La campagne © Matthew Fournier

La campagne

2022-05-04 20:00 2022-05-07 21:15 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: La campagne

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/29345

In-person event

The country was their escape hatch, but on a sultry, seemingly endless night, things fall apart. The varnish cracks, the past oozes out, and the truth threatens to erupt with the dawn. Reviving his company’s inaugural play, Jérémie Niel orchestrates a shadowy thriller where amplified whispers resonate in disturbing echoes.  Fleeing a past that they themselves don’t fully understand, Corinne and Richard...

Read more

Azrieli Studio,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
May 4 - 7, 2022
This event has passed
La campagne © Matthew Fournier
La campagne © Matthew Fournier
La campagne © Matthew Fournier
La campagne © Matthew Fournier
“A shadowy thriller”
  • In-person event
  • Français
  • ≈ 1 hour and 30 minutes · No intermission

The country was their escape hatch, but on a sultry, seemingly endless night, things fall apart. The varnish cracks, the past oozes out, and the truth threatens to erupt with the dawn. Reviving his company’s inaugural play, Jérémie Niel orchestrates a shadowy thriller where amplified whispers resonate in disturbing echoes. 

Fleeing a past that they themselves don’t fully understand, Corinne and Richard have traded the hustle and bustle of the city for a more rural setting amid the alders. But the disturbing arrival of a young stranger, Rebecca, in their home in the middle of the night threatens to destroy their fragile equilibrium. 

Upstairs in the big house, the children are asleep. In the kitchen, the adults discuss, prevaricate, challenge and plead in hushed tones. In the surrounding gloom are a shawl, syringes, a bag, shoes, a rock—all clues to the nebulous drama that is unfolding. They pretend, clinging miserably to their fiction, to our narrow and brittle lives, turning a deaf ear to the rumblings of the world. 

As the founding artistic director of the theatre company Pétrus, Jérémie Niel practises a rigorous process of formal exploration that foregrounds the audience’s sensory response. Sculpting the half-light and deploying, in a dilated temporality, striking sound landscapes interspersed with silences, he turns each production into a hypnotic universe, imbued with a subtle strangeness, that probes the ambiguous and uncertain zones of the human psyche. 

La campagne © Matthew Fournier
La campagne © Matthew Fournier
La campagne © Matthew Fournier
La campagne © Matthew Fournier
  • With Delphine Bienvenu, Chloe Giddings and Mathieu Gosselin
  • Translation Guillaume Corbeil
  • Assistant set designer Simon Guilbault
  • Lighting Régis Guyonnet
  • Sound design Francis Rossignol
  • Video Jérémie Battaglia
  • Costumes Fruzsina Lànyi
  • Assistant director Ariane Lamarre
  • Production director Kevin Bergeron
  • Technical director Etienne Boucher-Cazabon
  • Adaptation of lighting Anne Catherine Simard-Deraspe
  • Produced by Pétrus and Groupe de la Veillée
Menu

La campagne © Matthew Fournier

La campagne

2022-05-04 20:00 2022-05-07 21:15 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : La campagne

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/29345

Événement en personne

La campagne était leur échappatoire, mais lors d’une nuit poisseuse qui n’en finit plus, tout se fissure. Le vernis craque, le passé suinte et la vérité menace d’éclater avec l’aube. Reprenant la pièce fondatrice de sa compagnie, Jérémie Niel orchestre un suspense en clair-obscur, où les chuchotements amplifiés suscitent de troublants échos.   Fuyant un passé...

Read more

Studio Azrieli ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
4 - 7 mai 2022
Cet événement est passé
La campagne © Matthew Fournier
La campagne © Matthew Fournier
La campagne © Matthew Fournier
La campagne © Matthew Fournier
«Suspense en clair-obscur»
  • Événement en personne
  • Français
  • ≈ 1 heure et 30 minutes · Sans entracte

La campagne était leur échappatoire, mais lors d’une nuit poisseuse qui n’en finit plus, tout se fissure. Le vernis craque, le passé suinte et la vérité menace d’éclater avec l’aube. Reprenant la pièce fondatrice de sa compagnie, Jérémie Niel orchestre un suspense en clair-obscur, où les chuchotements amplifiés suscitent de troublants échos.  

Fuyant un passé qu’eux-mêmes cernent mal, Corinne et Richard ont troqué l’agitation de la ville pour un décor plus champêtre, à l’ombre des aulnes. La présence troublante d’une jeune inconnue, Rebecca, dans leur foyer, au milieu de la nuit, menace toutefois de faire basculer leur fragile équilibre. 

À l’étage de la grande maison, les enfants dorment. Dans la cuisine, les adultes discutent, tergiversent, se confrontent et supplient à voix basse. Dans la pénombre qui les enveloppe se trouvent un châle, des seringues, une sacoche, des souliers, une roche – autant d’indices du drame brumeux qui se joue. Ils simulent, s’accrochant maladivement à leur fiction, à nos vies étroites et friables, faisant la sourde oreille aux grondements du monde.  

Au sein de la compagnie Pétrus, qu’il a fondée et qu’il dirige, Jérémie Niel poursuit une rigoureuse démarche d’exploration formelle qui s’adresse à la sensorialité du spectateur. Sculptant la pénombre et déployant, dans une temporalité dilatée, de saisissants paysages sonores transpercés de silence, il fait de chaque pièce un univers hypnotique, nimbé d’une douce étrangeté, qui sonde les zones d’ambiguïté et d’incertitude de la psyché humaine. 

La campagne © Matthew Fournier
La campagne © Matthew Fournier
La campagne © Matthew Fournier
La campagne © Matthew Fournier
  • Interprétation Delphine Bienvenu, Chloe Giddings et Mathieu Gosselin
  • Traduction Guillaume Corbeil
  • Soutien à la scénographie Simon Guilbault
  • Lumière Régis Guyonnet
  • Conception sonore Francis Rossignol
  • Vidéo Jérémie Battaglia
  • Costumes Fruzsina Lànyi
  • Assistance à la mise en scène Ariane Lamarre
  • Direction de production Kevin Bergeron
  • Direction technique Etienne Boucher-Cazabon
  • Adaptation de l’éclairage Anne  Catherine Simard-Deraspe
  • Production Pétrus et Groupe de la Veillée
Menu