Canada’s Royal Winnipeg Ballet

Vespers

It’s such an honour to bring to Ottawa a vast world of dance, shaped by some of the most gifted and innovative artists working across a broad spectrum of styles and influences. As we continue to search out the best and brightest dance companies to present to you, our wonderfully receptive and enthusiastic audience, we invite you to explore the new and the familiar on this extraordinary journey of life in motion! 

The building of a new ballet is an enormous project, and I applaud the Royal Winnipeg Ballet for taking on this creative endeavour. James Kudelka is undoubtedly one of our country’s most important choreographers, and his ambitious and dramatic new creation, based on the music of Monteverdi’s Vespers, 1610 – and featuring the exquisite Evelyn Hart in a special role – leaves a beautiful lasting impression. 
 

FUN FACTS! 

Including Vespers, the Royal Winnipeg Ballet has commissioned 18 full-length ballets in the last 20 years. 

James Kudelka’s inspiration to create animal characters came from perceiving animal sounds in Monteverdi’s score. 

James Kudelka and Evelyn Hart studied at the same time in 1973 at the National Ballet School.

Canada’s Royal Winnipeg Ballet is delighted to welcome you to Vespers, James Kudelka’s newest creation based on the music of Claudio Monteverdi’s “Vespers”.

With Vespers, we witness how James Kudelka combines dramatic atmospheres with creative classical ballet technique, contemporary styles and perspectives on relationships, nature and the spiritual world.

Claudio Monteverdi’s stunning score is performed by Studio de musique ancienne de Montréal, accompanied by the National Arts Centre Orchestra. Vespers is alive with vibrant character, colour and texture with all the richness of a renaissance painting. We are thrilled to have Evelyn Hart return to the stage with the Royal Winnipeg Ballet in a role created specifically for her.


About the Royal Winnipeg Ballet

Versatility, technical excellence and a captivating style are the trademarks of Canada’s Royal Winnipeg Ballet, qualities that have garnered both critical and audience acclaim. 

Founded in 1939 by Gweneth Lloyd and Betty Farrally, the Royal Winnipeg Ballet holds the double distinction of being Canada’s premier ballet company and the longest continuously operating ballet company in North America. In 1953, the Company received its royal title, the first granted under the reign of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II.

In 1958, Arnold Spohr was appointed Artistic Director. Under his direction the Royal Winnipeg Ballet grew and flourished to take its place among the world’s internationally renowned companies. To further the Company’s development, a professional school was created in 1970 under the direction of David Moroni. Today two-thirds of the Company’s dancers are graduates of the school. On March 7, 1996, André Lewis was named Artistic Director and has been with the RWB ever since.

The Royal Winnipeg Ballet began to tour Canada in 1945 and completed its first American tour in 1954. The Royal Winnipeg Ballet is compact in size, with 25 dancers, a small but effective production crew and a semi-trailer that carries approximately 55,000 pounds of equipment. For full-length ballets, the Royal Winnipeg Ballet travels with two semi-trailers and an expanded company. 

The Royal Winnipeg Ballet has performed in the United States, South America, Europe, the Middle East, Russia, Japan, Asia, Mexico and in every province of Canada. 

Throughout its history, the Royal Winnipeg Ballet has been a dance leader, recording innumerable firsts. It developed the concept of the regional ballet festival in the 1940s and was the first western company to perform in Cuba after the revolution. It received gold medals at the International Ballet Festival in Paris in 1968 and that same year became the first Canadian company to tour Russia and Czechoslovakia.

This year, the Royal Winnipeg Ballet celebrates its 79th season with The Handmaid’s Tale, Romeo & Juliet, and the Canadian premiere of The Wizard of Oz.

Synopsis

“The first Book to be given Man – at the Creation – was the Book of Nature. In it, all created things are like letters of the alphabet; they can be combined into words and sentences, teaching Man truths about God and himself. But with the Fall, Man was blinded to the sense of the Book of Nature. He could no longer read it aright. Nevertheless, that book remains common to all.”

— From the forward to the translation of Michel de Montaigne’s An Apology for Raymond Sebond.*
 

Part I

Vespers puts forward the premise of a mythological world where People and Nature live in a community of mutual respect and tolerance. There is ritual, love, sex and death, but at its core there is harmony and joy in existence and association. 
 

