Velocity by Modern Table

Korean Cultural Centre

Velocity

by Modern Table

2023-02-24 19:30 2023-02-24 21:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Velocity

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/33532

About <VELOCITY> <VELOCITY> or ‘Sok-do’ in Korean, is an interpretation of various motions and speed with the human body. People fear the change in velocity as it increases, and find boredom as it decreases or stays the same. The piece expresses three different motions of ‘Velocity’ through movements of the body, featuring emphasized lines that are dynamic and curvy, unique to Modern Table’s movement vocabulary. The bold body movements are created...

Read more

Babs Asper Theatre,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
Friday, February 24, 2023
7:30 PM EST
This event has passed
Velocity by Modern Table
Music Dance

About <VELOCITY>

<VELOCITY> or ‘Sok-do’ in Korean, is an interpretation of various motions and speed with the human body. People fear the change in velocity as it increases, and find boredom as it decreases or stays the same. The piece expresses three different motions of ‘Velocity’ through movements of the body, featuring emphasized lines that are dynamic and curvy, unique to Modern Table’s movement vocabulary. The bold body movements are created through the interaction with the air and the dynamism occurs through changes in rhythm. This characteristic allows the audience to immerse and feel the change in velocity. The performance is combined with an improvised modern presentation of the ajaeng (a seven-stringed Korean traditional instrument used in court music). 

About Modern Table

Modern Table was founded by Choreographer Kim Jae Duk as a project-based performance group in 2007. After gaining recognition through Kim Jae Duk’s works such as “Darkness Poomba” and “Awake”, the company was established in 2013 with 10 members, and since then, it has successfully made its way to both international and domestic stage.

Modern Table, an all-male dance troupe, has managed to develop a style which is not only unique, but also inherently Korean. The company strives to provide synesthetic experiences and fresh impressions to the audience, including the appearance of dancers singing and the composition of works that break the boundaries between the stage and the audience. The company mainly performs contemporary dance and at the same time, stages musical, Pan-sori, and rock band performances that transgress borders between genres. Some of the company’s renowned works include “Darkness Poomba”, "Sokdo:Velocity", “Ham:beth“, "Breathing Attack", Sinawi and "Men of steel".

Performances

2022 Buenos Aires Contemporary Dance Festival / Buenos Aires, Argentina

2020 Tanzmesse Internale 2020 / Dusseldorf, Germany

2019 OPEN LOOK International Dance Festival / St.Petersburg, Russia

2019 The Place / London, UK

2016 SIDance / Seoul Arts Center, Towol Theatre / Seoul / Korea

Choreographer/Composer Jaeduk Kim

Dancers Jaeduk Kim, Eoreen Lee, Ungi Lee, Hansol Kim, Namhoon Kim,

         Hwiseong Jo, Cheolhan Jeong, Jaeyoon Song, Seyeong Eom

Musicians Sukgui Yoon(Vocal), Soli Kim(Ajaeng), Hyeongyu Lee(Ajaeng)

Light Designer Janghan Lee

Sound Director Seongeun Heo

Producer Mijin Lee

Produced by Modern Table Dance Company

Velocity by Modern Table

Velocity de Modern Table

Korean Cultural Centre

Velocity

Modern Table

2023-02-24 19:30 2023-02-24 21:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Velocity

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/33532


À propos de VELOCITY VELOCITY, ou Sok-do en coréen, est un spectacle autour de la rapidité d’exécution des mouvements par le corps humain. La panique nous prend quand le rythme s’accélère, alors qu’au moindre ralentissement ou immobilisme, nous tombons dans l’ennui. La pièce s’articule autour de trois différentes représentations de la rapidité par la gestuelle, en faisait la part...

Read more

Théâtre Babs Asper ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
vendredi 24 février 2023
19 h 30 HNE
Velocity de Modern Table
Musique Danse


À propos de VELOCITY

VELOCITY, ou Sok-do en coréen, est un spectacle autour de la rapidité d’exécution des mouvements par le corps humain. La panique nous prend quand le rythme s’accélère, alors qu’au moindre ralentissement ou immobilisme, nous tombons dans l’ennui. La pièce s’articule autour de trois différentes représentations de la rapidité par la gestuelle, en faisait la part belle aux mouvements dynamiques et sinueux si caractéristiques de la compagnie. Audacieux, ces mouvements sont le fruit de l’interaction avec l’air et les changements de rythme créent une dynamique hors du commun. Complètement immergé, le public peut ainsi mieux percevoir les moindres variations du rythme. Sur scène, les danseurs sont accompagnés par une trame sonore moderne improvisée à l’ajaeng (instrument traditionnel coréen à sept cordes réservé à la musique de cour). 

À propos de Modern Table

Simple collectif à sa création en 2007, Modern Table s’est fait connaître grâce à Darkness Poomba et Awake, deux spectacles de son fondateur, le chorégraphe Kim Jae Duk. En 2013, le collectif compte dix membres et devient officiellement une compagnie, ce qui marque les grands débuts de Modern Table sur les scènes nationales et internationales.

Cette troupe exclusivement masculine a réussi à créer un style à la fois unique et bien ancré dans la tradition coréenne. La compagnie cherche à offrir des expériences synesthésiques et à surprendre le public, notamment en mêlant chant et danse ou en secouant les conventions théâtrales entre la scène et la salle. Quoiqu’axée sur la danse contemporaine, Modern Table s’amuse à brouiller les frontières entre les genres. Comédies musicales, pansori et même rock, tout se mélange sur scène. Les principaux faits d’armes de la compagnie sont Darkness Poomba, Sokdo:Velocity, Ham:beth, Breathing Attack, Sinawi et Men of steel.

Représentations

Festival de danse contemporaine de Buenos Aires / Buenos Aires, Argentine (2022)

Tanzmesse / Düsseldorf, Allemagne (2020)

Festival international de danse OPEN LOOK / Saint-Pétersbourg, Russie (2019)

The Place / Londres, Royaume-Uni (2019)

SIDance / Seoul Arts Center, Towol Theatre / Séoul, Corée (2016)

Chorégraphie/Composition : Jaeduk Kim

Interprètes : Jaeduk Kim, Eoreen Lee, Ungi Lee, Hansol Kim, Namhoon Kim,

           Hwiseong Jo, Cheolhan Jeong, Jaeyoon Song et Seyeong Eom

Musique : Sukgui Yoon (chant), Soli Kim (ajaeng) et Hyeongyu Lee (ajaeng)

Conception des éclairages : Janghan Lee

Régie son : Seongeun Heo

Production : Mijin Lee

Velocity de Modern Table
Menu