Cher Tchekhov © Illustration Pony

Cher Tchekhov

The latest Michel Tremblay

2022-11-17 19:30 2022-11-19 21:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Cher Tchekhov

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/30555

In-person event

It’s fall, but the weather is still nice. A table has been set outside. The turkey is roasting in the oven. Everything is all set for a family dinner—except that the playwright wants to rework his play. He wants to comment on it and rewrite it in real time, as a group of actress siblings, their author brother and a critic engage in a verbal sparring match.  Some of you have seen all of Michel Tremblay’s plays. You’ve been moved by them because they speak to you of a...

Read more

Babs Asper Theatre,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
November 17 - 19, 2022
This event has passed
Cher Tchekhov © Illustration Pony
Cher Tchekhov © Jean-François Gratton
Cher Tchekhov © Yves Renaud
Cher Tchekhov © Yves Renaud
Cher Tchekhov © Yves Renaud
Cher Tchekhov © Yves Renaud
Cher Tchekhov © Yves Renaud
“From Three Sisters to The Sisters-in-Law ”
  • In-person event
  • Français
  • Ages 14+
  • ≈ 1 hour and 45 minutes · No intermission

It’s fall, but the weather is still nice. A table has been set outside. The turkey is roasting in the oven. Everything is all set for a family dinner—except that the playwright wants to rework his play. He wants to comment on it and rewrite it in real time, as a group of actress siblings, their author brother and a critic engage in a verbal sparring match. 

Some of you have seen all of Michel Tremblay’s plays. You’ve been moved by them because they speak to you of a Quebec you know. Some of you have seen (or sung along with) Les belles-sœurs, you’ve read Chroniques du Plateau-Mont-Royal. Some of you know Michel Tremblay by name only. You’ve probably come across several of his characters without knowing it. 

In Cher Tchekhov (“Dear Chekhov”), Tremblay (re)examines an old script that was left unfinished. A tribute to the author of The Cherry Orchard and The Seagull, which prompts him to slow down his dialogue and introduce “secondary characters who don’t have much to do, but who are interesting all the same,” in the playwright’s own words. 

Will the play stand up in performance? The question obsesses him. Or rather obsesses Jean-Marc, the narrator and Tremblay’s alter ego. Tremblay is also present to some extent in Benoît, the author brother. The one who settles his accounts with an utterly detestable young critic, the current flame of Benoît’s sister, the Great Actress. The one who’s given her career a boost by working with a trendy millennial director, trashing Chekhov and her mother’s memory in the process.

Yes, Michel Tremblay is in total control of his art. Yes, Serge Denoncourt has assembled a brilliant cast to stage this “mirror held up to theatre”, this “Chekhovian reflection of what we are.” You already want to see it, don’t you? 

Meet Michel Tremblay! 

Audiences in the Ottawa–Gatineau region are invited to meet Michel Tremblay, who will be at the National Arts Centre on November 17 for a series of free public events. 

Exhibition: Michel Tremblay en sept temps (Michel Tremblay, in Seven Times) 

A free exhibition curated by theatre critic and teaching artist Sylvain Lavoie, documenting the relationship between Michel Tremblay and the National Arts Centre French Theatre through seven key moments. 

Vernissage: Thursday, November 17 from 4 to 5 p.m. 

Location: Babs Asper Theatre Foyer 

The exhibition will be open to the public from November 17 to 27 during the NAC’s opening hours.  

Interview with Michel Tremblay 

Host Julien Morissette, artistic director of Transistor Média and producer of French Theatre’s “Plus que du théâtre” podcasts, will talk with Michel Tremblay about the themes and characters in his most recent works.

Interview: Thursday, November 17 from 5 to 6 p.m. 

Location: Peter A. Herrndorf Place 

The interview will also be livestreamed on the National Arts Centre website and on NAC French Theatre’s Facebook page, it will remain available on the NAC website until November 27. 

Book signing

Meet the playwright and have him sign your copy of Cher Tchekhov (or another of his plays)! 

Signing: Thursday, November 17 from 6 to 7 p.m. 

Location: Peter A. Herrndorf Place 

Cher Tchekhov © Illustration Pony
Cher Tchekhov © Jean-François Gratton
Cher Tchekhov © Yves Renaud
Cher Tchekhov © Yves Renaud
Cher Tchekhov © Yves Renaud
Cher Tchekhov © Yves Renaud
Cher Tchekhov © Yves Renaud
  • Written by Michel Tremblay
  • Directed by Serge Denoncourt
  • With Mikhail  Ahooja, Anne-Marie  Cadieux, Henri  Chassé, Maude  Guérin, Patrick  Hivon, François L'Écuyer, Gilles  Renaud and Isabelle  Vincent
  • Assistant director Marie-Christine Martel
  • Sets Guillaume Lord
  • Lighting Martin Labrecque
  • Original music Laurier Rajotte
  • Costumes Sylvain Genois
  • Makeup Amélie Bruneau-Longpré
  • Props Julie Measroch
  • Stage manager Andrée-Anne Garneau
  • Produced by Théâtre du Nouveau Monde
Menu

Cher Tchekhov © Illustration Pony

Cher Tchekhov

Le tout dernier Michel Tremblay

2022-11-17 19:30 2022-11-19 21:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Cher Tchekhov

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/30555

Événement en personne

C’est l’automne, mais il fait doux. Une table a été dressée dehors. La dinde rôtit au four. Tout est prêt pour un souper de famille. Sauf que le dramaturge veut retravailler sa pièce. La commenter et la réécrire en direct, pendant qu’une fratrie d’actrices, leur frère auteur et un critique se donnent la réplique.  Toi qui as vu toutes les pièces de Michel Tremblay. Qui as été...

