Capital Sessions

FREE house dance workshop

2023-02-04 12:00 2023-02-04 14:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Capital Sessions

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/33533

In-person event

This season, Capital Sessions and the NAC are bringing you a series of FREE house dance workshops! Learn basic house-dance steps from some SERIOUS DANCERS, soundtracked by DOPE DJS. If you are a seasoned dancer, bring your moves and come sesh with us! No experience required / FREE **Guest Artists Feb 4** Natasha Coldevin a.k.a. DJ del Pilar DJ del Pilar is a Queer Afro-Latin DJ and vocalist. A long-time performer and event producer, DJ del Pilar brings the beats to stages big and small,...

Read more

Glass Thorsteinson Staircase,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa
Saturday, February 4, 2023
12 PM EDT
Natasha Coldevin a.k.a. Dj del Pilar
Mélissa "Melly Mel" Flérangile
Family programming Music Hip-hop R&B Dance Workshops
  • In-person event
  • Bilingual
  • ≈ 2 hours · No intermission

This season, Capital Sessions and the NAC are bringing you a series of FREE house dance workshops!

Learn basic house-dance steps from some SERIOUS DANCERS, soundtracked by DOPE DJS.

If you are a seasoned dancer, bring your moves and come sesh with us!

No experience required / FREE

**Guest Artists Feb 4**

Natasha Coldevin a.k.a. DJ del Pilar

DJ del Pilar is a Queer Afro-Latin DJ and vocalist. A long-time performer and event producer, DJ del Pilar brings the beats to stages big and small, and in the past few years has graced the decks at the NAC, House of Paint, Bluesfest, and opening for Mixmaster Mike. DJ del Pilar is also the co-founder of Ottawa's longest running and coziest queer dance party, Homo Phono! Growing up in the 80's and 90's, she has been heavily influenced by old school hip hop, funk, disco, and house music, putting a fresh spin on dance floor classics.

Mélissa “Melly Mel” Flérangile

From Jazz to Street dance, Mélissa “Melly Mel” Flérangile has been devotedly mastering her craft over the years. In early years her passion and dedication as a dancer has led her to appear in several Hollywood motion pictures including Honey, and the Academy Award-winner and big screen success Chicago.

From 2005-2008 Melly Mel had the chance to participate in the creation of and perform in “The Beatles LOVE” by Cirque du Soleil, a celebratory production honoring the legacy of the Beatles. This led her to perform on various events such as the 50th Annual Grammy Awards and the Jay Leno Show.

A strong believer in giving back Melly Mel took part in the Mosaic Gala for Guy Laliberté’s One Drop Foundation, a charitable organization that develops integrated and innovative projects in which water plays a role to fight poverty.

From 2011-2016 has been part of Cirque Eloize’s spectacular show iD. She’s been touring the world performing in prestigious theaters such as Wang Theater in Boston, Marina Bay Sands Theater in Singapore, Theatre National de Chaillot in Paris… Furthermore with iD she got the chance to perform for one of the most renowned TV show in France, Le Plus Grand Cabaret du Monde; A delight for any performer!

While touring with iD she started a movement called “Melly Mel Inspire”. Her aim is to work with youth in communities all over the world and use her passion for dance to motivate and empower them to be at the forefront of any path that transcend the ordinary.

In 2016 she worked with tentacle tribe a Canadian and Swedish based contemporary dance company. Performing their duet pixelated squid at “Breaking Convention” in North Carolina and toured in Europe.

Melly Mel is currently a strong asset and a key member of “Bboyizm” Dance company. They promote and preserve the foundation, authenticity, and essence of all street dances. Their creations and programs are platforms for authentic self-expression by artists and students alike. Currently creating and touring nationally in Canada and South America.

Melly Mel is also working alongside Magical Bones an exceptionally skilled magician and street dancer. They have performed on Britain's Got Talent, Celebrity Edge and are expected to tour in Europe in 2023.

As she aspires to inspire people from different walks of life, she shares her purpose to “Live. Laugh. Love” through dance!

Natasha Coldevin a.k.a. Dj del Pilar
Mélissa "Melly Mel" Flérangile
Menu

Capital Sessions

Atelier de danse house gratuits

2023-02-04 12:00 2023-02-04 14:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Capital Sessions

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/33533

Événement en personne

Cette saison, Capital Sessions et le CNA vous proposent une série d'ateliers de danse house GRATUITS ! Apprenez les bases de la danse house avec de SÉRIEUX DANSEURS, tout cela accompagné par les bandes sonores de FORMIDABLES DJS. Si vous êtes un danseur expérimenté, apportez votre attitude et venez danser avec nous. Aucune expérience requise / GRATUIT **Artistes invités le 4 février**: Natasha Coldevin alias DJ del Pilar DJ...

