Kidd Pivot

Revisor

It’s such an honour to bring to Ottawa a vast world of dance, shaped by some of the most gifted and innovative artists working across a broad spectrum of styles and influences. As we continue to search out the best and brightest dance companies to present to you, our wonderfully receptive and enthusiastic audience, we invite you to explore the new and the familiar on this extraordinary journey of life in motion!

Crystal Pite’s artistry is boundless, with one inventive quest after the next. Her extraordinary talent at assembling movement, text, sound, and design has produced multilayered signature creations that redefine the art form. In Revisor, her third collaboration with esteemed writer/theatre artist Jonathon Young, the relationship between people and politics is boldly examined through farce and conflict. Whether devising sweeping creations for the world’s major companies or poignant contemporary language for Kidd Pivot, Pite’s vision and artistic acumen are astounding. Having proudly presented and supported Crystal’s work for more than 20 years, we’re thrilled to welcome her newest creation to our season. NAC Dance is honoured to bring you these performances on the traditional, unceded territory of the Algonquin Nation, and we gratefully acknowledge them as past, present, and future stewards of this land. Enjoy! 


A Message from the Creators

We began with an old, well-known story about mistaken identity.

The story is based on an anecdote that surfaced in Russia in 1833, and quickly spread. It is now widely accepted as probably true.

In 1836, the story took shape in a five-act play. The play premiered in St. Petersburg before the Czar, who according to reports, laughed and applauded, and is said to have remarked “Everybody gets it, and I most of all!”

The play was in disguise as a comedy.

Underneath the superficial subject of mistaken identity there were, of course, deeper subjects such as deceit, tyranny, greed and corruption. Willful blindness and complicity. Bureaucracy and officialdom. Human suffering. The coming storm. The promise of change. Imminent overthrow. Salvation on the horizon. Retribution just around the corner. Justice at the gate.

There is evidence from the critical response that its arrival on stage was unwelcome; it was said to be unoriginal, improbable, coarse and vulgar. It turned on a stale anecdote everyone knew, it was a rank farce and the characters were mere caricatures. It didn’t matter: the rank farce about mistaken identity quickly took its place as a national institution.

Reports indicate that the playwright of the rank farce raged against the “unctuous, cloying, farcical style” of the original production — a style that nonetheless became convention for decades. The Playwright insisted that he had been misread, and that his text contained an urgent moral indictment, a religious allegory, and a portrait of the universal soul in exile.

(Incidentally, the play is called The Inspector General, or, in the original Russian, Revizor, and the playwright is Nikolai Gogol. Gogol repeatedly tried to revise Revizor to prevent further abuses of his underlying intentions, all in vain.)

Since the 1830s, the play has been translated and adapted countless times. We approached the original text as a matrix for both voice and body and found it to be malleable and resonant. Our quest has been to locate and portray a glimpse of the soul within this most unlikely frame: a well-worn farce about corruption and deceit.

We would like to thank all of our performers and collaborators for their essential contributions to the making of Revisor. They are the lifeblood of our creation; each of them masterful, generous, and truly inspiring. We are deeply grateful.

Jonathon and Crystal

Kidd Pivot

Integrating movement, original music, text, and rich visual design, Kidd Pivot’s performance work is assembled with recklessness and rigour, balancing sharp exactitude with irreverence and risk. Under the direction of internationally renowned Canadian choreographer Crystal Pite, the company’s distinct choreographic language – a breadth of movement fusing classical elements and the complexity and freedom of structured improvisation – is marked by a strong theatrical sensibility and a keen sense of wit and invention.

Kidd Pivot tours extensively around the world with productions such as Betroffenheit (2015), The Tempest Replica (2011), The You Show (2010), Dark Matters (2009), and Lost Action (2006).

