Street closures around the NAC during Ottawa Race Weekend

InnerGenerational

2023-11-24 20:00 2023-11-24 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: InnerGenerational

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/35333

In-person event

InnerGenerational: Becoming Ancestors is the discovery and showcasing of the second-generation immigrant’s experience in finding our place in Canada.  An intimate reflection on ancestral impact featuring a trilogy of Asian experiences (South Asian, East Asian, Pacific Islander) shared through poetry, music, rap, comedy and storytelling.  Many of us suffer in silence through mental health issues, shame, guilt, pressures to assimilate and confusion in who we are, always feeling...

Read more

Fourth Stage,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
Fri, November 24, 2023
8 PM EST
This event has passed
Music Theatre Comedy Storytelling Stand-up Comedy
  • In-person event
  • English
  • ≈ 90 minutes · No intermission

InnerGenerational: Becoming Ancestors is the discovery and showcasing of the second-generation immigrant’s experience in finding our place in Canada.  An intimate reflection on ancestral impact featuring a trilogy of Asian experiences (South Asian, East Asian, Pacific Islander) shared through poetry, music, rap, comedy and storytelling. 

Many of us suffer in silence through mental health issues, shame, guilt, pressures to assimilate and confusion in who we are, always feeling stuck in the middle. With exploration of our lineage and complicated family history through multidisciplinary performance arts, we are able to find where we belong.  

Performances by GTA artists Siddartha & Shqdel, with special guest performer Ottawa legend King Kimbit.  Also returning to his hometown, Master of Ceremony, Anto Chan.  

You won't want to miss this one night only event of heart-opening, growth-minded and revolutionary entertainment!  

Artists

  • Featuring King Kimbit
  • Featuring Anto Chan
  • Featuring Siddartha
  • Featuring Shqdel

Rues fermées à la circulation autour du CNA lors de la fin de semaine des courses d'Ottawa

InnerGenerational

2023-11-24 20:00 2023-11-24 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : InnerGenerational

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/35333

Événement en personne

InnerGenerational: Becoming Ancestors lève le voile sur le parcours des personnes immigrantes de deuxième génération qui tentent de trouver leur place au Canada. Il s’agit d’une réflexion intime sur l’impact ancestral à travers trois expériences personnelles de différentes régions d’Asie (Asie du Sud, Asie de l’Est et îles du Pacifique) relatées par la poésie, la musique, le...

Read more

Quatrième Salle ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
ven 24 novembre 2023
20 h HNE
Cet événement est passé
Musique Théâtre Comédie Conte Monologue comique
  • Événement en personne
  • Anglais
  • ≈ 90 minutes · Sans entracte

InnerGenerational: Becoming Ancestors lève le voile sur le parcours des personnes immigrantes de deuxième génération qui tentent de trouver leur place au Canada. Il s’agit d’une réflexion intime sur l’impact ancestral à travers trois expériences personnelles de différentes régions d’Asie (Asie du Sud, Asie de l’Est et îles du Pacifique) relatées par la poésie, la musique, le rap, la comédie et le conte. 

Bon nombre d’entre nous souffrent en silence de problèmes de santé mentale, subissent des pressions d’assimilation, ressentent de la honte, de la culpabilité et une certaine confusion identitaire, et ont la sensation d'être à leur place nulle part. À travers différentes disciplines artistiques, nous mettons en lumière notre lignée et notre histoire familiale tortueuse pour trouver notre place dans ce monde. 

Avec Siddartha et Shqdel, deux artistes de la région du Grand Toronto, et la participation exceptionnelle de la célèbre artiste ottavienne, King Kimbit. En maître de cérémonie, on retrouve Anto Chan, qui signe lui aussi son retour dans sa ville natale.  

Un soir seulement! Ne manquez pas ce spectacle résolument divertissant qui ouvre le cœur et invite à l’épanouissement. 

Artistes

  • Avec King Kimbit
  • Avec Anto Chan
  • un homme appuyé sur une ruine de porte.
    Avec Siddartha
  • Avec Shqdel