Part II

Vespers is more narrative and takes place in a contemporary urban world “after the Fall” where Nature and People exist in their own silos. The community of part one is now two worlds. But for one Everywoman, wise beyond her knowledge, the appearance of Nature to her that seems like madness at first, becomes a vital part of her life force and becomes a thrilling journey of personal discovery and connection to the world. 

* de Montaigne, Michael. An Apology for Raymond Sebond. Toronto, Penguin Books Canada, 1987.

Claudio Monteverdi, music

Claudio Monteverdi was an Italian composer, gambist, and singer. His work, often regarded as revolutionary, marked the transition from the music of the Renaissance to that of the Baroque. He developed two individual styles of composition: the new basso continuo technique of the Baroque and the heritage of Renaissance polyphony. Enjoying fame in his lifetime, he wrote one of the earliest operas, L’Orfeo, which is still regularly performed. Possibly as an advertisement of his varied abilities as a composer, Monteverdi wrote in 1610 a setting of the service of Vespers for the Blessed Virgin Mary in the modern style that would appeal to the officials of St. Mark’s in Venice. The Vespers offer a dramatic and colourful exploitation of the possibilities of the modern style in a work of great variety and interest suited to the special effects available to performers in the great basilica of St. Mark.


Menu

Royal Winnipeg Ballet du Canada

Vespers

C’est pour moi un privilège d’accueillir à Ottawa des artistes talentueux et inventifs du monde de la danse qui s’inspirent de sources variées et embrassent toute une gamme de styles différents. Nous sommes constamment à l’affût des compagnies les plus brillantes et innovantes pour les présenter à notre public si réceptif et enthousiaste. Nous vous invitons à explorer l’inconnu et le familier dans ce voyage extraordinaire au cœur de la vie en mouvement!

L’élaboration d’un nouveau ballet représente une tâche colossale et j’applaudis le Royal Winnipeg Ballet d’avoir entrepris ce vaste chantier créatif. James Kudelka est incontestablement l’un des chorégraphes les plus importants de notre pays; sa nouvelle création, ambitieuse et dramatique, saura vous émouvoir avec la musique des Vêpres de Monteverdi et la délicieuse Evelyn Hart dans un rôle taillé sur mesure pour elle. 
 

QUELQUES FAITS INTÉRESSANTS : 

Vespers est le dix-huitième ballet intégral commandé par le Royal Winnipeg Ballet au cours des vingt dernières années.

James Kudelka s’est inspiré des sons d’animaux qu’il a détecter dans la musique de Monteverdi afin de créer les personnages d’animaux. 

James Kudelka et Evelyn Hart ont étudié en même temps à l'École nationale de ballet en 1973.

Le Royal Winnipeg Ballet du Canada est heureux de vous accueillir à cette représentation de Vespers, la plus récente création de James Kudelka, basée sur la musique des Vêpres de la Vierge de Claudio Monteverdi.

Avec Vespers, James Kudelka démontre son habileté à associer des ambiances dramatiques à la technique du ballet classique, aux styles contemporains et à des perspectives sur les relations humaines, la nature et le monde spirituel.

La sublime partition de Monteverdi est jouée par le Studio de musique ancienne de Montréal, accompagné par l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts. Vespers fourmille de personnages forts, de couleurs et de textures évoquant toute la richesse d’un tableau de la Renaissance. Nous sommes ravis de revoir Evelyn Hart sur scène avec le Royal Winnipeg Ballet dans un rôle conçu pour elle.


À propos du Royal Winnipeg Ballet

Le Royal Winnipeg Ballet (RWB) du Canada se distingue par sa polyvalence, son excellence technique et son style captivant, qui lui valent d’être apprécié autant par la critique que par le public. 

Fondé en 1939 par Gweneth Lloyd et Betty Farrally, le RWB a le double privilège d’être la première compagnie de ballet du Canada et la doyenne des compagnies toujours en activité en Amérique du Nord. En 1953, il a reçu son titre royal, le premier accordé sous le règne de la reine Elizabeth II.

