Street closures around the NAC during Ottawa Race Weekend
La Goddam Voie Lactée © Mathieu Doyon

MAYDAY

La Goddam Voie Lactée

2022-03-03 20:00 2022-03-05 21:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: MAYDAY

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/29950

In-person event

Five women, united by the chaos and order of our galaxy, come together to celebrate all that is feminine in today’s callous and harsh world, through an unusually fierce pagan mass. Camped out at their own observation post, they jump into the arena and grab hold of gestures, words, and music, draping them around themselves like a costume. They sketch and erase, create and destroy, in perpetuity. Reminiscent of an aesthetic Big Bang, La Goddam Voie Lactée is a series of small dance...

Read more

Azrieli Studio,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
March 3 - 5, 2022
This event has passed
La Goddam Voie Lactée © Mathieu Doyon
La Goddam Voie Lactée © Mathieu Doyon
Chi Long in La Goddam Voie Lactée © Cloé Pluquet
La Goddam Voie Lactée © Cloé Pluquet
La Goddam Voie Lactée © Cloé Pluquet
La Goddam Voie Lactée © Cloé Pluquet
La Goddam Voie Lactée © Cloé Pluquet
La Goddam Voie Lactée © Cloé Pluquet
La Goddam Voie Lactée © Cloé Pluquet
Francophone Dance Contemporary Cross-disciplinary
“It is a visually magnificent production [...] the entirely female cast asserts itself on all fronts, while being the exact opposite of the image of a sensual, sweet, empathic, discrete, and joyous woman…” Daphné Bathalon, Mon Théâtre
  • In-person event
  • ≈ 75 minutes · No intermission
  • Partial nudity
  • Haze
  • Loud noises

Five women, united by the chaos and order of our galaxy, come together to celebrate all that is feminine in today’s callous and harsh world, through an unusually fierce pagan mass. Camped out at their own observation post, they jump into the arena and grab hold of gestures, words, and music, draping them around themselves like a costume. They sketch and erase, create and destroy, in perpetuity.

Reminiscent of an aesthetic Big Bang, La Goddam Voie Lactée is a series of small dance works forming an incoherent narrative lacking any admitted or discernible meaning, except that of being supported by a community. It is an exercise in self-imagination; a way of adapting to this imperfect and infinite world that is our shared belonging and inheritance.

This new work by multidisciplinary artist Mélanie Demers features some of the best contemporary performers from Montréal and is accompanied by the music of singer-songwriter Frannie Holder. La Goddam Voie Lactée draws from Mélanie Demers’ signature poetic and political compositions and was influenced by the movement to denounce sexual harassment and by the exacerbation of racial tensions. An honest, crude expression of feminism and humanity.

video: La Goddam Voie Lactée
La Goddam Voie Lactée
La Goddam Voie Lactée © Mathieu Doyon
Chi Long in La Goddam Voie Lactée © Cloé Pluquet
La Goddam Voie Lactée © Cloé Pluquet
La Goddam Voie Lactée © Cloé Pluquet
La Goddam Voie Lactée © Cloé Pluquet
La Goddam Voie Lactée © Cloé Pluquet
La Goddam Voie Lactée © Cloé Pluquet
La Goddam Voie Lactée © Cloé Pluquet
  • Ideation and direction Mélanie Demers
  • Texts and choreography Mélanie Demers in collaboration with the performers
  • Performers Stacey Désilier
    Frannie Holder
    Brianna Lombardo
    Chi Long
    Léa Noblet Di Ziranaldi
  • Understudy Misheel Ganbold
  • Rehearsal director Anne-Marie Jourdenais
  • Dramaturgy Angélique Willkie
  • Music Frannie Holder
  • Lighting design Claire Seyller
  • Costumes and props Elen Ewing
  • Technical director and lighting control Hannah Kirby
  • Sound engineer and manager Catherine Sabourin
  • Production director Mélanie Primeau
  • Special thanks Alexandre Pilon-Guay
Menu

La Goddam Voie Lactée © Mathieu Doyon

MAYDAY

La Goddam Voie Lactée

2022-03-03 20:00 2022-03-05 21:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : MAYDAY

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/29950

Événement en personne

Cinq femmes unies par le chaos et l’ordre de notre galaxie se rassemblent à l’occasion d’une messe païenne d’une rare intensité, pour célébrer le féminin en réaction à la rugosité et à la cruauté du monde contemporain. Elles sont campées à leur poste d’observation, sautent parfois dans l’arène, s’emparent de gestes, de mots, de musique et s’en drapent...