- - - - -
Artistic Director: Crystal Pite 

Associate Artistic Director: Eric Beauchesne

Writer-in-Residence: Jonathon Young

Executive Director: Jim Smith

Producer: Jason Dubois

Associate Producer: Francesca Piscopo

Communications and Marketing Manager: Katherine Chan

Accounts Manager: Ann Hepper

Production Manager: Jeff Harrison

Fundraising Associate: Brent Belsher

Office Manager: Lo McEwan

Administration Assistant: Kevin Locsin

Media Relations: Murray Paterson Marketing Group 

Agents for Kidd Pivot: 
Eponymous (Canada)
Menno Plukker Theatre Agent Inc. (except / à l'exception du Canada )

- - - - -
Kidd Pivot Board of Directors

President : Guy Riecken 

Vice President: Barry McKinnon

Treasurer: Ainslie Cyopik

Secretary: Dory Dynna

Directors: Valerie Jerome, Derek Porter & Fiona Hanington

- - - - -
Producing Partners and Funders

Co-produced by Sadler’s Wells (London, UK), Théâtre de la Ville/La Villette (Paris, France), Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity (Banff, Canada), University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (North Carolina, US), Canadian Stage (Toronto, Canada), National Arts Centre (Ottawa, Canada), DanceHouse (Vancouver, Canada), Dance Victoria (Victoria, Canada), Danse Danse (Montreal, Canada) and Seattle Theatre Group (Seattle, US).

Revisor

Revisor is one of the 200 exceptional projects funded through the Canada Council for the Arts’ New Chapter Program. With this $35M investment, the Council supports the creation and sharing of the arts in communities across Canada.

Developed with support from the National Arts Centre’s National Creation Fund.

Kidd Pivot benefits from the support of BNP Paribas Foundation for the development of its projects.

Kidd Pivot gratefully acknowledges the support of the Canada Council for the Arts, the Government of British Columbia, British Columbia Arts Council, City of Vancouver, and countless individual and business supporters.

Eponymous gratefully acknowledges the support of the Canada Council for the Arts.

World Premiere:
February 20, 2019, Vancouver Playhouse, Vancouver, Canada

 

Created by: Crystal Pite & Jonathon Young 

Written by: Jonathon Young

Choreographed and Directed by: Crystal Pite

Original Music and Sound Design: Owen Belton, Alessandro Juliani & Meg Roe

Scenic Design: Jay Gower Taylor

Costume Design: Nancy Bryant

Lighting Design: Tom Visser

Assistant to the Creators: Eric Beauchesne

Dancers: Doug Letheren, Rena Narumi, Matthew Peacock, David Raymond, Ella Rothschild, Cindy Salgado, Jermaine Spivey, Tiffany Tregarthen

Swing: Renée Sigouin

Voices: Kathleen Barr, Ryan Beil, Alessandro Juliani, Nicola Lipman, Scott McNeil, Gerald Plunkett, Meg Roe, Amy Rutherford, Jonathon Young

Voice Director: Meg Roe

Technical Director: Jeff Harrison 

Stage Manager: Isaac Robinson

Show Control Design: Eric Chad

Lighting and Sound Technician: Lukas McCormick

Wig and Wardrobe Coordinator: Stevie Hale Jones

Set and Prop Construction: Great Northern Way Scene Shop

Cutter: Janet Dundas

Costume Assistant: Alaia Hamer

Stitchers: Megan Veaudry, Jen Reid & Christine Pampel

Headpiece Sculptor: Heidi Wilkinson

Company Manager on Tour: Brent Belsher

Executive Producer: Jim Smith

Producer: Jason Dubois

Associate Producer: Francesca Piscopo


Menu

Le CNA prolonge les annulations et les reports d'événements jusqu'au 31 août

Kidd Pivot

Revisor

C’est pour moi un privilège d’accueillir à Ottawa des artistes talentueux et inventifs du monde de la danse qui s’inspirent de sources variées et embrassent toute une gamme de styles différents. Nous sommes constamment à l’affût des compagnies les plus brillantes et innovantes pour les présenter à notre public si réceptif et enthousiaste. Nous vous invitons à explorer l’inconnu et le familier dans ce voyage extraordinaire au cœur de la vie en mouvement!