Read more

Escalier Glass Thorsteinson ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa
samedi 4 février 2023
12 h HNE
Natasha Coldevin a.k.a. Dj del Pilar
Mélissa "Melly Mel" Flérangile
Famille Musique Hip-hop R&B Danse Ateliers
  • Événement en personne
  • Bilingue
  • ≈ 2 heures · Sans entracte

Cette saison, Capital Sessions et le CNA vous proposent une série d'ateliers de danse house GRATUITS !

Apprenez les bases de la danse house avec de SÉRIEUX DANSEURS, tout cela accompagné par les bandes sonores de FORMIDABLES DJS.

Si vous êtes un danseur expérimenté, apportez votre attitude et venez danser avec nous.

Aucune expérience requise / GRATUIT

**Artistes invités le 4 février**:

Natasha Coldevin alias DJ del Pilar

DJ del Pilar est une DJ et chanteuse afro-latine queer. Interprète et productrice d'événements de longue date, DJ del Pilar fait vibrer les scènes, petites et grandes, et au cours des dernières années, elle s'est produite au CNA, à la House of Paint, au Bluesfest et en première partie de Mixmaster Mike. DJ del Pilar est également la cofondatrice de la plus ancienne et de la plus chaleureuse soirée dansante queer d'Ottawa, Homo Phono ! Ayant grandi dans les années 80 et 90, elle a été fortement influencée par le hip-hop, le funk, le disco et la musique house de la vieille école, ce qui lui permet de donner une nouvelle tournure aux classiques de la piste de danse.

Mélissa “Melly Mel” Flérangile
Du jazz à la danse de rue, Mélissa "Melly Mel" Flérangile s'est consacrée à la maîtrise de son art au fil des ans. Dans les premières années, sa passion et son dévouement en tant que danseuse l'ont amenée à apparaître dans plusieurs films hollywoodiens, dont Honey, et Chicago, lauréat d'un Oscar et succès sur grand écran.

De 2005 à 2008, Melly Mel a eu la chance de participer à la création et de se produire dans The Beatles LOVE du Cirque du Soleil, une production célébrant l'héritage des Beatles. Cela l'a amenée à se produire lors de divers événements tels que les 50e Grammy Awards annuels et le Jay Leno Show.

Melly Mel a participé au Gala Mosaïque de la Fondation One Drop de Guy Laliberté, une organisation caritative qui développe des projets intégrés et innovants dans lesquels l'eau joue un rôle dans la lutte contre la pauvreté.

De 2011 à 2016, elle a fait partie du spectacle iD du Cirque Eloize. Elle a parcouru le monde en se produisant dans des théâtres prestigieux tels que le Wang Theater à Boston, le Marina Bay Sands Theater à Singapour, le Théâtre National de Chaillot à Paris... De plus, avec iD, elle a eu la chance de se produire pour l'une des émissions de télévision les plus renommées en France, Le Plus Grand Cabaret du Monde; un plaisir pour tout artiste!

Pendant sa tournée avec iD, elle a lancé un mouvement appelé "Melly Mel Inspire". Son objectif est de travailler avec des jeunes dans des communautés du monde entier et d'utiliser sa passion pour la danse pour les motiver et leur donner les moyens d'être à l'avant-garde de tout chemin qui transcende l'ordinaire.

En 2016, elle a travaillé avec tentacle tribe une compagnie de danse contemporaine basée au Canada et en Suède. Elle a interprété leur duo pixelated squid à "Breaking Convention" en Caroline du Nord et a effectué une tournée en Europe.

Melly Mel est actuellement un atout important et un membre clé de la compagnie de danse "Bboyizm". Ils promeuvent et préservent le fondement, l'authenticité et l'essence de toutes les danses de rue. Leurs créations et leurs programmes sont des plateformes d'expression authentique pour les artistes et les étudiants. Actuellement, ils créent et font des tournées nationales au Canada et en Amérique du Sud.

Melly Mel travaille également avec Magical Bones, un magicien et danseur de rue exceptionnellement doué. Ils ont participé aux émissions Britain's Got Talent et Celebrity Edge et devraient partir en tournée en Europe en 2023.

Comme elle aspire à inspirer les gens de différents horizons, elle partage son objectif de "Vivre. Rire. Love" à travers la danse !

Natasha Coldevin a.k.a. Dj del Pilar
Mélissa "Melly Mel" Flérangile
Menu