Skydiggers, Jill Barber & A Gathering of Friends

special guests Matt Mays, Jim Bryson, Amaka Umeh, Ansley Simpson and Charlie Angus

2021-12-03 19:30 2021-12-04 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Skydiggers, Jill Barber & A Gathering of Friends

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/29252

In-person event

Join two of Canada’s favourite musical powerhouses for a winter warm up treat, featuring special guests Matt Mays, Jim Bryson, Amaka Umeh, Ansley Simpson and Charlie Angus.

Skydiggers
Chemistry, passion, energy and evolution are a few words that come to mind when Andy Maize and Josh Finlayson talk about 25 years together in Skydiggers. “It all started in the beverage room of The Spadina Hotel. That is essentially when the band came together,” says Josh....

Read more

Babs Asper Theatre,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
December 3 - 4, 2021
7:30 pm
Music Folk Holidays

In-person event

Join two of Canada’s favourite musical powerhouses for a winter warm up treat, featuring special guests Matt Mays, Jim Bryson, Amaka Umeh, Ansley Simpson and Charlie Angus.

Skydiggers
Chemistry, passion, energy and evolution are a few words that come to mind when Andy Maize and Josh Finlayson talk about 25 years together in Skydiggers. “It all started in the beverage room of The Spadina Hotel. That is essentially when the band came together,” says Josh. “Andy and I performed there as a duo as part of Andrew Cash’s Monday night series called Acoustic Meltdown. When Andrew released his debut album and could no longer host the night, we took it over. We put an ad in Now Magazine answered by Ron Macey, and together with Wayne Stokes and Andrew’s brother Peter Cash, who was quietly writing some amazing songs, Skydiggers were born.” The sound developed at an impressive rate, thanks to the discipline and work ethic the weekly showcase placed on the band. New songs, new covers and a sound that grew to include electric instruments developed in the hothouse atmosphere of rehearsals, songwriting sessions and live performances. A quarter of a century later, thanks to years on the road and in the studio, Skydiggers are not only riding all of those years of momentum but continuing to evolve as well.

One day, if someone with perfect penmanship and a great memory for details takes up a Canadian Rock Family Tree project and plots the development of the Canadian roots rock community, they may discover that many – if not all – branches and roots at some point interconnect with the Skydiggers. 

Jill Barber
Jill Barber is a three-time Juno Award nominated singer-songwriter with an unforgettable voice once heard, never forgotten. 

Her critically acclaimed repertoire spans a transformative spectrum from folk, to vocal jazz, to pop, and includes songs in both French and English.

Following up her 2018 album Metaphora, which featured the #1 hit song “Girl’s Gotta Do,” her breakthrough jazz album Chances was certified Gold for 40,000 copies sold in Canada. Jill’s work has earned her awards, such as the Sirius XM Jazz Artist of the Year and the East Coast Music Award for Album of the Year, and scores of fans, including Blue Rodeo, Ron Sexsmith, and Kris Kristofferson, who called Jill “a real songwriter, and a damn good songwriter.”  Her evocative and timeless songs have been featured in film and TV, scoring shows such as Orange Is The New Black, The L Word, and Heartland, as well as powering a global advertising campaign for Chrysler with the track “Never Quit Loving You.”

JUNO-winner Matt Mays is an indie-rock powerhouse of Canadian music. From his work with The Guthries to Matt Mays and El Torpedo he is a favourite of the rock scene.

Jim Bryson is a Canadian Songwriter, Singer and Record Maker. He has released 6 critically acclaimed solo recordings, the most recent being 2018’s “Tired of Waiting”.
 

Amaka Umeh is an actor and performer known for her work with Stratford and Soulpepper Theatre. 

Ansley Simpson is a Toronto-based Anishinaabe singer-songwriter known for her poetic lyrics, deeply moving vocal-only performances, and dream-like arrangements.

Charlie Angus is an NDP MP and a musician with the band Grievous Angels.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Nov 29
Nov 30
Dec 1
Dec 2
Dec 3
  • 7:30pm
Dec 4
  • 7:30pm
Dec 5
Skydiggers
Jill Barber © Grant Harder
Matt Mays © Lindsay Duncan
Menu

Skydiggers, Jill Barber et une assemblée d'amis

avec invitées spéciaux Matt Mays, Jim Bryson, Amaka Umeh, Ansley Simpson et Charlie Angus

2021-12-03 19:30 2021-12-04 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Skydiggers, Jill Barber et une assemblée d'amis

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/29252

Événement en personne

Rejoignez deux des grands noms de la musique au Canada pour un concert hivernal, avec invités spéciaux Matt Mays, Jim Bryson, Amaka Umeh, Ansley Simpson et Charlie Angus.

