Mary, Anne, Joan

installation by Heather Nicol

2022-07-01 00:00 2022-08-31 24:00 true 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Mary, Anne, Joan

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/30939

In-person event

This summer, suspended in our Canal Foyer, you’ll find a new, interdisciplinary installation.   Mary, Anne, Joan is an homage to Mary, Anne, and Joan, the artist’s mother and aunts; three sisters born, raised, and forever Ottawans. Their lives have been filled with joy, tragedy, and unforeseen circumstances. Nicol’s mother, Mary is the eldest. She married young, raised a busy family and has a dozen grandchildren. Now a widow, she lives with Parkinson’s disease...

Read more

Canal Foyer,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa
July 1 - August 31, 2022
This event has passed
Photo of Mary, Anne, and Joan
Family programming Visual Arts

Featured artists

  • In-person event

This summer, suspended in our Canal Foyer, you’ll find a new, interdisciplinary installation.  

Mary, Anne, Joan is an homage to Mary, Anne, and Joan, the artist’s mother and aunts; three sisters born, raised, and forever Ottawans. Their lives have been filled with joy, tragedy, and unforeseen circumstances. Nicol’s mother, Mary is the eldest. She married young, raised a busy family and has a dozen grandchildren. Now a widow, she lives with Parkinson’s disease in a senior’s residence. Joan has been one of her COVID 19 essential caregivers, and Anne died over 40 years ago of complications from Type 1 Diabetes, a genetic illness that continues in the family. 

This artwork is a reflection on the passage of time and the enduring need to belong. The isolation experienced by so many during the shutdowns of the COVID-19 pandemic has amplified the importance of loving connection. Human touch, the sharing of songs, games, and the responsivity and aliveness of dancing with other bodies were occurrences once taken for granted by many. More recently, they might signify cherished moments of the past, or hopes for a brighter future. 

The installation is an invitation to ponder cultural and family traditions and to reconsider childhood promises. Gendered roles and societal constraints are interrogated through schoolyard echoes and sonic references to accomplishments both great and small. The fabric forms offer an oversized performative presence with confident exteriors and more complex interiors seen and heard “under-skirt”. Mary, Anne, Joan is a reckoning with life’s twists and turns and a celebration of the fleeting, yet never-ending, nature of girlishness. 

Heather Nicol is a Toronto-based, Ottawa-raised artist whose practice includes immersive sound installation, sculpture, performance, and participatory actions. Her site-specific interventions have been presented nationally and internationally, and explore the architectural, sonic, operational, and historic conditions of her locations.

Mary, Anne, Joan is dedicated to Catherine Anne Robertson (Christie), 1938 – 1973 

Photo of Mary, Anne, and Joan
Menu

Mary, Anne, Joan

de Heather Nicol

2022-07-01 00:00 2022-08-31 24:00 true 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Mary, Anne, Joan

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/30939

Événement en personne

Cet été, vous pourrez voir une nouvelle installation interdisciplinaire suspendue dans le Foyer du canal.   Mary, Anne, Joan est un hommage à Mary, Anne et Joan, la mère et les tantes de l’artiste, trois sœurs éternellement ottaviennes. Leurs vies, semées de joies et de tragédies, ont pris des voies inattendues. Marie, la mère de l’artiste, est l’aînée. Elle s’est mariée...

Read more

Foyer du Canal ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa
1 jul - 31 août 2022
Cet événement est passé
Photographe de Mary, Anne, et Joan
Famille Arts visuels

Artistes en vedette

  • Événement en personne

Cet été, vous pourrez voir une nouvelle installation interdisciplinaire suspendue dans le Foyer du canal.  

Mary, Anne, Joan est un hommage à Mary, Anne et Joan, la mère et les tantes de l’artiste, trois sœurs éternellement ottaviennes. Leurs vies, semées de joies et de tragédies, ont pris des voies inattendues. Marie, la mère de l’artiste, est l’aînée. Elle s’est mariée jeune et a eu une vie familiale bien remplie. Elle a une dizaine de petits-enfants. À présent veuve, elle est atteinte de la maladie de Parkinson et vit dans une résidence pour personnes âgées. Pendant la pandémie de COVID-19, Joan a été presque l’une des seules personnes à prendre soin d’elle. Après un combat de plus de 40 ans, Anne est décédée des complications du diabète de type 1, maladie génétique toujours présente dans la famille. 

Cette œuvre est une réflexion sur le temps qui passe et l’irrépressible besoin d'appartenance. L’isolement auquel beaucoup ont fait face à la suite des confinements provoqués par la pandémie de COVID-19 a révélé toute l’importance des liens affectifs. Les contacts humains, les jeux et les chansons qu’on partage ainsi que la sensibilité et la vivacité de la danse avec d’autres corps sont autant de moments qu’on tenait jadis pour acquis. Désormais, ils sont synonymes de moments heureux du passé, ou bien d’espoirs de renouveau.  

L’installation invite à réfléchir aux traditions familiales et culturelles et à remettre en question les promesses de l’enfance. Elle utilise les échos de cour d’école et les références sonores aux réalisations – grandes ou petites – pour explorer les rôles genrés et les contraintes sociales. De par ses dimensions hors normes, cette installation textile impose une présence irradiante. L’extérieur exulte la confiance, tandis que l’intérieur, plus complexe, rappelle la forme d’un jupon. Mary, Anne, Joan fait écho aux hauts et bas de la vie et célèbre la fugacité, pourtant éternelle, de la jeunesse féminine.

Heather Nicol est une artiste établie à Toronto qui a grandi à Ottawa. Elle s’adonne entre autres aux installations sonores immersives, à la sculpture, à la performance et aux actions participatives. Ses interventions in situ ont été présentées au Canada et à l’étranger, et explorent les conditions architecturales, acoustiques, historiques et opérationnelles des lieux où elles se trouvent.

Mary, Anne, Joan est dédié à Catherine Anne Robertson (Christie), 1938 – 1973

Photo of Mary, Anne, and Joan

Artistes

  • Artiste Heather Nicol