Gentiane MG Trio © Benoit Rousseau

Gentiane MG Trio

Walls Made of Glass

2022-10-06 20:30 2022-10-06 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Gentiane MG Trio

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/31118

In-person event

Pianist and composer Gentiane MG perceives music, above all, as a powerful means of expression. Her compositions come together in a deeply personal universe filled with contrasting colours that transport the listener between dreams and reality. She is joined by bassist Levi Dover and drummer Louis-Vincent Hamel, two pillars of the Canadian creative jazz scene, who contribute their original voices to her music. Over several years of performing and touring together, the band has developed its own...

Read more

Fourth Stage,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
Thursday, October 6, 2022
8:30 PM EDT
Gentiane MG Trio © Benoit Rousseau
Music Piano Jazz Blues
“Through the piano, Gentiane MG transcends emotions and thoughts and plumbs the unknown.” Peter Hum, Ottawa Citizen
  • In-person event

Pianist and composer Gentiane MG perceives music, above all, as a powerful means of expression. Her compositions come together in a deeply personal universe filled with contrasting colours that transport the listener between dreams and reality. She is joined by bassist Levi Dover and drummer Louis-Vincent Hamel, two pillars of the Canadian creative jazz scene, who contribute their original voices to her music. Over several years of performing and touring together, the band has developed its own language, transcending genre and striving for creative freedom.  

MG’s compositions reflect her early development as a classical pianist, incorporating the aesthetics of impressionism with the improvisational approach and rhythmic sensibility of contemporary jazz. From a more personal perspective, her most recent repertoire was born from a long search for meaning. 

“Walls Made of Glass is composed of music inspired by a recent change in my perception of the world outside myself. I started to feel the power of life through objects, animals, plants and sounds in a way that I had never truly been able to before. Their ephemeral quality became apparent to me, momentarily creating tangible magic, profoundness, beauty, and meaning. Music has an incredibly strong power to keep moments alive from reality that are long gone, reflecting their beauty into the world endlessly.”  

Gentiane MG has released two albums with her trio, Eternal Cycle (2017) and Wonderland (2019) and will be releasing Walls Made of Glass on September 23, 2022. She has received several awards for her work with her trio, including the OPUS Award for Discovery of the Year in 2020, the CBC/Radio-Canada Jazz Award in 2018 and the François-Marcaurelle de la GMMQ Award in 2017. 

video: Gentiane MG Trio - Interview/Documentary by Randy Cole (2019)
Gentiane MG Trio - Interview/Documentary by Randy Cole (2019)
video: Gentiane MG Trio - Letter To A Friend
Gentiane MG Trio - Letter To A Friend
Gentiane MG Trio © Benoit Rousseau
  • Piano and compositions Gentiane MG
  • Bass Levi Dover
  • Drums Louis Vincent Hamel
Menu

Gentiane MG Trio © Benoit Rousseau

Gentiane MG Trio

Walls Made of Glass

2022-10-06 20:30 2022-10-06 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Gentiane MG Trio

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/31118

Événement en personne

La pianiste et compositrice Gentiane MG perçoit la musique comme étant avant tout un puissant moyen d’expression. Ses compositions se déploient dans un univers personnel contrasté qui transporte l’auditeur à mi-chemin entre les rêves et la réalité. Pour ce faire, elle se joint au bassiste Levi Dover et au batteur Louis-Vincent Hamel, deux piliers du jazz créatif canadien. Après plusieurs années à...

Read more

Quatrième Salle ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
jeudi 6 octobre 2022
20 h 30 HAE
Gentiane MG Trio © Benoit Rousseau
Musique Piano Jazz Blues
«À travers le piano, Gentiane MG transcende les émotions et sonde l’inconnu.» Peter Hum, Ottawa Citizen
  • Événement en personne

La pianiste et compositrice Gentiane MG perçoit la musique comme étant avant tout un puissant moyen d’expression. Ses compositions se déploient dans un univers personnel contrasté qui transporte l’auditeur à mi-chemin entre les rêves et la réalité. Pour ce faire, elle se joint au bassiste Levi Dover et au batteur Louis-Vincent Hamel, deux piliers du jazz créatif canadien. Après plusieurs années à partager la scène, le groupe a développé son propre langage qui transcende les genres et recherche la créativité libre. 

Les compositions de Gentiane reflètent sa formation comme pianiste classique, incorporant l’esthétique impressionniste avec l’approche improvisée et la sensibilité rythmique du jazz contemporain. Sur un plan plus personnel, son récent répertoire est né d’une longue recherche de sens. 

« Walls Made of Glass est composé de morceaux pour trio de piano inspirés par un récent changement dans ma perception du monde extérieur. J’ai commencé à voir des objets, des animaux, des plantes ou des sons environnants comme étant tous des mondes à part entière qui existent dans des petits univers parallèles. Pour moi, la musique a un pouvoir extraordinaire de figer dans le temps certains moments éphémères qui appartiennent au passé et de les refléter dans le moment présent. »  

Le trio a réalisé deux albums de musique originale, Eternal Cycle (2017) et Wonderland (2019) et sortira un troisième opus intitulé Walls Made of Glass le 23 septembre 2022. Gentiane MG a reçu plusieurs éloges pour son travail avec cet ensemble, incluant le Prix OPUS Découverte de l’année en 2020, le prix Révélation Radio-Canada Jazz en 2018 et le Prix François-Marcaurelle de la Guilde des musiciens du Québec en 2017.  

video: Gentiane MG Trio - Interview/Documentary by Randy Cole (2019)
Gentiane MG Trio - Interview/Documentary by Randy Cole (2019)
video: Gentiane MG Trio - Letter To A Friend
Gentiane MG Trio - Letter To A Friend
Gentiane MG Trio © Benoit Rousseau
  • Piano et compositions Gentiane MG
  • Bass Levi Dover
  • Batterie Louis Vincent Hamel
Menu