This event has passed
Music Canadian

In June 2013 the dean of Canadian jazz, Phil Nimmons, turned 90. To celebrate his life, his musical career spanning over seven decades and his significant influence on the jazz community of Canada NAC Presents offers a concert featuring a collaboration between the venerable clarinetist with jazz innovator, and former Nimmons student, pianist David Braid. 

Rarely in the history of jazz has a musician had the inspiring career longevity of Phil Nimmons. Not only does Nimmons continue to perform into his 90s but he is on a continuous path of evolving creativity, life-long learning and musical exploration, embracing new forms, sounds and techniques.

If any two people represent the past, present and future of Canadian jazz, it has to be the inspired duo of clarinetist Phil Nimmons and pianist David Braid. The performance will feature improvisations and conversations between these two jazz geniuses and will incorporate the visual art photography by Nathan Wirth. View video featuring the music and photography here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I2KqewfIVlA



Clarinetist, composer and bandleader Phil Nimmons is one of the most influential figures in Canadian jazz. In the 1950s and ‘60s he came to prominence as a performer and bandleader with his group Nimmons 'n' Nine. He was awarded first-ever JUNO award given in the jazz category in 1976.  He was a prominent teacher and academic having taught at the University of Toronto and co-founded, with Oscar Peterson, the annual international jazz workshop at the Banff Centre in 1973. He has received both the Order of Ontario and the Order of Canada.

David Braid, hailed in the Canadian press as "A jazz genius to call our own" (MacLean's Magazine), is a two-time JUNO award winning pianist and composer. Combining harmonic intricacies fundamental to European classical music and the spontaneity of American jazz, Braid's original music engages audiences with melodic lyricism and rhythmic pulses that do not conform neatly to any one musical genre. Braid is a recipient of SOCAN Composer of the Year, is a multi-National Jazz Award Winner and a recipient of the Canada Council for the Arts' "JazzID Award."

 

 “two seriously-skilled players complement and confront each other as they illuminate terrific techniques and fierce imaginations...”  Toronto Star

 

Menu

Cet événement est passé
Musique Artistes canadiens

En juin 2013, le doyen de la scène canadienne du jazz, Phil Nimmons, fêtait son 90e anniversaire. Pour souligner la vie et les 70 ans de carrière de ce brillant musicien, ainsi que son impact considérable sur la communauté jazz au Canada, CNA Présente accueille le vénérable clarinettiste de jazz d’avant-garde dans le cadre d’un concert collaboratif avec son ancien élève, le pianiste David Braid.

 

Rarement dans l’histoire du jazz a-t-on connu un musicien dont la carrière inspirante s’échelonne sur une aussi longue période. Fort de ses 90 ans, Phil Nimmons continue non seulement de se produire, mais aussi d’évoluer sur le plan de la créativité, de l’apprentissage perpétuel et de l’exploration musicale, intégrant de nouvelles formes, mélodies et techniques à son art.

 

S’il y a deux personnes qui peuvent incarner le jazz canadien d’hier, d’aujourd’hui et de demain, c’est bien ce duo talentueux. La rencontre entre ces deux génies musicaux sera riche en improvisations et en conversations, agrémentées des photos de Nathan Wirth. Pour un avant-goût de la musique et de la photographie au programme, visitez http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I2KqewfIVlA.

 

 

Clarinettiste, compositeur et leader de groupe, Phil Nimmons est l’une des plus grandes pointures du jazz au Canada. À la tête de son groupe Nimmons ‘n’ Nine, il s’est fait remarquer dans les années 1950 et 1960, et s’est vu décerner le tout premier prix JUNO dans la catégorie jazz en 1976.  Éminent pédagogue et universitaire , il a enseigné à l’Université de Toronto et cofondé, avec Oscar Peterson, l’atelier annuel de jazz international au Banff Centre en 1973. Il a en outre été décoré de l’Ordre de l’Ontario et de l’Ordre du Canada.

Salué dans La Presse Canadienne comme un « génie du jazz bien de chez nous » (magazine MacLean’s), le pianiste et compositeur David Braid a été deux fois récompensé aux JUNO. Il allie la complexité inhérente aux harmonies européennes à la spontanéité du jazz américain pour créer un style original et captivant, plein de lyrisme mélodique et de pulsations rythmiques, qui n’appartient à aucun genre musical bien défini. Récompensé plusieurs fois aux National Jazz Awards, il a été nommé compositeur de l’année par la SOCAN et a obtenu le prix Jazz ID du Conseil des arts du Canada.

 

« Deux musiciens extrêmement talentueux se complètent et s’affrontent alors que brillent sur scène techniques impeccables et imaginations ardentes… » Toronto Star
 

Menu