Dr. Jillian Horton

Dr. Jill Horton in conversation with Dr. Jean Marmoreo

Arts, Medicine & #Life

2022-11-23 19:00 2022-11-23 20:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Dr. Jill Horton in conversation with Dr. Jean Marmoreo

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/32338

Facebook Live event

“The Last Doctor ” Dr. Jean Marmero’s new book, “The Last Doctor”, is the powerful story of her experience providing medically assisted death. This hour-long conversation will explore the psychological - and practical - realities of providing medically-assisted death, the emotional challenges for provider and patient, and the lingering, complex questions of what constitutes a life worth living - and who decides. Jean Marmoreo is a doctor, writer, athlete, advocate...

Read more

Wednesday, November 23, 2022
7 PM EDT
Facebook Live
Dr. Jillian Horton
Dr. Jean Marmoreo
Talks
  • Facebook Live event
  • English

“The Last Doctor ”

Dr. Jean Marmero’s new book, “The Last Doctor”, is the powerful story of her experience providing medically assisted death. This hour-long conversation will explore the psychological - and practical - realities of providing medically-assisted death, the emotional challenges for provider and patient, and the lingering, complex questions of what constitutes a life worth living - and who decides.

Jean Marmoreo is a doctor, writer, athlete, advocate and adventurer.

Jean is a family physician practising in downtown Toronto, and is also one of Canada’s first practitioners of MAiD, Medical Assistance in Dying.

She is a Fellow of the Canadian College of Family Physicians; is affiliated with Women's College Hospital; and is a Lecturer in the Family Practice Department of the University of Toronto School of Medicine. In addition, she provides expert opinion on cases that come before the Ontario College of Physicians and Surgeons.

For many years, she was a specialist in mid-life medicine and now in end-of-life issues, and was also a regular columnist for the Globe and Mail, the National Post, and Zoomer. Her Zoomer series, “This is what 70 looks like”, won a Silver Award in the 2014 National Magazine Awards.

The popularity of her columns led to her writing a book, The New Middle Ages: Women in Midlife which was published in 2002 by Prentice Hall. On Sept 28, 2022, Penguin Random House published a book by Jean and co-author Johanna Schneller titled The Last Doctor: Lessons in Living from the Front Lines of Medical Assistance in Dying.

Jillian Horton, M.D., is an award-winning medical educator, writer, musician and podcaster. A former Associate Dean at the University of Manitoba, she has cared for thousands of patients in an inner-city hospital, and now works to provide care to people living with addiction.  She is the winner of the prestigious 2020 AFMC–Gold Foundation Humanism award, recognizing her as a national thought leader in medical education and the delivery of compassionate and humane care. As a teacher of mindfulness, she is sought after by doctors at all stages of their careers, and she leads the development of national programming in physician health for Joule, a subsidiary of the Canadian Medical Association. Her writing about medicine appears frequently in the LA Times, the Globe and Mail, and the Toronto Star, and her first book, We Are All Perfectly Fine, now a national best seller, was released by HarperCollins Canada in Feb 2021.
 

*You can find all previous Arts, Medicine & #Life talks as podcasts here.

The Canadian Medical Association, MD Financial Management and Scotiabank together proudly support the Arts, Medicine and #Life speaker series, one of several initiatives that comprise their 10-year, $115 million commitment to supporting the medical profession and advancing health in Canada.

Dr. Jillian Horton
Dr. Jean Marmoreo
Menu

Dr. Jillian Horton

Dre Jill Horton en conversation avec Dre Jean Marmoreo

Arts, Medicine & #Life

2022-11-23 19:00 2022-11-23 20:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Dre Jill Horton en conversation avec Dre Jean Marmoreo

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/32338

Événement Facebook Live

Jean Marmoreo est médecin, écrivain, athlète, défenseur et aventurier.  Jean est médecin de famille et exerce dans le centre-ville de Toronto. Elle est également l'une des premières personnes au Canada à pratiquer l'aide médicale à mourir (AMAD).  Elle est membre du Collège canadien des médecins de famille, est affiliée au Women's College Hospital et est chargée de cours au...

Read more

mercredi 23 novembre 2022
19 h HNE
Facebook Live
Cet événement est passé
Dr. Jillian Horton
Dr. Jean Marmoreo
Causeries
  • Événement Facebook Live
  • Anglais

Jean Marmoreo est médecin, écrivain, athlète, défenseur et aventurier. 

Jean est médecin de famille et exerce dans le centre-ville de Toronto. Elle est également l'une des premières personnes au Canada à pratiquer l'aide médicale à mourir (AMAD). 

Elle est membre du Collège canadien des médecins de famille, est affiliée au Women's College Hospital et est chargée de cours au département de médecine familiale de la faculté de médecine de l'Université de Toronto. En outre, elle fournit des avis d'experts sur des cas soumis au Collège des médecins et chirurgiens de l'Ontario. 

Pendant de nombreuses années, elle a été spécialiste de la médecine de la quarantaine et maintenant des questions de fin de vie, et a également été chroniqueuse régulière pour le Globe and Mail, le National Post et Zoomer. Sa série Zoomer, "This is what 70 looks like", a remporté un prix d'argent lors des National Magazine Awards 2014.  

La popularité de ses chroniques l'a amenée à écrire un livre, The New Middle Ages : Women in Midlife qui a été publié en 2002 par Prentice Hall. Le 28 septembre 2022, Penguin Random House a publié un livre de Jean et de sa co-auteure Johanna Schneller intitulé The Last Doctor : Lessons in Living from the Front Lines of Medical Assistance in Dying. 

Dre JILLIAN HORTON est une éducatrice médicale, autrice, musicienne, et baladodiffuseuse primée. Ancienne doyenne associée de l’Université du Manitoba, elle a soigné des milliers de patients dans un hôpital du centre-ville et fournit maintenant des soins aux personnes vivant avec une dépendance. En 2020, elle reçoit le prestigieux prix AFMC–Gold Foundation Humanism Award, qui la reconnaît comme chef de file nationale en éducation médicale et en soins prodigués avec bienveillance et compassion. Comme enseignante de méditation axée sur la pleine conscience, elle est consultée par des médecins à toutes les étapes de leurs carrières, et dirige l’élaboration de la programmation nationale en santé des médecins pour Joule, une filiale de l’Association médicale canadienne. Ses textes sur la médecine sont souvent publiés dans le LA Times, le Globe and Mail et le Toronto Star, et son premier livre, We Are All Perfectly Fine, maintenant un best-seller national, a été publié par HarperCollins Canada en février 2021.

*Vous pouvez trouver tous les balados précédents sur Arts, Medicine & #Life ici (en anglais seulement).

L’Association médicale canadienne, la Banque Scotia et Gestion financière MD appuient fièrement la série d’entretiens Arts, Medicine and #Life, l’une des nombreuses initiatives financées dans le cadre d’une entente décennale de 115 M$ visant à aider le corps médical et à promouvoir la santé au Canada.

Dr. Jillian Horton
Dr. Jean Marmoreo
Menu