Read more

Studio Azrieli ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
3 - 5 mars 2022
Cet événement est passé
La Goddam Voie Lactée © Mathieu Doyon
La Goddam Voie Lactée © Mathieu Doyon
Chi Long dans La Goddam Voie Lactée © Cloé Pluquet
La Goddam Voie Lactée © Cloé Pluquet
La Goddam Voie Lactée © Cloé Pluquet
La Goddam Voie Lactée © Cloé Pluquet
La Goddam Voie Lactée © Cloé Pluquet
La Goddam Voie Lactée © Cloé Pluquet
La Goddam Voie Lactée © Cloé Pluquet
Francophone Danse Contemporaine Interdisciplinaire
« La production est visuellement magnifique [...] la distribution entièrement féminine s’impose sur tous les fronts, tout en prenant à contrepied l’image de la femme sensuelle, douce, empathique, discrète, joyeuse…» Daphné Bathalon, Mon Théâtre
  • Événement en personne
  • ≈ 75 minutes · Sans entracte
  • Nudité partielle
  • Brouillard
  • Bruits forts

Cinq femmes unies par le chaos et l’ordre de notre galaxie se rassemblent à l’occasion d’une messe païenne d’une rare intensité, pour célébrer le féminin en réaction à la rugosité et à la cruauté du monde contemporain. Elles sont campées à leur poste d’observation, sautent parfois dans l’arène, s’emparent de gestes, de mots, de musique et s’en drapent comme d’un costume. Elles esquissent leur univers, l’effacent, le recréent et le détruisent, à perpétuité.

Petit Big Bang esthétique, La Goddam Voie Lactée est une suite de petites pièces formant un tout incohérent, discordant, sans sens avoué, sinon celui que d’être porté par une communauté. Pièce-laboratoire, elle est une façon de s’adapter à cet univers imparfait et infini auquel nous appartenons toutes et duquel nous sommes toutes héritières.

Cette nouvelle œuvre de l’artiste multidisciplinaire Mélanie Demers met en vedette certaines des meilleures interprètes de danse contemporaine de Montréal, accompagnée par la musique de l’auteure-compositrice-interprète Frannie Holder. Dans La Goddam Voie Lactée, Mélanie Demers poursuit son exploration du lien entre le poétique et le politique, et s’inspire du mouvement de dénonciation des agressions sexuelles et de l’exacerbation des tensions raciales. Une œuvre honnête et crue sur le féminisme et l’humanité.

video: La Goddam Voie Lactée
La Goddam Voie Lactée
La Goddam Voie Lactée © Mathieu Doyon
Chi Long dans La Goddam Voie Lactée © Cloé Pluquet
La Goddam Voie Lactée © Cloé Pluquet
La Goddam Voie Lactée © Cloé Pluquet
La Goddam Voie Lactée © Cloé Pluquet
La Goddam Voie Lactée © Cloé Pluquet
La Goddam Voie Lactée © Cloé Pluquet
La Goddam Voie Lactée © Cloé Pluquet
  • Idéation et mise en scène Mélanie Demers
  • Textes et chorégraphie Mélanie Demers in collaboration with the performers
  • Interprètes Stacey Désilier
    Frannie Holder
    Brianna Lombardo
    Chi Long
    Léa Noblet Di Ziranaldi
  • Apprentie Misheel Ganbold
  • Direction des répétitions Anne-Marie Jourdenais
  • Dramaturgie Angélique Willkie
  • Musique Frannie Holder
  • Conception lumière Claire Seyller
  • Costumes et accessoires Elen Ewing
  • Direction technique et contrôle de l'éclairage Hannah Kirby
  • Gérante et ingénieure de son Catherine Sabourin
  • Direction de production Mélanie Primeau
  • Remerciements Alexandre Pilon-Guay
Menu