D’un projet créatif à l’autre, l’art de Crystal Pite est sans limites. Avec son talent remarquable pour assembler mouvement, texte, son et scénographie, elle a produit des œuvres emblématiques qui offrent de multiples niveaux de lecture et redéfinissent la discipline. Dans Revisor, sa troisième collaboration avec l’éminent auteur et homme de théâtre Jonathon Young, les rapports entre la population et le pouvoir politique sont passés au crible de la farce et de la confrontation. Qu’elle imagine des créations d’envergure pour les grandes compagnies du monde ou des pièces contemporaines prenantes pour sa compagnie Kidd Pivot, Crystal Pite ne cesse d’impressionner par sa vision et ses réalisations artistiques. Nous sommes ravis d’inclure dans notre saison le plus récent spectacle de cette artiste d’exception dont nous diffusons les œuvres et appuyons la démarche depuis plus de 20 ans. Danse CNA est fière de vous présenter ces prestations en territoire traditionnel non cédé de la Nation algonquine, en qui nous reconnaissons avec gratitude une gardienne du passé, du présent et de l’avenir de ces terres. Bon spectacle!


Un mot des créateurs

Nous sommes partis d’une vieille histoire bien connue d’erreur sur la personne.

Le scénario du spectacle s’inspire d’une anecdote qui a fait surface en Russie, vers 1830, et qui s’est rapidement propagée. On admet communément, aujourd’hui, qu’elle est authentique.

En 1836, cette anecdote a été mise en scène sous la forme d’une pièce de théâtre en cinq actes. Celle-ci a été créée à Saint‑Pétersbourg en présence du tsar, qui, selon les témoignages, aurait beaucoup ri et applaudi, et déclaré à la tombée du rideau : « Tout le monde en a pris pour son grade, et moi le premier! »

La pièce se présentait comme une comédie. 

Le thème superficiel de l’erreur sur la personne n’était, bien sûr, qu’un prétexte pour aborder des sujets plus graves comme la tromperie, la tyrannie, la cupidité et la corruption; l’aveuglement volontaire et la complicité; la bureaucratie et les tracasseries administratives; souffrance humaine; une tempête imminente; la promesse du changement; un soulèvement attendu; le salut à l’horizon; le châtiment tout proche; la justice qui frappe à la porte. 

On sait, par les comptes rendus critiques de l’époque, que tous ne furent pas ravis de voir cette pièce portée à la scène : on lui reprocha son manque d’originalité, la qualifiant d’invraisemblable, crue et vulgaire; elle était bâtie sur une anecdote éculée, connue de tous; c’était une simple farce dont les personnages n’étaient que des caricatures. Néanmoins, cette « simple farce » d’erreur sur la personne n’a pas tardé à s’imposer comme une véritable institution nationale.

On rapporte que l’auteur de la pièce déplora vivement le « style maniéré, balourd, grotesque » de la production originale – un style qui ne s’en est pas moins imposé comme une convention théâtrale dans les décennies suivantes. Il jura qu’on l’avait mal interprété, et que son texte comportait une condamnation morale pressante, une allégorie religieuse et un portrait de l’âme universelle en exil. 

(Incidemment, la pièce s’intitule L’inspecteur général, soit Revizor en russe, et son auteur est Nicolas Gogol. Celui-ci remania plusieurs fois son Revizor pour éviter que ses intentions initiales ne soient à nouveau trahies, mais en vain.)

Depuis les années 1830, la pièce a fait l’objet d’innombrables traductions et adaptations. Nous avons abordé le texte original comme une matrice pour la voix et le corps, et il nous est apparu malléable et riche en résonances. Notre quête a été de débusquer ce qui se cache dans ce cadre des plus improbables et d’en restituer l’esprit : une farce usée sur la corruption et la duperie.

Nous voulons remercier tous nos interprètes et collaborateurs pour leur apport essentiel au développement de Revisor. Ils sont le moteur de notre création; ce sont des artistes remarquables, généreux et inspirants. Nous leur en sommes profondément reconnaissants.

Jonathon et Crystal

Kidd Pivot

Le travail de Kidd Pivot intègre mouvement, musique originale, texte et aspects visuels recherchés. Rigueur et persévérance font également partie du processus de création, dans lequel la grande précision du mouvement se trouve toujours contrebalancée par une prise de risque et une certaine irrévérence. Sous la direction de Crystal Pite, chorégraphe canadienne de réputation internationale, le langage chorégraphique propre à Kidd Pivot – gestuelle ample fusionnant des éléments de danse classique avec la complexité et la liberté que procurent des improvisations structurées – est marqué par une forte sensibilité théâtrale, une vivacité d’esprit et une grande inventivité.

