evans, Beryl & Lionel Gingras, Karine Denault, Claudia Fancello, Laurie-Anne Langis, Sonya Stefan, Cathy Levy, Pierre Des Marais, Caroline Ohrt, Wesley Enoch, Oliver Baurhenn, Joyce Rosario, Clothilde Cardinal, Francine Bernier, Constellation Records, le Conseil des arts du Canada et
Conseil des Arts et des Lettres du Québec.

Et un merci spécial à la super équipe du CCOV.

Animals of Distinction

À propos de la compagnie

Animals of Distinction (AOD) est une compagnie de danse multimédia dirigée par la chorégraphe et interprète Dana Gingras. À travers AOD, Gingras favorise la création de nombreuses œuvres avant-gardistes nées de collaborations innovantes et faisant appel à une variété de formes et de pratiques artistiques, façonnées par les changements culturels et les multiples possibilités qu’offrent les nouvelles technologies.

« Au cœur de l’œuvre se trouve la conviction que nous pouvons obtenir des connaissances essentielles en acceptant les risques physiques et émotionnels inhérents à la danse et au mouvement. C’est à travers le corps et la chorégraphie qu’on peut mettre ce risque à profit pour explorer le monde au-delà de nos propres expériences personnelles. Nous souhaitons inciter le public à prendre davantage conscience de la complexité, de la connectivité et de la complicité qui sont présentes dans nos vies physique, sociale et émotionnelle. »

– Dana Gingras, Directrice artistique, Animals of Distinction

Centre de Création O Vertigo (CCOV)

Mot du Producteur exécutif

Avec la présentation sur scène de FRONTERA, le Centre de Création O Vertigo (CCOV) écrit une nouvelle page de son histoire! En effet, en 2016, Ginette Laurin, prolifique chorégraphe d’O Vertigo, entame un plan de succession de sa compagnie. Après plus de 30 ans consacrés au rayonnement de la danse québécoise sur toutes les scènes du monde, elle souhaite léguer O Vertigo aux artistes et en faire un centre de création ouvert à toute la communauté de la danse. Avec la naissance du Centre de Création O Vertigo, nous offrons à une nouvelle génération d’artistes visionnaires une structure dynamique pour produire leurs œuvres ambitieuses et d’envergure.

Grandiose, audacieuse et exaltante, FRONTERA de Dana Gingras est la première œuvre issue de notre programme de résidence longue durée, et c’est avec une grande fierté que nous débutons, avec elle, ce nouveau chapitre.

– Paul Caskey, Directeur général, Centre de Création O Vertigo 

 

À propos de la compagnie

Le Centre de Création O Vertigo (CCOV) est un espace dédié à la réflexion, à la recherche et à la création en danse contemporaine. C’est un incubateur de talents et de nouvelles idées. Le centre a une mission première : donner accès à ses studios à une vingtaine d’artistes de danse chaque année et soutenir la création de chorégraphies par l’entremise de résidences de courte durée ou d’une résidence de deux ans. Dana Gingras a été la première chorégraphe sélectionnée pour ce dernier type de résidence (2017–2019). Le CCOV soutient aussi les initiatives artistiques et les échanges communautaires en proposant une variété d’activités au public.

Première : 20 novembre 2019
Grand Théâtre de Québec, Québec, Canada (Une coprésentation de La Rotonde et du Grand Théâtre de Québec)

Chorégraphie et direction : Dana Gingras
Producteur exécutif : Centre de Création O Vertigo (CCOV)
Coproduction : Animals of Distinction

Créée avec et interprétée par :
Robert Abubo
Léna Demnati
Stacey Désilier
Caroline Gravel
Louise Michel Jackson
Justin de Luna
Mark Medrano
Sovann Rochon-Prom Tep
Koliane Rochon-Prom Tep
Lexi Vajda

Un remerciement spécial à Ellen Furey, Esther Rousseau Morin et Paige Culley pour leur participation active au processus de création.

Équipe de création

Conception visuelle et scénographie : United Visual Artists
Musique en direct : Fly Pan Am
Enregistrements de terrain et entrevues : Dave Bryant
Assistante à la chorégraphe et répétitrice : Sarah Williams
Costumes : Sandra Richefort
Productrice et agente : Sarah Rogers

Résidences de création :
Centre de Création O Vertigo (Montréal), Théâtre Maisonneuve, Place des Arts (Montréal), Salle Pierre-Mercure, Centre Pierre-Péladeau (Montréal)

Équipe de tournée

Régisseuse : Mylène Caya
Directrice de tournée : Dominique Sarrazin
Directeur technique : Jean-François Piché
Sonorisateur : Radwan Ghazi Moumneh

- - -

Coproducteurs 
Danse Danse (Montréal), Sydney Festival, CTM Festival (Berlin) & PuSh International Performing Arts Festival (Vancouver)

Développée avec le soutien du Fonds national de création du Centre national des Arts.

Équipe de la compagnie Animals of Distinction

Direction artistique : Dana Gingras
Productrice : Sarah Rogers
Administration : Stephanie Murphy

Conseil d’administration :
Suzanne Hawkes, Patty Jones, Dianne Kennedy, Patricia Kim, Mike Magee, Marie Brassard, Daniel Canty, Karine Denault, Line Nault & Sonya Stefan

Équipe du Centre de Création O Vertigo (CCOV)

Directeur général : Paul Caskey
Directeur de production  : André Houle
Directrice administrative : Valerie Buddle
Commissaire artistique  : Andrew Tay
Communications : Christel Durand et Jeanne Robichaud
Coordination : Gaétan Paré

Menu