Traffic disruptions - Canada Day weekend
Rising © Photo: Chris Nash

Aakash Odedra

Rising

2014-02-06 19:30 2014-02-08 21:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Aakash Odedra

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/5506

Rising features exciting young British- Indian Kathak dancer Aakash Odedra performing to perfection in solo works created especially for him. By encouraging top-ranked choreographers Akram Khan, Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui and Russell Maliphant to highlight different aspects of himself – lyrical and graceful, brutal and raw, edgy and animalistic – Odedra the dancer originates an idiosyncratic new flavor of contemporary dance that is uniquely his own. Rising has been wildly praised by...

Read more

Azrieli Studio,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
February 6 - 8, 2014
This event has passed
Rising © Photo: Chris Nash
Rising © Photo: Kajal Patel
Rising © Photo: Chris Nash
Rising © Photo: Masoom Parnar
Dance
“Aakash Odedra is simply breathtaking ... a stunning talent [who] can attract the very best. Rising is a masterpiece of speed and virtuosity. Odedra shows off all the showy tricks of Kathak, but as if on steroids.”” Paula Citron, The Globe and Mail
  • ≈ 1 hour and 15 minutes · With intermission

Rising features exciting young British- Indian Kathak dancer Aakash Odedra performing to perfection in solo works created especially for him. By encouraging top-ranked choreographers Akram Khan, Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui and Russell Maliphant to highlight different aspects of himself – lyrical and graceful, brutal and raw, edgy and animalistic – Odedra the dancer originates an idiosyncratic new flavor of contemporary dance that is uniquely his own. Rising has been wildly praised by critics, amazed by Odedra’s jangling, rogue energy, his astonishing technique and his hypnotically undulating body.

video:
Rising © Photo: Chris Nash
Rising © Photo: Kajal Patel
Rising © Photo: Chris Nash
Rising © Photo: Masoom Parnar
  • Choreography Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui Akram Khan
Menu

Rising © Photo : Chris Nash

Rising

2014-02-06 19:30 2014-02-08 21:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Aakash Odedra

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/5506

Le jeune danseur de kathak britannoindien Aakash Odedra interprète à la perfection des solos créés expressément pour lui par les célèbres chorégraphes Akram Khan, Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui et Russell Maliphant, mettant en relief différents aspects de son art – lyrique et gracieux, brutal et sans fard, avant-gardiste et animal. Il parvient ainsi à produire un nouveau style de danse contemporaine qui n’appartient...

Read more

Studio Azrieli ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
6 - 8 fév 2014
Cet événement est passé
Rising © Photo : Chris Nash
Rising © Photo : Kajal Patel
Rising © Photo : Chris Nash
Rising © Photo : Masoom Parnar
Danse
« Aakash Odedra est tout simplement stupéfiant (...) un superbe talent [qui] peut attirer la crème de la crème. Rising est un chef-d’œuvre de vitesse et de virtuosité. L’artiste fait étalage de tous les aspects les plus spectaculaires du kathak en leur injectant une bonne dose de stéroïdes. » Paula Citron, The Globe and Mail
  • ≈ 1 heure et 15 minutes · Avec entracte

Le jeune danseur de kathak britannoindien Aakash Odedra interprète à la perfection des solos créés expressément pour lui par les célèbres chorégraphes Akram Khan, Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui et Russell Maliphant, mettant en relief différents aspects de son art – lyrique et gracieux, brutal et sans fard, avant-gardiste et animal. Il parvient ainsi à produire un nouveau style de danse contemporaine qui n’appartient qu’à lui. Rising a été encensé par la critique, conquise par l’énergie débridée, l’incroyable technique et les ondulations hypnotiques de cet artiste fascinant.

video:
Rising © Photo: Chris Nash
Rising © Photo: Kajal Patel
Rising © Photo: Chris Nash
Rising © Photo: Masoom Parnar
  • Chorégraphie Akram Khan, Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui, Russell Maliphant et Aakash Odedra