En 1958, Arnold Spohr en est devenu le directeur artistique. Sous sa conduite, la compagnie s’est développée et a pris sa place parmi les ensembles réputés sur la scène internationale. Afin de poursuivre son développement, elle a créé en 1970 une école professionnelle placée sous la direction de David Moroni. Aujourd’hui, les deux tiers des danseurs de la compagnie sont diplômés de l’école du RWB. Le 7 mars 1996, André Lewis a été nommé directeur artistique de la troupe, poste qu’il occupe toujours.

Le RWB a commencé à présenter des tournées au Canada en 1945 et a effectué sa première tournée américaine en 1954. Le RWB compte 25 danseurs et danseuses, une équipe de production petite mais efficace, et une semi-remorque pour assurer le transport d’environ 55 000 livres d’équipement. Lorsqu’elle présente des ballets intégraux, la compagnie se déplace avec deux semi‑remorques et une troupe élargie. 

Le RWB s’est produit aux États-Unis, en Amérique du Sud, en Europe, au Moyen‑Orient, en Russie, au Japon, en Asie, au Mexique et dans toutes les provinces du Canada. 

Tout au long de son histoire, le RWB a été à l’avant-garde dans le milieu de la danse, innovant dans de nombreux domaines : dans les années 1940, il a inventé la notion de festival de ballet régional; il a été la première troupe occidentale à se produire à Cuba après la révolution; il a obtenu des médailles d’or au Festival international de ballet de Paris en 1968; et a été, la même année, la première compagnie canadienne à se rendre en tournée en Russie et en Tchécoslovaquie. 

Cette année, la compagnie souligne sa 79e saison avec The Handmaids Tale, Roméo et Juliette, et Le Magicien dOz en première canadienne.

Synopsis

« Le premier livre donné à l’homme à la Création est le Livre de la Nature. Dans cet ouvrage, toutes les choses créées sont comme les lettres de l’alphabet; elles peuvent être combinées pour former des mots et des phrases, enseignant à l’homme des vérités sur Dieu et sur lui-même. Après la Chute, toutefois, l’homme perdit la clé du Livre de la Nature et sa capacité à en comprendre le sens. Néanmoins, ce livre appartient toujours à tous. »

— Extrait de la préface à la traduction anglaise de « l’Apologie de Raymond Sebond » de Michel de Montaigne.*
 

Partie I

Vespers s’ouvre sur un monde mythologique où l’Humain et la Nature vivent dans une communion faite de respect et de tolérance mutuels. Le rite, l’amour, le sexe et la mort y ont leur place, mais au cœur de ce monde règnent l’harmonie et la joie d’exister et de s’associer. 
 

Partie II

Vespers prend une tournure plus narrative et se transporte dans un cadre contemporain, « après la Chute », où la Nature et l’Humain existent séparément; la communauté de la première partie est maintenant divisée en deux mondes distincts. Mais pour le personnage d’Everywoman, dont la sagesse dépasse les connaissances, la Nature, qui lui avait d’abord semblé chaotique, devient un élément essentiel de sa force vitale, et le point de départ d’une passionnante exploration du monde et d’une véritable communion avec lui. 

* de Montaigne, Michael. An Apology for Raymond Sebond. Toronto, Penguin Books Canada, 1987.

Claudio Monteverdi, musique

Claudio Monteverdi était un compositeur, gambiste et chanteur italien. Son œuvre, souvent qualifiée de révolutionnaire, marque la transition entre la musique de la Renaissance et celle de l’ère baroque. On lui doit l’élaboration de deux styles de composition distincts : la nouvelle technique de la basse continue, caractéristique de l’ère baroque, et la polyphonie, héritée de la Renaissance. Célèbre de son vivant, il est l’auteur d’un des tout premiers opéras, L’Orfeo, encore présenté régulièrement de nos jours. Peut‑être pour faire étalage de ses diverses aptitudes de compositeur, Monteverdi a écrit en 1610 une musique pour la liturgie des vêpres mariales, dans un style moderne susceptible de plaire aux autorités de la basilique Saint‑Marc de Venise. Les Vêpres exploitent les possibilités d’expression dramatique et de timbres offertes par le style moderne, dans une œuvre foisonnante et passionnante qui se prête admirablement aux effets spéciaux dont pouvaient disposer les musiciens dans l’enceinte grandiose de la basilique Saint‑Marc.


Menu