© Giovanni Chiarot – Zeroidee

Silvia Gribaudi Performing Arts

Graces

2022-10-18 20:00 2022-10-19 20:50 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Silvia Gribaudi Performing Arts

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/30548

In-person event

What is beauty? Prominent Italian choreographer Silvia Gribaudi, a unique figure in contemporary dance worldwide, has been interested in the social impact of the body for almost 20 years. Slipping into the realm of comedy, she deconstructs the stereotypes associated with body performance and gender identities. In her multi-award-winning work Graces, Gribaudi reveals herself and makes visible the virtuosity of the ordinary body and the poetic power of imperfection. Ultimately, she brilliantly...

Read more

Azrieli Studio,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
October 18 - 19, 2022
8:00 pm
© Giovanni Chiarot – Zeroidee
© Fabio Sau
© Fabio Sau
© Giovanni Chiarot – Zeroidee
© Matteo Maffesanti
© Matteo Maffesanti
Dance Contemporary
“Silvia Gribaudi’s GRACES...is an homage to the poetic powers of imperfection...Within the framework of theatrical convention, Gribaudi attempts to trigger a change in our perspective through a down-to-earth attitude, by offering entertainment and inviting us to have fun.” Jordi Ribot Thunnissen, Movement exposed
  • In-person event
  • ≈ 50 minutes · No intermission
  • Partial nudity

What is beauty?

Prominent Italian choreographer Silvia Gribaudi, a unique figure in contemporary dance worldwide, has been interested in the social impact of the body for almost 20 years. Slipping into the realm of comedy, she deconstructs the stereotypes associated with body performance and gender identities.

In her multi-award-winning work Graces, Gribaudi reveals herself and makes visible the virtuosity of the ordinary body and the poetic power of imperfection. Ultimately, she brilliantly confronts the viewer’s perception.

Inspired by Antonio Canova’s famous sculpture The Three Graces (created between 1812 and 1817 as a representation of a universal standard of beauty and proportion), the artist puts herself on stage, surrounded by three male dancers echoing the three daughters of Zeus sculpted by Canova. Clad only in underwear, sketching arabesques and playful movements to music that is sometimes classical (Vivaldi, Strauss), sometimes electronic or experimental, they explore together the possible representations of “grace”.

Warm and irreverent, Graces makes you laugh and think. This generously humorous pop piece is based on the uninhibited enjoyment of shared movement. In short: vibrant and delightful!

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Oct 17
Oct 18
  • 8:00pm
Oct 19
  • 8:00pm
Oct 20
Oct 21
Oct 22
Oct 23
video: Graces by Silvia Gribaudi
Graces by Silvia Gribaudi
© Giovanni Chiarot – Zeroidee
© Fabio Sau
© Fabio Sau
© Giovanni Chiarot – Zeroidee
© Matteo Maffesanti
© Matteo Maffesanti
  • Choreography Silvia Gribaudi
  • Dramaturgy Silvia Gribaudi and Matteo Maffesanti
  • Performers Silvia Gribaudi, Siro Guglielmi, Matteo Marchesi and Andrea Rampazzo
  • Light Design Antonio Rinaldi
  • Costumes Elena Rossi
  • Technical Director Leonardo Benetollo
  • Production Zebra
  • Co-production Santarcangelo dei Teatri
  • Supported by MIC
Menu

© Giovanni Chiarot – Zeroidee

Silvia Gribaudi Performing Arts

Graces

2022-10-18 20:00 2022-10-19 20:50 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Silvia Gribaudi Performing Arts

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/30548

Événement en personne

Qu’est-ce que la beauté ? Figure unique de la danse contemporaine à l’échelle mondiale, Silvia Gribaudi, grande chorégraphe italienne, s’intéresse depuis près de 20 ans à l’impact social du corps. Glissant sur le terrain de la comédie, elle déconstruit les stéréotypes liés à la performance corporelle et aux identités de genre.    Dans Graces,...

Read more

Studio Azrieli ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
18 - 19 octobre 2022
Cet événement est passé
© Giovanni Chiarot – Zeroidee
© Fabio Sau
© Fabio Sau
© Giovanni Chiarot – Zeroidee
© Matteo Maffesanti
© Matteo Maffesanti
Danse Contemporaine
«GRACES, de Silvia Gribaudi, est un hommage au pouvoir poétique de l’imperfection. [...] Sans déroger aux conventions théâtrales, Gribaudi tente de transformer notre perspective à l’aide d’une attitude terre à terre, c’est-à-dire en nous offrant un spectacle divertissant et en nous invitant à avoir du plaisir. » Jordi Ribot Thunnissen, Movement exposed
  • Événement en personne
  • ≈ 50 minutes · Sans entracte
  • Nudité partielle

Qu’est-ce que la beauté ?

Figure unique de la danse contemporaine à l’échelle mondiale, Silvia Gribaudi, grande chorégraphe italienne, s’intéresse depuis près de 20 ans à l’impact social du corps. Glissant sur le terrain de la comédie, elle déconstruit les stéréotypes liés à la performance corporelle et aux identités de genre.   

Dans Graces, œuvre maintes fois primée, Gribaudi s’expose et rend visible la virtuosité du corps ordinaire et le pouvoir poétique de l’imperfection. Somme toute, elle confronte brillamment la perception du spectateur. 

S’inspirant de la célèbre sculpture Les Trois Grâces d’Antonio Canova (1812-1817), conçue pour symboliser une norme universelle de beauté et de proportions, la créatrice se met elle-même en scène, entourée de trois danseurs masculins, comme les trois filles de Zeus sculptées par Canova. En sous-vêtements, tâtonnant arabesques et mouvements ludiques sur une musique tantôt classique (Vivaldi, Strauss), tantôt électronique ou expérimentale, ils explorent ensemble les possibles représentations de la « grâce ».   

Avec son approche à la fois chaleureuse et impertinente, Graces fait rire et réfléchir. Cette pièce pop à l’humour généreux s’articule dans le plaisir décomplexé du mouvement partagé. En deux mots : vital et jouissif ! 

video: Graces par Silvia Gribaudi
Graces par Silvia Gribaudi
© Giovanni Chiarot – Zeroidee
© Fabio Sau
© Fabio Sau
© Giovanni Chiarot – Zeroidee
© Matteo Maffesanti
© Matteo Maffesanti
  • Chorégraphie Silvia Gribaudi
  • Dramaturgie Silvia Gribaudi and Matteo Maffesanti
  • Interprétation  Silvia Gribaudi, Siro Guglielmi, Matteo Marchesi and Giacomo Citton
  • Conception des éclairages  Antonio Rinaldi
  • Costumes Elena Rossi
  • Direction technique Leonardo Benetollo
  • Production Zebra
  • Coproduction Santarcangelo dei Teatri
  • Soutenu par MIC
Menu