Read more

Théâtre Babs Asper ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
17 - 19 novembre 2022
Cher Tchekhov © Illustration Pony
Cher Tchekhov © Jean-François Gratton
Cher Tchekhov © Yves Renaud
Cher Tchekhov © Yves Renaud
Cher Tchekhov © Yves Renaud
Cher Tchekhov © Yves Renaud
Cher Tchekhov © Yves Renaud
«Des Trois sœurs aux Belles-sœurs»
  • Événement en personne
  • Français
  • 14 ans et plus
  • ≈ 1 heure et 45 minutes · Sans entracte

C’est l’automne, mais il fait doux. Une table a été dressée dehors. La dinde rôtit au four. Tout est prêt pour un souper de famille. Sauf que le dramaturge veut retravailler sa pièce. La commenter et la réécrire en direct, pendant qu’une fratrie d’actrices, leur frère auteur et un critique se donnent la réplique. 

Toi qui as vu toutes les pièces de Michel Tremblay. Qui as été ému·e parce qu’elles te parlaient d’un Québec que tu connais. Toi qui as vu Les belles-sœurs ou chanté avec elles, qui as lu les Chroniques du Plateau-Mont-Royal. Toi qui ne connais Michel Tremblay que de nom. Tu as sûrement croisé sans le savoir plusieurs de ses personnages. 

Dans Cher Tchekhov, Tremblay se (re)penche sur un vieux manuscrit laissé en plan. Un hommage à l’auteur de La cerisaie et de La mouette, qui l’incite à ralentir ses dialogues et à introduire « des personnages secondaires qui n’ont pas grand-chose à faire, mais qui sont tout de même intéressants », dixit l’auteur.

Est-ce que la pièce sera jouable? La question l’obsède. Ou plutôt obsède Jean-Marc, le narrateur et alter ego de Tremblay. Tremblay qu’on retrouve aussi un peu dans Benoît, le personnage du frère auteur. Celui qui règle ses comptes avec un jeune critique parfaitement détestable, la flamme du moment de sa sœur, la Grande Actrice. Celle qui s’est offert un lifting théâtral avec un metteur en scène millénial à la mode en écorchant Tchekhov et la mémoire de sa mère au passage. 

Oui, Michel Tremblay est en totale maîtrise de son art. Oui, Serge Denoncourt s’entoure d’une distribution éclatante pour monter ce « miroir sur le théâtre », « miroir tchekhovien de ce que nous sommes ». Tu as déjà envie d’y être, n’est-ce pas? 

Rencontrez Michel Tremblay!

Le public de la région d’Ottawa et Gatineau aura l’occasion de rencontrer Michel Tremblay qui sera présent le 17 novembre au Centre national des Arts le temps d’une série d’activités publiques et gratuites. 

Exposition « Michel Tremblay, en sept temps » 

Une exposition gratuite consacrée à la relation entre Michel Tremblay et le Théâtre français du Centre national des Arts à travers sept moments marquants sous le commissariat du critique de théâtre et artiste enseignant Sylvain Lavoie.

Vernissage : 17 novembre, 16 h à 17 h 
Lieu : Foyer du Théâtre Babs Asper 
L’exposition sera accessible au public en tout temps du 17 au 27 novembre.   

Entrevue avec Michel Tremblay

L’animateur Julien Morissette, directeur artistique de Transistor Média et réalisateur des balados « Plus que du théâtre » du Théâtre français, s’entretiendra avec Michel Tremblay au sujet des thèmes et des personnages de ses dernières œuvres.

Entretien : 17 novembre, 17 h à 18 h 
Lieu : Place Peter A. Herrndorf  
*L’entrevue sera également diffusée en direct sur le site web du Centre national des Arts ainsi que sur la page Facebook du Théâtre français du Centre national des Arts. L’entrevue sera disponible sur le site web du CNA jusqu’au 27 novembre. 

Séance de dédicaces 

Rencontrez l’auteur et faites signer votre exemplaire de Cher Tchekhov ou d’un autre des textes de Michel Tremblay! La Librairie du Soleil sera également présente sur place pour permettre au public de se procurer une sélection des textes de Michel Tremblay, dont Cher Tchekhov et son nouveau roman La Shéhérazade des pauvres. 

Séance : 17 novembre, 18 h à 19 h 
Lieu : Place Peter A. Herrndorf 

Cher Tchekhov © Illustration Pony
Cher Tchekhov © Jean-François Gratton
Cher Tchekhov © Yves Renaud
Cher Tchekhov © Yves Renaud
Cher Tchekhov © Yves Renaud
Cher Tchekhov © Yves Renaud
Cher Tchekhov © Yves Renaud
  • Texte Michel Tremblay
  • Mise en scène Serge Denoncourt
  • Avec Mikhail  Ahooja, Anne-Marie  Cadieux, Henri  Chassé, Maude  Guérin, Patrick  Hivon, François L'Écuyer, Gilles  Renaud et Isabelle  Vincent
  • Assistance à la mise en scène Marie-Christine Martel
  • Scénographie Guillaume Lord
  • Lumière Martin Labrecque
  • Musique originale Laurier Rajotte
  • Costumes Sylvain Genois
  • Maquillages Amélie Bruneau-Longpré
  • Accessoires Julie Measroch
  • Régie Andrée-Anne Garneau
  • Production Théâtre du Nouveau Monde
Menu