Adriana Barton

Adriana Barton in conversation with Dr. Jillian Horton

Arts, Medicine & #Life

2022-06-23 19:00 2022-06-23 20:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Adriana Barton in conversation with Dr. Jillian Horton

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/31152

Facebook Live event

“Wired” with Adriana Barton: Why music changes our brains, and our lives. Adriana Barton is a Canadian journalist, a former staff reporter at The Globe and Mail, and the author of Wired for Music: A Search for Health and Joy Through the Science of Sound (Greystone Books, October 2022). Her writing on health, science, visual arts, and pop culture has appeared in publications including Utne, Azure, Western Living, and San Francisco Bay Guardian. Her personal essay...

Read more

Thursday, June 23, 2022
7 PM EDT
Facebook Live
This event has passed
Adriana Barton
Dr. Jillian Horton
Authors Talks
  • Facebook Live event
  • English

“Wired” with Adriana Barton: Why music changes our brains, and our lives.

Adriana Barton is a Canadian journalist, a former staff reporter at The Globe and Mail, and the author of Wired for Music: A Search for Health and Joy Through the Science of Sound (Greystone Books, October 2022). Her writing on health, science, visual arts, and pop culture has appeared in publications including Utne, Azure, Western Living, and San Francisco Bay Guardian. Her personal essay “Growing Up Hippie” was published in the McGraw-Hill anthology American Voices: Culture and Community. Before entering journalism, she studied the cello for 17 years with teachers including David Hutchenreuther, Stephen Geber, and Antonio Lysy. She lives in Vancouver with her husband and son. 

Jillian Horton, M.D., is an award-winning medical educator, writer, musician and podcaster. A former Associate Dean at the University of Manitoba, she has cared for thousands of patients in an inner-city hospital, and now works to provide care to people living with addiction.  She is the winner of the prestigious 2020 AFMC–Gold Foundation Humanism award, recognizing her as a national thought leader in medical education and the delivery of compassionate and humane care. As a teacher of mindfulness, she is sought after by doctors at all stages of their careers, and she leads the development of national programming in physician health for Joule, a subsidiary of the Canadian Medical Association. Her writing about medicine appears frequently in the LA Times, the Globe and Mail, and the Toronto Star, and her first book, We Are All Perfectly Fine, now a national best seller, was released by HarperCollins Canada in Feb 2021.
 

*You can find all previous Arts, Medicine & #Life talks as podcasts here.

Adriana Barton
Dr. Jillian Horton
Menu

Perturbations à la circulation - Fête du Canada
Adriana Barton

Adriana Barton en conversation avec Dr. Jillian Horton

Arts, Medicine & #Life

2022-06-23 19:00 2022-06-23 20:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Adriana Barton en conversation avec Dr. Jillian Horton

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/31152

Événement Facebook Live

“Wired” avec Adriana Barton: Why music changes our brains, and our lives. Adriana Barton est une journaliste canadienne, ancienne collaboratrice du Globe and Mail, et l'auteur de Wired for Music : A Search for Health and Joy Through the Science of Sound (Greystone Books, octobre 2022). Ses écrits sur la santé, la science, les arts visuels et la culture pop sont parus dans des publications telles que Utne, Azure, Western Living et San Francisco Bay Guardian....

Read more

jeudi 23 juin 2022
19 h HAE
Facebook Live
Cet événement est passé
Adriana Barton
Dr. Jillian Horton
Littérature Causeries
  • Événement Facebook Live
  • Anglais

“Wired” avec Adriana Barton: Why music changes our brains, and our lives.

Adriana Barton est une journaliste canadienne, ancienne collaboratrice du Globe and Mail, et l'auteur de Wired for Music : A Search for Health and Joy Through the Science of Sound (Greystone Books, octobre 2022). Ses écrits sur la santé, la science, les arts visuels et la culture pop sont parus dans des publications telles que Utne, Azure, Western Living et San Francisco Bay Guardian. Son essai personnel "Growing Up Hippie" a été publié dans l'anthologie American Voices de McGraw-Hill : Culture and Community. Avant de se lancer dans le journalisme, elle a étudié le violoncelle pendant 17 ans avec des professeurs tels que David Hutchenreuther, Stephen Geber et Antonio Lysy. Elle vit à Vancouver avec son mari et son fils.

Dre Jillian Horton est une éducatrice médicale, autrice, musicienne, et baladodiffuseuse primée. Ancienne doyenne associée de l’Université du Manitoba, elle a soigné des milliers de patients dans un hôpital du centre-ville et fournit maintenant des soins aux personnes vivant avec une dépendance. En 2020, elle reçoit le prestigieux prix AFMC–Gold Foundation Humanism Award, qui la reconnaît comme chef de file nationale en éducation médicale et en soins prodigués avec bienveillance et compassion. Comme enseignante de méditation axée sur la pleine conscience, elle est consultée par des médecins à toutes les étapes de leurs carrières, et dirige l’élaboration de la programmation nationale en santé des médecins pour Joule, une filiale de l’Association médicale canadienne. Ses textes sur la médecine sont souvent publiés dans le LA Times, le Globe and Mail et le Toronto Star, et son premier livre, We Are All Perfectly Fine, maintenant un best-seller national, a été publié par HarperCollins Canada en février 2021.

*Vous pouvez trouver tous les balados précédents sur Arts, Medicine & #Life ici (en anglais seulement).

Adriana Barton
Dr. Jillian Horton
Menu