Street closures around the NAC during Ottawa Race Weekend
The Sheepdogs

The Sheepdogs

with Boy Golden

2023-01-28 20:00 2023-01-28 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: The Sheepdogs

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/30633

In-person event

Everybody could use a trip away from 2020 and 2021. Maybe just a weekend on the lake…even if it’s just a trip of the mind. The Sheepdogs’ No Simple Thing has the wattage to take you to that mental cottage with six new songs so summer-y you’ll only need to pack your jean shorts and flip flops. Recorded in Montreal at Mixart Studios (built by Mahogany Rush’s Frank Marino in the 70’s), this EP sees Saskatoon’s fave furry sons returning with their classic...

Read more

Southam Hall,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
Saturday, January 28, 2023
8 PM EDT
The Sheepdogs
Boy Golden
Music Rock
  • In-person event

Everybody could use a trip away from 2020 and 2021. Maybe just a weekend on the lake…even if it’s just a trip of the mind. The Sheepdogs’ No Simple Thing has the wattage to take you to that mental cottage with six new songs so summer-y you’ll only need to pack your jean shorts and flip flops. Recorded in Montreal at Mixart Studios (built by Mahogany Rush’s Frank Marino in the 70’s), this EP sees Saskatoon’s fave furry sons returning with their classic rock influenced sound. The rich harmonies and rounded guitar tones they’re known for are further refined, and “Like an experienced chef, the band keeps honing their recipes, constantly creating more complex yet subtle flavours,” lead singer and main songwriter Ewan Currie explains. Recorded in late summer 2020, all tracks were laid down live with every member on-site in a sprawling studio with old-school monitors on mammoth 2” analog tape. Unlike a lot of other remotely tracked pandemic rock, the Sheepdogs’ bubble of comradery enabled them to focus completely, with little else to do in Covid-restricted Montreal than kick out the jams.

Boy Golden has a purpose: enjoy each day and make good music. Founder and minister of The Church of Better Daze, he wants to help people seeking to improve on yesterday's themes. His songs, like hymns, are hopeful, fresh and upbeat.

video: The Sheepdogs - Find The Truth (Official Music Video)
The Sheepdogs - Find The Truth (Official Music Video)
The Sheepdogs
Boy Golden
Menu

Perturbations à la circulation - Fête du Canada
The Sheepdogs

The Sheepdogs

avec Boy Golden

2023-01-28 20:00 2023-01-28 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : The Sheepdogs

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/30633

Événement en personne

Tout le monde a besoin d'un voyage loin de 2020 et 2021. Peut-être juste un week-end sur le lac... même si c'est juste un voyage de l'esprit. No Simple Thing de The Sheepdogs a la puissance nécessaire pour vous emmener dans ce chalet mental avec six nouvelles chansons si estivales que vous n'aurez qu'à emporter vos shorts en jean et vos sandales. Enregistré à Montréal aux studios Mixart (construits par Frank Marino de Mahogany...

Read more

Salle Southam ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
samedi 28 janvier 2023
20 h HAE
The Sheepdogs
Boy Golden
Musique Rock
  • Événement en personne

Tout le monde a besoin d'un voyage loin de 2020 et 2021. Peut-être juste un week-end sur le lac... même si c'est juste un voyage de l'esprit. No Simple Thing de The Sheepdogs a la puissance nécessaire pour vous emmener dans ce chalet mental avec six nouvelles chansons si estivales que vous n'aurez qu'à emporter vos shorts en jean et vos sandales. Enregistré à Montréal aux studios Mixart (construits par Frank Marino de Mahogany Rush dans les années 70), cet EP voit les "fils à fourrure" de Saskatoon revenir avec leur son classique influencé par le rock. Les riches harmonies et les tons de guitare arrondis pour lesquels ils sont connus sont encore plus raffinés, et "comme un chef expérimenté, le groupe continue à affiner ses recettes, créant constamment des saveurs plus complexes mais subtiles", explique le chanteur et principal auteur-compositeur Ewan Currie. Enregistré à la fin de l'été 2020, tous les morceaux ont été enregistrés en direct avec chaque membre sur place dans un studio tentaculaire avec des moniteurs old-school sur une énorme bande analogique de 2 pouces. Contrairement à beaucoup d'autres groupes de rock pandémique enregistrés à distance, la bulle de camaraderie des Sheepdogs leur a permis de se concentrer complètement, n'ayant pas grand-chose d'autre à faire dans la ville de Montréal restreinte par le Covid que de jouer. 

Boy Golden a un but dans la vie : profiter de chaque journée en faisant de la bonne musique. Fondateur et ministre de The Church of Better Daze, il remet au goût du jour les thèmes d’une autre époque. Avec ses chansons rythmées et optimistes, Boy Golden souffle un véritable vent de fraicheur sur la scène musicale. 

video: The Sheepdogs - Find The Truth
The Sheepdogs - Find The Truth
The Sheepdogs
Boy Golden
Menu