Skydiggers
Chimie, passion, énergie et évolution sont quelques mots qui viennent à l’esprit quand Andy Maize et Josh Finlayson parlent des 25 années passées ensemble dans Skydiggers. "Tout a commencé dans la salle des boissons de...

Read more

Théâtre Babs Asper ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
3 - 4 décembre 2021
Cet événement est passé
Skydiggers
Jill Barber © Grant Harder
Matt Mays © Lindsay Duncan
Musique Folk Fêtes
  • Événement en personne

Rejoignez deux des grands noms de la musique au Canada pour un concert hivernal, avec invités spéciaux Matt Mays, Jim Bryson, Amaka Umeh, Ansley Simpson et Charlie Angus.

Skydiggers
Chimie, passion, énergie et évolution sont quelques mots qui viennent à l’esprit quand Andy Maize et Josh Finlayson parlent des 25 années passées ensemble dans Skydiggers. "Tout a commencé dans la salle des boissons de l’hôtel Spadina. C’est essentiellement à ce moment-là que le groupe s’est formé", dit Josh. "Andy et moi nous y sommes produits en duo dans le cadre de la série du lundi soir d’Andrew Cash, intitulée Acoustic Meltdown. Quand Andrew a sorti son premier album et qu’il n’a plus pu animer la soirée, nous l’avons reprise. Nous avons mis une annonce dans Now Magazine à laquelle Ron Macey a répondu, et avec Wayne Stokes et le frère d'Andrew, Peter Cash, qui écrivait tranquillement des chansons étonnantes, Skydiggers était né." Le son s’est développé à une vitesse impressionnante, grâce à la discipline et à l’éthique de travail que le showcase hebdomadaire imposait au groupe. De nouvelles chansons, de nouvelles reprises et un son qui s’est enrichi d’instruments électriques se sont développés dans l’atmosphère étouffante des répétitions, des sessions d’écriture et des concerts. Un quart de siècle plus tard, grâce aux années passées sur la route et en studio, les Skydiggers ne font pas que profiter de toutes ces années d’élan, ils continuent également à évoluer.

Un jour, si quelqu’un doté d’une écriture parfaite et d’une grande mémoire des détails se lance dans un projet d’arbre généalogique du rock canadien et trace le développement de la communauté roots rock canadienne, il découvrira peut-être que de nombreuses branches et racines - sinon toutes - s’interconnectent à un moment donné avec les Skydiggers. 

Jill Barber
Jill Barber est une auteure-compositrice-interprète nommée à trois reprises aux Juno Awards et dotée d’une voix inoubliable : une fois entendue, elle n’est jamais oubliée. 

Son répertoire, acclamé par la critique, couvre un spectre transformateur allant du folk au jazz vocal en passant par la pop, et comprend des chansons en français et en anglais.

Après son album Metaphora de 2018, qui comprenait la chanson #1 'Girl's Gotta Do', son album jazz Chances a été certifié Or pour 40 000 exemplaires vendus au Canada. Le travail de Jill lui a valu des récompenses, telles que le Sirius XM Jazz Artist of the Year et le East Coast Music Award pour l’album de l’année, et des dizaines de fans, dont Blue Rodeo, Ron Sexsmith et Kris Kristofferson, qui a qualifié Jill de "véritable auteur-compositeur, et un sacrément bon auteur-compositeur."  Ses chansons évocatrices et intemporelles ont été utilisées au cinéma et à la télévision, dans des séries telles que Orange Is The New Black, The L Word et Heartland, et ont alimenté une campagne publicitaire mondiale pour Chrysler avec le titre "Never Quit Loving You".

 

Matt Mays, lauréat d'un JUNO, est une locomotive de la musique indie-rock canadienne. De son travail avec The Guthries à Matt Mays and El Torpedo, il est un favori de la scène rock.

Jim Bryson est un auteur-compositeur, chanteur et réalisateur de disques canadien. Il a sorti 6 enregistrements solo salués par la critique, le plus récent étant "Tired of Waiting" de 2018. 

Amaka Umeh est un acteur et un interprète connu pour son travail avec le Stratford et le Soulpepper Theatre. 

Ansley Simpson est une auteure-compositrice-interprète anishinaabe de Toronto, connue pour ses textes poétiques, ses performances vocales seules profondément émouvantes et ses arrangements oniriques.

Charlie Angus est un député du NPD et un musicien du groupe Grievous Angels.

Skydiggers
Jill Barber © Grant Harder
Matt Mays © Lindsay Duncan
Menu