Okavango African Orchestra

Okavango

2023-08-02 12:00 2023-08-02 13:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Okavango

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/34221

In-person event

Multiple instruments, ten languages, and seven countries define Okavango African Orchestra, winners of the 2017 JUNO Award for World Music Album. Okavango African Orchestra is an ambitious musical ensemble created by Batuki Music Society, a non-profit African arts organization based in Toronto. Artistic Director Nadine McNulty assembled a cast of accomplished African-born musicians who now live in Toronto and Montreal. Okavango: An African Orchestra brings together the traditional music and...

Read more

Atrium O’Brien,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa
Wednesday, August 2, 2023
12 PM EDT
This event has passed
Okavango African Orchestra
Music Global music Summer events
  • In-person event

Multiple instruments, ten languages, and seven countries define Okavango African Orchestra, winners of the 2017 JUNO Award for World Music Album.

Okavango African Orchestra is an ambitious musical ensemble created by Batuki Music Society, a non-profit African arts organization based in Toronto. Artistic Director Nadine McNulty assembled a cast of accomplished African-born musicians who now live in Toronto and Montreal.

Okavango: An African Orchestra brings together the traditional music and instruments of several major African cultures that historically have had little or no interaction. The musicians of Okavango have created a common meeting place for these disparate cultures, and a new musical language that harmonizes their different tuning systems, rhythms, and timbres. The musicians and instruments of Okavango represent a continuum of traditions and cultures from time immemorial to the present day.

© Okavango African Orchestra

Okavango African Orchestra

Okavango

2023-08-02 12:00 2023-08-02 13:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Okavango

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/34221

Événement en personne

Okavango African Orchestra, c’est sept pays, dix langues et plusieurs instruments, ainsi qu’un prix JUNO dans la catégorie musique du monde en 2017. Okavango African Orchestra est un ensemble musical ambitieux créé par Batuki Music Society, un organisme artistique africain sans but lucratif établi à Toronto. La directrice artistique, Nadine McNulty, y a réuni une série de musiciens accomplis nés en Afrique, qui vivent...

Read more

Atrium O’Brien ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa
mercredi 2 août 2023
12 h HAE
Okavango African Orchestra
Musique Musique globale été
  • Événement en personne

Okavango African Orchestra, c’est sept pays, dix langues et plusieurs instruments, ainsi qu’un prix JUNO dans la catégorie musique du monde en 2017.

Okavango African Orchestra est un ensemble musical ambitieux créé par Batuki Music Society, un organisme artistique africain sans but lucratif établi à Toronto. La directrice artistique, Nadine McNulty, y a réuni une série de musiciens accomplis nés en Afrique, qui vivent maintenant à Toronto et Montréal.

Okavango African Orchestra rassemble la musique et les instruments traditionnels de plusieurs cultures africaines importantes qui, historiquement, n’ont pratiquement jamais eu d’interactions entre elles. Les musiciens d’Okavango ont créé un lieu commun pour ces cultures disparates, ainsi qu’un nouveau langage musical qui harmonise leurs différents rythmes, timbres et accords. Les musiciens et instruments d’Okavango représentent un continuum de traditions et cultures, allant des temps immémoriaux à aujourd’hui.  

Okavango African Orchestra