Follow that sound!

SPHERE Festival - Family Activity

2022-09-23 10:00 2022-09-25 16:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Follow that sound!

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/31582

In-person event

The NAC Orchestra and the Canadian Museum of Nature have partnered to bring you a Musical Scavenger Hunt like no other. Using your mobile device, decipher the musical clues to learn about the Museum’s eclectic artifacts and their respective “spheres.”    But you won’t be the first one to visit these items! Over the past few months, composers from across Canada — and one living in Finland! — have explored these exhibits and have acted upon their...

Read more

Canadian Museum of Nature,240 McLeod Street,Ottawa,Canada
September 23 - 25, 2022

September 2022

  1. Sep 23 2022
    Friday

    10:00am

  2. Sep 24 2022
    Saturday

    10:00am

  3. Sep 25 2022
    Sunday

    10:00am

Close schedule
Canadian Museum of Nature 240 McLeod Street Ottawa Canada
Canadian Museum of Nature
Family programming Music Classical music Chamber music Exhibitions & installations Children Festival events
  • In-person event
  • Bilingual
  • Ages 3-16

The NAC Orchestra and the Canadian Museum of Nature have partnered to bring you a Musical Scavenger Hunt like no other. Using your mobile device, decipher the musical clues to learn about the Museum’s eclectic artifacts and their respective “spheres.”   

But you won’t be the first one to visit these items! Over the past few months, composers from across Canada — and one living in Finland! — have explored these exhibits and have acted upon their inspirations, creating these musical works that reflect observed aesthetics and positioning within the Anthropocene. 

The composers commissioned by the NAC Orchestra to create the music include Carmen Braden, Ian Cusson, Kelly-Marie Murphy and Corie Rose Soumah, and the NAC Orchestra’s Associate Principal Viola, David Marks, among others. Performed by NACO musicians, these new works further the “orchestra as ecosystem” narrative by conceptualizing ties from each instrument family to the festival’s four spheres. 

Biosphere is represented by the String Family. A precursor to the modern-day violin, animal guts have long been stretched across wooden frames — and, for centuries, offered unrivaled warmth, sweetness, and brilliance in timbre. 

Atmosphere ties to the Woodwind Family, inspired by birds in flight, the open skies, and pendulous redirections of air current propelled by contrasting atmospheric pressures. 

Lithosphere is connected to the Brass Family, reflecting the contrasting properties and structural builds of natural versus human-made metals.  

And lastly, Hydrosphere is represented by the Percussion Family, drawing inspiration from fossils, vertebrae, the metronomic taps of melting glacier ice, and the deep-sea amplification of tectonic erosion. 

Intended for all-ages, the Musical Scavenger Hunt is a self-guided event, and is available at the Canadian Museum of Nature for the duration of the NAC Orchestra’s SPHERE Festival. 

Activity hours

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
  1. Sep 23 2022
    Friday

    10:00am - 7:00pm

  2. Sep 24 2022
    Saturday

    10:00am - 7:00pm

  3. Sep 25 2022
    Sunday

    10:00am - 7:00pm

Canadian Museum of Nature
Menu

Suivez ce son !

Festival SPHÈRE - En famille

2022-09-23 09:30 2022-09-25 16:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Suivez ce son !

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/31582

Événement en personne

L'Orchestre du CNA et le Musée canadien de la nature se sont associés pour vous offrir une chasse au trésor musicale sans pareille. À l'aide de votre appareil mobile, déchiffrez les indices musicaux pour en savoir plus sur les artefacts éclectiques du Musée et leurs « sphères » respectives. Mais vous ne serez pas le premier à visiter ces articles ! Au cours des derniers mois, des compositeurs de partout au Canada...

Read more

Musée canadien de la nature ,240 rue McLeod,Ottawa
23 - 25 septembre 2022
Musée canadien de la nature 240 rue McLeod Ottawa
Cet événement est passé
Musée canadien de la nature
Famille Musique Musique classique Musique de chambre Expositions Enfance Festival
  • Événement en personne
  • Bilingue
  • 3 à 16 ans

L'Orchestre du CNA et le Musée canadien de la nature se sont associés pour vous offrir une chasse au trésor musicale sans pareille. À l'aide de votre appareil mobile, déchiffrez les indices musicaux pour en savoir plus sur les artefacts éclectiques du Musée et leurs « sphères » respectives.

Mais vous ne serez pas le premier à visiter ces articles ! Au cours des derniers mois, des compositeurs de partout au Canada — et un vivant en Finlande! - ont exploré ces expositions et ont agi sur leurs inspirations, créant ces œuvres musicales qui reflètent l'esthétique observée et le positionnement au sein de l'Anthropocène.

Les compositeurs mandatés par l’Orchestre du CNA pour créer la musique de cette chasse au trésor comprennent Alexina Louie, Carmen Braden, Ian Cusson, Kelly-Marie Murphy et Corie Rose Soumah, et David Marks, directeur associé de l’Orchestre du CNA, entre autres. Interprétées par des musiciens de l'OCNA, ces nouvelles œuvres approfondissent le récit « l'orchestre en tant qu'écosystème » en conceptualisant les liens de chaque famille d'instruments avec les quatre sphères du festival.

La biosphère est représentée par la famille des cordes. Précurseur du violon moderne, les boyaux d'animaux ont longtemps été tendus sur des cadres en bois - et, pendant des siècles, ont offert une chaleur, une douceur et une brillance de timbre inégalées.

L'atmosphère est liée à la famille des bois, inspirée par les oiseaux en vol, le ciel ouvert et les redirections pendulaires du courant d'air propulsées par des pressions atmosphériques contrastées.

La lithosphère est liée à la famille des cuivres, reflétant les propriétés contrastées et les constructions structurelles des métaux naturels ou créés par l'homme.

Et enfin, l'Hydrosphère est représentée par la famille des eprcussion, s'inspirant des fossiles, des vertèbres, des flux métronomiques de la fonte des glaciers et de l'amplification en haute mer de l'érosion tectonique.

Destinée à tous, la Chasse au trésor musicale est un événement autoguidé et est disponible au Musée canadien de la nature pendant toute la durée du Festival SPHERE de l'Orchestre du CNA.

Musée canadien de la nature
Menu