October 2020 update on live performances and events at the NAC.

Che Malambo

The powerful joy of Argentina’s Che Malambo is palpable – they are simply riveting to watch. In their 12 years of touring the world, thousands of spectators have fallen under the Malambo spell. Their percussive and intricate footwork is blended with the rhythms and songs at the heart of their gaucho traditions. Like horses storming the stage, these 12 dynamo dancers bring passion and vitality to this exquisite evening. In bringing a spectrum of dance styles to our stages, NAC Dance is thrilled to welcome Che Malambo for this premiere performance. Enjoy!


Program

Concept, Choreography, Staging & Musical Composition: Gilles Brinas

Choreography developed in collaboration with the artists of Che Malambo using their artistic input and individual techniques.

Lighting Concept & Design: Gilles Brinas

Rhythm and Music Composition inspired by traditional Argentine folk music and performed by the artists of Che Malambo.
 

Malambo is a centuries-old contest dance traditionally practiced by gauchos, or South American cowboys. Che Malambo reinvigorates the unique tradition in a fiery, thrilling spectacle of percussive dance and music.

Che Malambo

The Argentine-based company, Che Malambo, excites audiences through precise footwork and rhythmic stomping, drumming of the bombos, and singing and whirling boleadoras (lassos with stones on the end). Presenting a thrilling, percussive dance and music spectacle, the company’s work celebrates the unique South American cowboy tradition of the gaucho. This powerhouse all-male company of gauchos is directed by French choreographer and former ballet dancer, Gilles Brinas.

Like many who fall under the spell of traditional dances, Gilles Brinas is fascinated and troubled by the Malambo. He flew to Buenos Aires in search of this dance so typical of the Pampa region of Argentina. Brinas was drawn to the particular rhythms, the haunting characters, and the lonely expressions of the gaucho who spends his life on horseback. The Malambo is filled with deeply personal solos reflecting this rich tradition. Brinas was inspired by the talented artists he found in Buenos Aires and was moved to create the company Che Malambo from the best Malambo dancers in Argentina.

After premiering in Paris in 2007 and sporadically touring around the world, Che Malambo embarked on a three-city U.S. tour in 2013. In 2015, the company was invited for a limited engagement performing on the opening night of New York City Center’s annually sold-out series, Fall for Dance.

Since 2016, the company has performed in over 100 cities in 11 countries in Europe, Asia and the Middle Eastn including four North American tours and week-long runs in London, Berlin, Cologne and a 60 performance, three-month run in Paris, France.

Che Malambo brings fiery Malambo traditions, live music and virtuosic dancing to the contemporary stage for an exhilarating and entertaining show that is perfect for the entire family. Danced solely by men, the Malambo began in the 17th century as competitive duels that would challenge skills of agility, strength, and dexterity. Zapeteo, their fast-paced footwork, is inspired by the rhythm of galloping horses in their native Argentina.


Artists

View all artists ›
Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour de septembre 2020.

Che Malambo

La joie qui émane de la troupe argentine Che Malambo est palpable – elle fascine à coup sûr. Au fil de douze ans de tournées à l’échelle du monde, des spectateurs par milliers sont tombés sous son charme. Des rythmes et chansons inspirés de la tradition gaucho donnent la cadence aux jeux de pieds percussifs et complexes des infatigables interprètes, 12 en tout, qui dominent la scène avec passion, vitalité et la force d’un troupeau en plein galop. Danse CNA est ravie de célébrer la diversité de la danse en accueillant Che Malambo pour une première fois. Bon spectacle!


Programme

Conception, chorégraphie, mise en scène et composition de la musique : Gilles Brinas

Chorégraphie élaborée en collaboration avec les interprètes de Che Malambo, qui ont partagé leurs propres techniques et suggestions artistiques.

Conception des éclairages et scénographie : Gilles Brinas

Les compositions musicales interprétées par les membres de la compagnie s’inspirent de rythmes et de la musique folk traditionnelle de l’Argentine.
 

Le malambo est une ancienne danse traditionnelle dans laquelle des gauchos (cowboys sud-américains) s’affrontent en duel. La compagnie Che Malambo donne un souffle nouveau à cette tradition unique dans un spectacle flamboyant et électrisant qui réunit danse et musique percutantes.

Che Malambo

Compagnie basée en Argentine, Che Malambo ravit les spectateurs par son jeu de pied précis et sa podorythmie vigoureuse, accompagnés sur scène du chant, des bombos (tambours) et des claquements des boleadoras (lassos auxquels on attache des pierres). Elle rend hommage aux traditions des gauchos à travers un captivant spectacle de danse et de musique des plus percutants. Formée exclusivement d’interprètes masculins, la compagnie est dirigée par l’ancien danseur de ballet et chorégraphe français Gilles Brinas.

À l’instar de nombreux aficionados des danses traditionnelles, Brinas est fasciné et troublé par le malambo. Il s’est déplacé jusqu’à Buenos Aires pour mieux connaître cette danse typique de la pampa argentine, et a été séduit par ses rythmes particuliers, ses personnages envoûtants et la solitude du gaucho sur son cheval. Le malambo est rempli de solos intimistes, reflet de la richesse de cette tradition. Brinas a été tellement inspiré par les artistes rencontrés en Argentine qu’il a décidé de créer la compagnie Che Malambo afin de réunir les meilleurs danseurs de tout le pays.

Après des débuts à Paris en 2007 et des tournées sporadiques à travers le monde, Che Malambo a tourné dans trois villes américaines en 2013. Deux ans plus tard, la compagnie était invitée à se produire à la soirée d’ouverture de Fall for Dance, série annuelle de spectacles présentée à guichets fermés au New York City Center.

Depuis 2016, la compagnie a offert des spectacles dans plus de 100 villes de 11 pays d’Europe, d’Asie, du Moyen-Orient et d’Amérique du Nord. Elle a notamment été à l’affiche pendant une semaine à Londres, Berlin et Cologne; donné 60 représentations en trois mois à Paris; et effectué quatre tournées en Amérique du Nord.

Che Malambo fait connaître sur la scène contemporaine les flamboyantes traditions, la musique et les pas de danse virtuoses du malambo dans des spectacles captivants qui conviennent à toute la famille. Né au XVIIe siècle, le malambo est exclusivement interprété par des hommes, qui s’affrontent dans des duels compétitifs où agilité, puissance et dextérité sont mises à l’épreuve. Le typique zapateo (jeu de pied) rythmé s’inspire du galop des chevaux dans l’Argentine des gauchos.


Artistes

En savoir plus ›
Menu