© Ezra Soiferman

Socalled & Friends

A merry mix of music and marionettes

2023-02-18 13:50 2023-02-19 14:10 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Socalled & Friends

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/33057

In-person event

The undisputed party king has a name: it’s Josh “Socalled” Dolgin! There’s no one like him for getting a crowd up on its feet. Ready for the inventor of klezmer hip hop and his band? Let the fun begin!  It’s hard to describe Socalled. This unique musician plays the piano and the accordion, he also makes movies, he’s a magician in his spare time, and he creates his own puppets ... It’s obvious that this multi-talented artist likes to mix...

Read more

Glass Thorsteinson Staircase,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa
February 18 - 19, 2023

February 2023

  1. Feb 18 2023
    Saturday

    12:30pm

    1:50pm

    4:30pm

  2. Feb 19 2023
    Sunday

    12:30pm

    1:50pm

    4:00pm

Close schedule
© Ezra Soiferman
© Ezra Soiferman
promotions Family programming Music Children Festival events
“Funky fun”
  • In-person event
  • Bilingual
  • ≈ 20 minutes · No intermission

The undisputed party king has a name: it’s Josh “Socalled” Dolgin! There’s no one like him for getting a crowd up on its feet. Ready for the inventor of klezmer hip hop and his band? Let the fun begin! 

It’s hard to describe Socalled. This unique musician plays the piano and the accordion, he also makes movies, he’s a magician in his spare time, and he creates his own puppets ... It’s obvious that this multi-talented artist likes to mix genres, as his joyfully funky music clearly shows. 

Socalled brings his exuberant energy with him wherever he goes, and injects it into a panoply of hits with echoes of hip hop, electro, folk and Yiddish trad. Accompanied by a great band of musicians—not to mention his puppets!–he gets the party going in no time! 

3, 2, 1 ... and away we go! 

Bilingual ● For all ages ● Free 

Psst! The shows at 1:50pm on Saturday, February 18 and Sunday, February 19 will be performed on the move. Join the parade! 

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Feb 13
Feb 14
Feb 15
Feb 16
Feb 17
Feb 18
  • 12:30pm
  • 1:50pm
  • 4:30pm
Feb 19
  • 12:30pm
  • 1:50pm
  • 4:00pm
© Ezra Soiferman
© Ezra Soiferman
Menu

Rues fermées à la circulation autour du CNA lors de la fin de semaine des courses d'Ottawa

Socalled & Friends

Mix de musique et marionnettes

2023-02-18 13:50 2023-02-19 14:10 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Socalled & Friends

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/33057

Événement en personne

Le maître incontesté de la fête a un nom : il s’appelle Josh « Socalled » Dolgin! Personne ne sait mieux que lui faire lever une foule. Prêts pour l’inventeur du hip hop klezmer et sa bande? Que le party commence! Difficile de décrire Socalled. Ce musicien inimitable et touche-à-tout n’a que faire des catégories. Il joue du piano, de l’accordéon, il réalise des films, est magicien...

Read more

Escalier Glass Thorsteinson ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa
18 - 19 fév 2023
Cet événement est passé
© Ezra Soiferman
© Ezra Soiferman
promotions Famille Musique Enfance Festival
© Ezra Soiferman
«Festin funky »
  • Événement en personne
  • Bilingue
  • ≈ 20 minutes · Sans entracte

Le maître incontesté de la fête a un nom : il s’appelle Josh « Socalled » Dolgin! Personne ne sait mieux que lui faire lever une foule. Prêts pour l’inventeur du hip hop klezmer et sa bande? Que le party commence!

Difficile de décrire Socalled. Ce musicien inimitable et touche-à-tout n’a que faire des catégories. Il joue du piano, de l’accordéon, il réalise des films, est magicien à ses heures, en plus de créer ses propres marionnettes… C’est clair, ce pro du multi aime brasser les genres, et sa musique joyeusement funky en est la preuve.

Partout où il passe, Socalled trimballe avec lui son énergie contagieuse, qu’il insuffle à une kyrielle de tubes dansants aux tonalités hip hop, électro, folk et yiddish. Accompagné d’une super bande de musicien·ne·s – et vous savez quoi, de ses marionnettes aussi –, il sème la fête en moins de deux!

3, 2, 1… c’est parti!

Bilingue ● Pour tous ● Gratuit

Psst! Les prestations de 13h50 le samedi 18 février et le dimanche 19 février seront en mode déambulatoire. Suivez la parade!