Taj Mahal and Sona Jobarteh

Taj Mahal & Sona Jobarteh

2024-03-10 20:00 2024-03-10 23:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Taj Mahal & Sona Jobarteh

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/34755

In-person event

Taj Mahal is a towering musical figure -- a legend who transcended the blues not by leaving them behind, but by revealing their magnificent scope to the world. Quantifying the 81- year-old’s significance is impossible, but people try anyway. A 2017 Grammy win for TajMo, Taj’s collaboration with Keb’ Mo’, brought his Grammy tally to three wins and 14 nominations, and underscored his undiminished relevance more than 50 years after his solo debut....

Read more

Southam Hall,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
Sunday, March 10, 2024
8 PM EDT
Taj Mahal and Sona Jobarteh
untitled-design-34
Taj Mahal
untitled-design
Sona Jobarteh © Slawek Przerwa
Music Jazz Blues Soul music Roots music Global music
  • In-person event

Taj Mahal is a towering musical figure -- a legend who transcended the blues not by leaving them behind, but by revealing their magnificent scope to the world. Quantifying the 81- year-old’s significance is impossible, but people try anyway. A 2017 Grammy win for TajMo, Taj’s collaboration with Keb’ Mo’, brought his Grammy tally to three wins and 14 nominations, and underscored his undiminished relevance more than 50 years after his solo debut. Blues Hall of Fame membership, a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Americana Music Association, and other honors punctuate his résumé. Taj appreciates the accolades, but his motivation lies elsewhere. “I just want to be able to make the music that I’m hearing come to me -- and that’s what I did,” Taj says. “When I say, ‘I did,’ I’m not coming from the ego. The music comes from somewhere. You’re just the conduit it comes through. You’re there to receive the gift.”  

Preserving her musical past Sona Jobarteh innovates to support a more humanitarian future. The spirit of Sona Jobarteh’s musical work stands on the mighty shoulders of The West African Griot Tradition; she is a living archive of the Gambian people. With one ear on the family’s historic reputation, one on the all-important future legacy and her heart in both places, she is preparing a place today for the next generation. Her singing and Kora playing while fronting her band, spring directly from this tradition. The extent of her recognition today is evidenced by more than 27 million views on YouTube and considerable numbers on other digital platforms. All this despite singing in her native  languages and keeping to her own path within the music industry. 

© Taj Mahal et Sona Jobarteh
© Taj Mahal
© Sona Jobarteh

Taj Mahal et Sona Jobarteh

Taj Mahal et Sona Jobarteh

2024-03-10 20:00 2024-03-10 23:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Taj Mahal et Sona Jobarteh

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/34755

Événement en personne

Taj Mahal est une figure incontournable de la musique – une légende qui transcende le blues en révélant au monde toute sa beauté. Impossible de résumer la vie d’un artiste de ce calibre, maintenant âgé de 81 ans. En quatorze nominations aux prix Grammy, il remporte trois trophées, le dernier datant de 2017, pour sa collaboration avec Keb’ Mo’ sur l’album TajMo prouvant que, même après...

Read more

Salle Southam ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
dimanche 10 mars 2024
20 h HAE
Taj Mahal et Sona Jobarteh
Taj Mahal
Sona Jobarteh © Slawek Przerwa
Musique Jazz Blues Musique soul Roots rock Musique globale
  • Événement en personne

Taj Mahal est une figure incontournable de la musique – une légende qui transcende le blues en révélant au monde toute sa beauté. Impossible de résumer la vie d’un artiste de ce calibre, maintenant âgé de 81 ans. En quatorze nominations aux prix Grammy, il remporte trois trophées, le dernier datant de 2017, pour sa collaboration avec Keb’ Mo’ sur l’album TajMo prouvant que, même après cinquante ans de carrière, Taj Mahal est un artiste toujours actuel et influent. Il a été intronisé au Temple de la renommée du rhythm and blues et a reçu le prix hommage Lifetime Achievement Award de l’Americana Music Association pour l’ensemble de sa carrière. Et pourtant, ce ne sont pas les récompenses qui nourrissent la motivation de ce grand habitué des prix. « Je veux juste jouer la musique que j’ai en tête. C’est ce que j’ai toujours fait », affirme-t-il. « Et ce n’est pas mon ego qui parle. La musique est partout. Il suffit de la canaliser et de l’accueillir tel un cadeau. » 

Tout en préservant son héritage musical, Sona Jobarteh sort des sentiers battus pour contribuer à un avenir plus solidaire. Issue d’une forte lignée de griots de l’Afrique de l’Ouest, Sona Jobarteh est la mémoire vivante du peuple gambien. Tiraillée entre son désir de perpétuer la tradition familiale et celui d’insuffler de la modernité, elle prépare le terrain pour la nouvelle génération. Sur scène, elle chante et joue de la kora devant son groupe, dans la plus pure tradition des griots. Avec plus de 27 millions de vues sur YouTube et autres plateformes numériques, Sona Jobarteh est désormais solidement installée dans le paysage musical. Et tout ça, sans renier sa langue ni son identité artistique. 

Taj Mahal and Sona Jobarteh
Taj Mahal
Sona Jobarteh © Slawek Przerwa