La compagnie Kidd Pivot effectue de grandes tournées mondiales pour présenter des productions telles que Betroffenheit (2015), The Tempest Replica (2011), The You Show (2010), Dark Matters (2009) et Lost Action (2006).

- - - - -
Directrice artistique : Crystal Pite 

Directeur artistique associé : Eric Beauchesne

Auteur en résidence : Jonathon Young

Directeur administratif : Jim Smith

Producteur : Jason Dubois

Productrice associée : Francesca Piscopo

Directrice des communications et du marketing : Katherine Chan

Directrice des comptes : Ann Hepper

Directeur de production : Jeff Harrison

Associé de collecte de fonds : Brent Belsher

Chef de bureau : Lo McEwan

Adjoint administratif : Kevin Locsin

Relations avec les médias : Murray Paterson Marketing Group 

Agents de Kidd Pivot : 
Eponymous (Canada)
Menno Plukker Theatre Agent Inc. (except / à l'exception du Canada )

- - - - -
Conseil d’administration de Kidd Pivot

Président : Guy Riecken 

Vice-président : Barry McKinnon

Trésorière : Ainslie Cyopik

Secrétaire : Dory Dynna

Directeurs : Valerie Jerome, Derek Porter et Fiona Hanington

- - - - -
Partenaires financiers et de production

Coproducteurs : Sadler’s Wells (Londres, R.‑U.), Théâtre de la Ville/La Villette (Paris, France), Centre des arts de Banff (Banff, Canada), University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (Caroline du Nord, É.‑U.), Canadian Stage (Toronto, Canada), Centre national des Arts (Ottawa, Canada), DanceHouse (Vancouver, Canada), Dance Victoria (Victoria, Canada), Danse Danse (Montréal, Canada) et Seattle Theatre Group (Seattle, É.‑U.).

Revisor

Revisor est l’un des 200 projets exceptionnels financés par le biais du programme Nouveau chapitre du Conseil des arts du Canada. Grâce à son investissement de 35 millions de dollars, le Conseil soutient la création et le partage des arts dans des collectivités d’un bout à l’autre du Canada.

Développé avec le soutien du Fonds national de création du Centre national des Arts.

Kidd Pivot bénéficie du soutien de la Fondation BNP Paribas pour la réalisation de ses projets.

Kidd Pivot remercie, pour leur soutien, le Conseil des arts du Canada, le gouvernement de la Colombie‑Britannique, le Conseil des arts de la Colombie-Britannique, la ville de Vancouver et de nombreux donateurs et sociétés commanditaires.

Eponymous remercie le Conseil des arts du Canada pour son soutien.

Revisor

Création :
20 février 2019, Vancouver Playhouse, Vancouver, Canada

 

Création : Crystal Pite et Jonathon Young 

Texte : Jonathon Young

Chorégraphie et mise en scène : Crystal Pite

Musique originale et environnements sonores: Owen Belton, Alessandro Juliani et Meg Roe

Scénographie : Jay Gower Taylor

Costumes : Nancy Bryant

Éclairages : Tom Visser

Assistant à la création : Eric Beauchesne

Interprètes : Doug Letheren, Rena Narumi, Matthew Peacock, David Raymond, Ella Rothschild, Cindy Salgado, Jermaine Spivey, Tiffany Tregarthen

Remplaçante : Renée Sigouin

Voix : Kathleen Barr, Ryan Beil, Alessandro Juliani, Nicola Lipman, Scott McNeil, Gerald Plunkett, Meg Roe, Amy Rutherford, Jonathon Young

Direction vocale : Meg Roe

Directeur technique : Jeff Harrison 

Régisseur : Isaac Robinson

Concepteur du système de commande du spectacle : Eric Chad

Technicien d’éclairage et de son : Lukas McCormick

Perruquière et costumière : Stevie Hale Jones

Construction du décor et des accessoires : Great Northern Way Scene Shop

Costumière : Janet Dundas

Assistante aux costumes : Alaia Hamer

Couturières : Megan Veaudry, Jen Reid & Christine Pampel

Créatrice des coiffures et accessoires de tête : Heidi Wilkinson

Directeur de tournée : Brent Belsher

Producteur exécutif : Jim Smith

Producteur : Jason Dubois

Productrice associée : Francesca Piscopo


Menu