Arctic Imagination - Talks Series

SPHERE / Autumn Peltier & Kelsey Leonard

2022-09-24 10:00 2022-09-24 11:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Arctic Imagination - Talks Series

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/31352

In-person event

In English / ​Live translation in French  Co-hosted by the Royal Danish Library and the NAC Orchestra as part of the SPHERE Festival, Arctic Imagination is a not-to-be-missed speaker series pressing discussions on the transformation of the Arctic as the ice disappears — and the implications of climate change for geopolitics and human civilization as we know it.  Speakers: Kelsey Leonard  Dr. Kelsey Leonard is a water scientist, legal scholar, policy...

Read more

Fourth Stage,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
Saturday, September 24, 2022
10 AM EDT
This event has passed
Talks Festival events
  • In-person event
  • Bilingual
  • ≈ 1h · No intermission

In English / ​Live translation in French 

Co-hosted by the Royal Danish Library and the NAC Orchestra as part of the SPHERE Festival, Arctic Imagination is a not-to-be-missed speaker series pressing discussions on the transformation of the Arctic as the ice disappears — and the implications of climate change for geopolitics and human civilization as we know it. 

Speakers:

Kelsey Leonard 

Dr. Kelsey Leonard is a water scientist, legal scholar, policy expert, writer, and enrolled citizen of the Shinnecock Nation. An Assistant Professor in the Faculty of Environment at the University of Waterloo, her research focuses on Indigenous water justice and its climatic, territorial, and governance underpinnings. 

Autumn Peltier

Autumn Peltier is the Chief Water Commissioner for the Anishinabek Nation and an Indigenous Rights & Water activist whose journey for justice has made waves around the globe.
Peltier captivated the world's attention at the age of 12 when she admonished Prime Minister Justin Trudeau, at an Assembly of First Nations event, for the choices he had made for her people and lack of support. She spoke her mind which led him to make her a promise, "I will protect the water." It's that promise to which she holds him accountable still today.

HostMairi Brascoupé

Menu

Arctic Imagination - Conférences

SPHÈRE / Autumn Peltier & Kelsey Leonard

2022-09-24 10:00 2022-09-24 11:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Arctic Imagination - Conférences

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/31352

Événement en personne

En anglais / Traduction simultanée en français Arctic Imagination est une série de conférences à ne pas manquer, présentée par la Bibliothèque royale du Danemark et l'Orchestre du CNA dans le cadre du Festival SPHÈRE, visant a raviver plusieurs discussions pressantes concernant la transformation de l’Arctique – qui voit sa glace disparaître – et les conséquences des changements...

Read more

Quatrième Salle ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
samedi 24 septembre 2022
10 h HAE
Causeries Festival
  • Événement en personne
  • Bilingue
  • ≈ 1h · Sans entracte

En anglais / Traduction simultanée en français

Arctic Imagination est une série de conférences à ne pas manquer, présentée par la Bibliothèque royale du Danemark et l'Orchestre du CNA dans le cadre du Festival SPHÈRE, visant a raviver plusieurs discussions pressantes concernant la transformation de l’Arctique – qui voit sa glace disparaître – et les conséquences des changements climatiques sur la géopolitique mondiale et l’humanité en général. 

Pannélistes:

Kelsey Leonard 

La Dr Kelsey Leonard est une scientifique de l'eau, juriste, experte en politique, écrivaine et citoyenne engagée de la nation Shinnecock. Professeure adjointe à la Faculté de l'environnement de l'Université de Waterloo, ses recherches portent sur la justice hydrique autochtone et ses fondements climatiques, territoriaux et de gouvernance. 

Autumn Peltier

Autumn Peltier est la commissaire en chef de l'eau de la Nation Anishinabek et une militante des droits des Autochtones et de l'eau dont le parcours pour la justice a fait des vagues dans le monde entier.
​Peltier a captivé l'attention du monde à l'âge de 12 ans lorsqu'elle a réprimandé le premier ministre Justin Trudeau, lors d'un événement de l'Assemblée des Premières Nations, pour les choix qu'il avait faits pour son peuple et son manque de soutien. Sa parole franche a amené le premier ministre à lui faire une promesse: "Je protégerai l'eau". C'est cette promesse dont elle le tient encore responsable aujourd'hui.

FacilitatriceMairi Brascoupé

Menu